The poacher's son / Paul Doiron.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      1st ed.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: After his hard-drinking poacher father becomes the prime suspect in the murder of a local cop, Mike Bowditch, with the help of a retired pilot, journeys deep into the Maine wilderness to find his fugitive kin--and the real killer.
    • ISBN:
      9780312558468 : HRD
      0312558465 : HRD
    • Accession Number:
      2009041136
    • Accession Number:
      fay.305334
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      DOIRON, P. The poacher’s son. 1st ed. [s. l.]: Minotaur Books, 2010. ISBN 9780312558468. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.305334. Acesso em: 14 jul. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Doiron P. The Poacher’s Son. 1st ed. Minotaur Books; 2010. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.305334. Accessed July 14, 2020.
    • AMA11:
      Doiron P. The Poacher’s Son. 1st ed. Minotaur Books; 2010. Accessed July 14, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.305334
    • APA:
      Doiron, P. (2010). The poacher’s son (1st ed.). Minotaur Books.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Doiron, Paul. 2010. The Poacher’s Son. 1st ed. Minotaur Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.305334.
    • Harvard:
      Doiron, P. (2010) The poacher’s son. 1st ed. Minotaur Books. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.305334 (Accessed: 14 July 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Doiron, P 2010, The poacher’s son, 1st ed., Minotaur Books, viewed 14 July 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Doiron, Paul. The Poacher’s Son. 1st ed., Minotaur Books, 2010. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.305334.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Doiron, Paul. The Poacher’s Son. 1st ed. Minotaur Books, 2010. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.305334.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Doiron P. The poacher’s son [Internet]. 1st ed. Minotaur Books; 2010 [cited 2020 Jul 14]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.305334

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2010 February #2

*Starred Review* Doiron's debut crime novel is set on the coast and in the North Woods of Maine, the home of rookie game warden Mike Bowditch. As tensions rise across the state with the impending sale of huge tracts of paper-company forest land to an out-of-state developer, Mike receives a strange message from his father, left on the same night the paper company rep and a state trooper are shot and killed after a heated town meeting. Doirin, editor-in-chief of Down State magazine, is well acquainted with the current political and cultural tensions that crisscross Maine, and his local knowledge drives this fast-paced and twisty narrative. With realistically flawed characters and a strong sense of place—both on the coast and in the woods—the novel avoids tourist stereotyping, of Maine itself and its citizens. As a game warden, Mike is devoted to upholding the law, and as a conflict appears to develop between that responsibility and his love for his estranged father, he finds himself with both his job and life on the line. One hopes this fine novel is the first in a series starring Warden Bowditch, who could quickly become the East Coast version of C. J. Box's game-warden hero Joe Pickett, who patrols the range in Wyoming. Copyright 2010 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2009 December #1

Mike Bowditch, 24, is a rookie game warden for the state of Maine. He's also the son of Jack Bowditch, legendary woodsman, brawler, womanizer, and poacher whom Mike has not seen in over two years. One hot summer night while Mike is out answering a call about a bear stealing a pig, Jack leaves Mike a cryptic message on his answering machine. The next morning, Mike learns that his father is wanted in the murders of a paper company representative and a sheriff's deputy. Through a long few days, Mike jeopardizes his dream job to help the father whose attention he could never get. VERDICT A richly imagined portrait of the vanishing wilderness in New England's farthest reaches, Doiron's (editor in chief, Down East: The Magazine of Maine) well-written debut is also a taut thriller and a thoughtful examination of the complicated relationship between father and son. Of a piece with Castle Freeman Jr.'s All That I Have about a Vermont sheriff, this will also appeal to fans of C.J. Box's Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett. [A Minotaur First Edition Selection; 100,000-copy first printing; library marketing.]—Nancy Fontaine, Dartmouth Coll., Hanover, NH

[Page 88]. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

PW Reviews 2010 January #2

Down East editor-in-chief Doiron takes a provocative look at the ties between fathers and sons, unconditional love, and Maine's changing landscape in his outstanding debut. Game warden Mike Bowditch, who hasn't heard from his dad, Jack Bowditch, in two years, wonders what the man wants from him after he comes home late one night and finds Jack has left a cryptic message on his answering machine. Mike later learns Jack is the prime suspect in the shooting murders of a cop and a timber company executive. Jack, a brutal alcoholic, makes his living poaching game, but Mike can't believe Jack is a cold-blooded killer. Mike's belief in his father puts his job at risk, alienates him from the police, and drives him further away from the woman he loves. Fans of C.J. Box and Nevada Barr will appreciate the vivid wilderness scenes. Equally a story of relationships and an outdoor adventure, this evocative thriller is sure to put Doiron on several 2010 must-read lists. 100,000 first printing; author tour. (Apr.)

[Page 2]. Copyright 2010 Reed Business Information.