The black-eyed blonde : a Philip Marlowe novel / Benjamin Black.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye is back, pulled by a seductive young heiress into the most difficult and dangerous case of his career"It was one of those summer Tuesday afternoons when you begin to wonder if the earth has stopped revolving. The telephone on my desk had the look of something that knows it's being watched. Traffic trickled by in the street below, and there were a few pedestrians, too, men in hats going nowhere."So begins The Black-Eyed Blonde, a new novel featuring Philip Marlowe--yes, that Philip Marlowe. Channeling Raymond Chandler, Benjamin Black has brought Marlowe back to life for a new adventure on the mean streets of Bay City, California. It is the early 1950s, Marlowe is as restless and lonely as ever, and business is a little slow. Then a new client is shown in: young, beautiful, and expensively dressed, she wants Marlowe to find her former lover, a man named Nico Peterson. Marlowe sets off on his search, but almost immediately discovers that Peterson's disappearance is merely the first in a series of bewildering events. Soon he is tangling with one of Bay City's richest families and developing a singular appreciation for how far they will go to protect their fortune.Only Benjamin Black, a modern master of the genre, could write a new Philip Marlowe novel that has all the panache and charm of the originals while delivering a story that is as sharp and fresh as today's best crime fiction"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9780805098143 (hardback)
      0805098143 (hardback)
    • Accession Number:
      2013026790
    • Accession Number:
      ocn856579476
      856579476
    • Accession Number:
      fay.405121
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      BLACK, B. The black-eyed blonde : a Philip Marlowe novel. First edition. [s. l.]: Henry Holt and Company, 2014. ISBN 9780805098143. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.405121. Acesso em: 9 jul. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Black B. The Black-Eyed Blonde : A Philip Marlowe Novel. First edition. Henry Holt and Company; 2014. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.405121. Accessed July 9, 2020.
    • AMA11:
      Black B. The Black-Eyed Blonde : A Philip Marlowe Novel. First edition. Henry Holt and Company; 2014. Accessed July 9, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.405121
    • APA:
      Black, B. (2014). The black-eyed blonde : a Philip Marlowe novel (First edition.). Henry Holt and Company.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Black, Benjamin. 2014. The Black-Eyed Blonde : A Philip Marlowe Novel. First edition. Philip Marlowe Novels: 1. Henry Holt and Company. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.405121.
    • Harvard:
      Black, B. (2014) The black-eyed blonde : a Philip Marlowe novel. First edition. Henry Holt and Company (Philip Marlowe novels: 1). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.405121 (Accessed: 9 July 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Black, B 2014, The black-eyed blonde : a Philip Marlowe novel, First edition., Philip Marlowe novels: 1, Henry Holt and Company, viewed 9 July 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Black, Benjamin. The Black-Eyed Blonde : A Philip Marlowe Novel. First edition., Henry Holt and Company, 2014. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.405121.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Black, Benjamin. The Black-Eyed Blonde : A Philip Marlowe Novel. First edition. Philip Marlowe Novels: 1. Henry Holt and Company, 2014. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.405121.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Black B. The black-eyed blonde : a Philip Marlowe novel [Internet]. First edition. Henry Holt and Company; 2014 [cited 2020 Jul 9]. (Philip Marlowe novels: 1). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.405121

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2014 February #2

He put out his right hand for me to shake. It was like being given a sleek, cool-skinned animal to hold for a moment or two. That must be Philip Marlowe talking, right? It is, sort of. Black (the mystery-writing pseudonym for Irish writer John Banville) offers a stylish homage to Raymond Chandler in this tightly written caper that picks up Marlowe's life from the point the series ended. Naturally, it begins with a leggy blonde easing her silky body into Marlowe's office chair and spinning a story that turns out to be about half poppycock. Marlowe takes the bait, of course, and begins to search for a con man whose death may have been exaggerated. The plot is nearly impenetrable in classic Chandler fashion, and there are numerous allusions to the earlier books, including the surprise appearance of a character from The Long Goodbye whose presence will either enrage or enthrall devoted fans. The focus, though, as it was for Chandler, is on style and mood, and the Irishman, perhaps surprisingly, nails both. The homage game is a tricky one to play, but Black makes all the right moves. Great fun for Chandlerians. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2013 October #2

Man Booker prize winner John Banville again changes tack to write as Benjamin Black, here reviving Philip Marlowe. On a hot and draggy day in early 1950s Bay City, CA, a predictably stunning young woman comes to Marlowe's office to ask him to locate her former lover—just the first in a long chain of complicated events. A sharper-edged Marlowe for our time.

[Page 72]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

LJ Reviews 2014 January #1

The titular black-eyed blonde of Black's tribute to Raymond Chandler is Philip Marlowe's new client, who wants the detective to find a missing former boyfriend. But Marlowe soon learns that the boyfriend is in the morgue, and the case grows more complicated as he searches from the mansions of the city's wealthiest families to the seediest dive bars to discover why this man is so important to his client. As the bodies pile up, Marlowe struggles to separate the lies from the truth, with some grudging help from his few friends in the police department. With perhaps fewer memorable descriptions that characterized Robert B. Parker's Marlowe novels Poodle Springs and Perchance To Dream, Black (A Death in Summer; Vengeance) does deliver a more complex and satisfying mystery than other authors have done in the past. VERDICT This latest incarnation of Chandler's sleuth will appeal to fans of Chandler and Marlowe, but newcomers to one of the first great PIs in crime fiction will find much to enjoy here as well. [See Prepub Alert, 10/15/13.]—Dan Forrest, Western Kentucky Univ. Libs., Bowling Green

[Page 91]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

PW Reviews 2014 January #2

Black (the pseudonym that John Manville uses for his crime fiction) isn't the first to tackle the daunting challenge of recreating the distinctive narrative voice of Raymond Chandler's world-weary, mean streets–walking L.A. private eye, Philip Marlowe. Despite Robert B. Parker's lengthy experience in the PI genre, his sequel to The Big Sleep, Perchance to Dream, pales in comparison with Black's pitch-perfect recreation of the character and his time and place. As for the language, Black nails Chandler's creative and memorable similes and metaphors. When Marlowe shakes hands with someone, "It was like being given a sleek, cool-skinned animal to hold for a moment or two." The title character, Clare Cavendish, wanders into Marlowe's office to ask him to trace her lover, Nico Peterson, who disappeared two months earlier. The case appears to wrap up quickly after Marlowe learns that Peterson was the victim of a hit-and-run, but Cavendish has some major revelations in store. While the mystery is well plotted, Black elevates it beyond mere thoughtful homage with a plausible injection of emotion in his wounded lead. Author tour. Agent: Ed Victor, Ed Victor Literary Agency (U.K.). (Mar.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2014 PWxyz LLC