The keeper of lost causes / Jussi Adler-Olsen ; translated by Lisa Hartford.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Notes:
      "Originally published with the title Mercy in Great Britain by Penguin Books."
    • Other Titles:
      Kvinden i buret. English
    • ISBN:
      9780525952480 : HRD
      0525952489 : HRD
    • Accession Number:
      2011014873
    • Accession Number:
      fay.330539
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      ADLER-OLSEN, J.; HARTFORD, L. The keeper of lost causes. [s. l.]: Dutton, 2011. ISBN 9780525952480. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.330539. Acesso em: 21 out. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Adler-Olsen J, Hartford L. The Keeper of Lost Causes. Dutton; 2011. Accessed October 21, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.330539
    • APA:
      Adler-Olsen, J., & Hartford, L. (2011). The keeper of lost causes. Dutton.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Adler-Olsen, Jussi, and Lisa Hartford. 2011. The Keeper of Lost Causes. Dutton. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.330539.
    • Harvard:
      Adler-Olsen, J. and Hartford, L. (2011) The keeper of lost causes. Dutton. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.330539 (Accessed: 21 October 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Adler-Olsen, J & Hartford, L 2011, The keeper of lost causes, Dutton, viewed 21 October 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Adler-Olsen, Jussi, and Lisa Hartford. The Keeper of Lost Causes. Dutton, 2011. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.330539.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Adler-Olsen, Jussi, and Lisa Hartford. The Keeper of Lost Causes. Dutton, 2011. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.330539.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Adler-Olsen J, Hartford L. The keeper of lost causes [Internet]. Dutton; 2011 [cited 2020 Oct 21]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.330539

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2011 August #1

"*Starred Review* Since a shooting left him injured and his partner paralyzed, Copenhagen detective Carl Mørck has lost his way. His difficult personality, formerly tolerated because of his skills, has made him a liability. So his boss puts him in charge of Department Q, a cold-case Siberia that consists of Mørck and a genially obtuse assistant, Assad. There Mørck becomes intrigued by the file of Merete Lynggaard, a beautiful politician lost at sea five years ago. Here's the kicker: We know that Lynggaard is still alive, imprisoned in horrific circumstances. Adler-Olsen deftly advances both stories simultaneously. As Mørck uncovers the truth about Lynggaard's fate, Lynggaard learns why she has been singled out for an elaborate revenge. The reader's desire for the narratives to meet is so painful it's palpable. Given the Stieg Larsson effect on Scandinavian literature, it's surprising that it's taken even this long for Denmark's top crime writer to make his American debut. Comparisons are inevitable and, while he may lack a Salander, Adler-Olsen's prose is superior to Larsson's, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humor. Without The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, this might not have seen print here, but some will prefer it to its benefactor." Copyright 2011 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2011 June #2

Following the success of other Scandinavian authors, Denmark's best-selling crime writer makes his American debut with this first novel in the Glass Key Award-winning Department Q series. Department Q is a new section of the Copenhagen Police, dedicated to resolving Denmark's most notorious unsolved crimes. A political solution to a bureaucratic problem, Department Q is further hampered by its only detective, Carl Mørck, who has lost his friends, his health, and his spirit in a recent shooting. His first case is to investigate the disappearance of a popular politician. After five years, everyone assumes she is dead, but Mørck and his assistant, Assad, who has his own political past to protect, begin to unravel her secrets. VERDICT Far from being just another morose Nordic crime writer, Adler-Olsen creates a detective whose curiosity is as active as his soul is tortured. The villain is a monster and the crime horrendous, but readers will root for the victim and for the belabored Department Q. This absorbing psychological thriller is recommended not only for fans of Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, and Stieg Larsson but for true crime aficionados who might like to try fiction. [See Prepub Alert, 2/14/11.]—Cathy Lantz, Morton Coll. Lib., Cicero, IL

[Page 78]. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

PW Reviews 2011 June #1

Adler-Olsen, Denmark's leading crime writer, makes his U.S. debut with the superlative first in his Department Q series. In 2007, Copenhagen homicide detective Carl Morck narrowly cheats death when he and two colleagues are ambushed while checking out a crime scene. Morck is shot in the head, but one of his brother officers is killed, and the other left paralyzed and suicidal. When Morck finally returns to work, friction with his colleagues leads his boss to transfer him to head a new unit, Department Q, tasked with resolving "cases deserving special scrutiny" from across the country. While the purpose of the assignment is to get the difficult detective out of the way, Morck, who's initially content just to kill time, finds himself revitalized by a once high-profile mystery—the 2002 disappearance of a prominent and attractive female politician, Merete Lynggaard. The pages fly by as the twisty puzzle unfolds. Stieg Larsson fans will be delighted. (Aug.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2010 PWxyz LLC