Simply from scratch / Alicia Bessette.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: After she joins a baking contest to try to shake off the lingering grief from her husband's death, Zell Carmichael Roy befriends her nine-year-old next-door neighbor, a motherless girl who joins Zell's quest for dessert-competition glory.
    • ISBN:
      9780525951827 : HRD
      0525951822 : HRD
    • Accession Number:
      bl2010017538
    • Accession Number:
      fay.308554

Reviews

LJ Reviews 2010 July #1

Married couple Rose-Ellen (Zell) and Nick are childhood sweethearts, surrounded by longtime friends and family in the quiet Massachusetts town in which they grew up. When Nick dies suddenly on a relief trip to post-Katrina New Orleans, Zell is plunged into despair. More than a year later, she is still wallowing in grief when she decides to enter a baking contest to win a prize she intends to donate to the relief effort in Nick's memory. Zell is not a baker and inadvertently gains the help of Ingrid, the nine-year-old food-obsessed neighbor for whom she babysits. Together, they brainstorm disastrous recipes, while Zell finds the courage to accept Nick's death. Verdict Fans of Cecelia Ahern's PS, I Love You will find a lot to like here. This strong, richly detailed debut novel, with a truly lovable heroine, explores an old theme, but the spins and turns the story takes along the way are well worth the ride.-Mara Dabrishus, Carnegie Lib. of Pittsburgh Copyright 2010 Reed Business Information.

PW Reviews 2010 June #2

Bessette's too eager-to-please debut features a young widow's profoundly quirky quest to move on after her husband's death. A year after Zell's husband dies in New Orleans while on a post-Katrina relief mission, Zell, who frequently talks to her dog in pirate-speak, is still a mess. Next door, amazingly precocious nine-year-old Ingrid believes TV celebrity chef Polly Pinch is her mother. Coincidentally, Zell won't go near her kitchen, as it's just too full of painful memories. But after Zell and Ingrid form an unlikely friendship, they enter a Polly Pinch baking contest so Ingrid can meet Polly and Zell can win the ,000 prize and donate it to Katrina relief. What follows is the requisite learning of lessons about how to cope with grief and loss. For all of the nice intentions, this reads flat, stale, and too tidy. Zell and Ingrid, meanwhile, are victims of cuteness's stranglehold on the narrative. (Aug.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2010 Reed Business Information.