The serpent's trail : a Maxie and Stretch mystery / Sue Henry.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      HENRY, S. The serpent’s trail : a Maxie and Stretch mystery. [s. l.]: New American Library, 2004. ISBN 0451211227. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.150020. Acesso em: 21 jan. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Henry S. The Serpent’s Trail : A Maxie and Stretch Mystery. New American Library; 2004. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.150020. Accessed January 21, 2020.
    • APA:
      Henry, S. (2004). The serpent’s trail : a Maxie and Stretch mystery. New American Library. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.150020
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Henry, Sue. 2004. The Serpent’s Trail : A Maxie and Stretch Mystery. New American Library. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.150020.
    • Harvard:
      Henry, S. (2004) The serpent’s trail : a Maxie and Stretch mystery. New American Library. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.150020 (Accessed: 21 January 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Henry, S 2004, The serpent’s trail : a Maxie and Stretch mystery, New American Library, viewed 21 January 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Henry, Sue. The Serpent’s Trail : A Maxie and Stretch Mystery. New American Library, 2004. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.150020.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Henry, Sue. The Serpent’s Trail : A Maxie and Stretch Mystery. New American Library, 2004. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.150020.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Henry S. The serpent’s trail : a Maxie and Stretch mystery [Internet]. New American Library; 2004 [cited 2020 Jan 21]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.150020

Reviews

Booklist Monthly Selections - #2 February 2004

Retiree Maxie McNabb, a spry 63 years old, gets a call for help from her old friend Grace and immediately sets off in her Winnebago on the lengthy jaunt from Alaska to Grand Junction, Colorado. When Maxie arrives, Grace is hospitalized, muttering deliriously about secrets--and then she dies abruptly. This mystery starts a new series by Henry, author of the popular Jessie Arnold novels. She appears to have another winner on her hands. The strong older characters are well developed and will appeal to fans of Mrs. Pollifax and Peter Abresch's Jim Dandy mysteries. The story builds suspense effectively, and the descriptions of the West, particularly the national parks, will draw the Nevada Barr crowd. There's even an appealing dog, a dachshund named Stretch, to attract canine mystery readers. Only a less-than-convincing ending keeps this one from straight As, but it's still a fine series debut. ((Reviewed February 15, 2004)) Copyright 2004 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2004 Februray #1

Maxie McNabb, a 63-year-old Winnebago owner from Alaska, arrives in Grand Junction, CO, just in time to chase a ransacking intruder from her friend Sarah's home. After imparting a few enigmatic words, Sarah dies unexpectedly; Maxie then remembers her friend's penchant for concealing things and uses the clues she discovers to good advantage. The appearance of mutual friend Ed provides another surprise: apparently, 40-odd years ago he and Sarah had an illegitimate son Maxie later adopted. The son makes himself scarce, but someone tries to kill Maxie and Ed. This first entry in a new series from the Anthony and Macavity Award-winning author of the Jessie Arnold series (Murder on the Iditarod Trail) features an involving tale of old secrets, new revelations, and an endearingly mature protagonist. For most collections. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

PW Reviews 2004 March #2

Devotees of Henry's Alaska mysteries will be delighted to see 63-year-old Maxine "Maxie" McNabb, the Winnebago-driving, free-spirited widow introduced in Dead North (2001), starring in this gentle whodunit, the first of a new series. Summoned from Alaska to Grand Junction, Colo., to the bedside of her ailing old friend Sarah Nunamaker, Maxie and her adorable mini-dachshund Stretch wheel in just in the nick of time or do they? Sarah's final words to Maxie seem urgent, but leave her little to go on in order to investigate the wrongs to which Sarah mysteriously alludes. Much to the dismay of Alan, Sarah's adopted son, Maxie discovers she's been appointed Sarah's executor. She must also contend with a break-in at Sarah's home and her late friend's penchant for secret hiding places and secrets in general. Then Ed Norris, a college mate of Maxie and Sarah, drops a real bombshell when he reveals the identities of Alan's biological parents. A box of photos, an address on a card and a surprising stranger later lead or mislead Maxie and Stretch to Salt Lake City, where Maxie faces even greater dangers. Cozy crime fans of a certain age will love to live vicariously through Maxie and Stretch in what promises to be a long and popular run of adventures. (Apr. 6)FYI: Henry's first Jessie Arnold mystery, Murder on the Iditarod Trail (1991), won both Anthony and Macavity awards. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.