Bad magic / Pseudonymous Bosch ; illustrations by Gilbert Ford.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "Thirteen-year-old Clay, a boy who no longer believes in magic, tags graffiti on his classroom wall and, as punishment, is sent to a camp for wayward kids located on a volcanic island, where eccentric campmates abound, a ghost walks among the abandoned ruins of a mansion, and a dangerous force threatens to erupt with bad magic"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9780316320382 (hc.) :
      0316320382 (hc.)
    • Accession Number:
      2014008771
    • Accession Number:
      ocn868040510
      868040510
    • Accession Number:
      fay.431979
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      BOSCH, P.; FORD, G. Bad magic. [s. l.]: Little, Brown and Company, 2014. ISBN 9780316320382. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.431979. Acesso em: 12 dez. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Bosch P, Ford G. Bad Magic. Little, Brown and Company; 2014. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.431979. Accessed December 12, 2019.
    • APA:
      Bosch, P., & Ford, G. (2014). Bad magic. Little, Brown and Company. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.431979
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Bosch, Pseudonymous, and Gilbert Ford. 2014. Bad Magic. Little, Brown and Company. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.431979.
    • Harvard:
      Bosch, P. and Ford, G. (2014) Bad magic. Little, Brown and Company. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.431979 (Accessed: 12 December 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Bosch, P & Ford, G 2014, Bad magic, Little, Brown and Company, viewed 12 December 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Bosch, Pseudonymous, and Gilbert Ford. Bad Magic. Little, Brown and Company, 2014. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.431979.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Bosch, Pseudonymous, and Gilbert Ford. Bad Magic. Little, Brown and Company, 2014. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.431979.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Bosch P, Ford G. Bad magic [Internet]. Little, Brown and Company; 2014 [cited 2019 Dec 12]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.431979

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2014 October #1

In Bosch's spin-off of the Secret Series, 12-year-old Clay has stopped believing in the magic tricks he used to practice with his brother, Max-Ernst, calling them fake "cheese-wizardry." But Max-Ernst disappeared two years ago, and Clay has never stopped feeling abandoned. He is forced to confront the possibility that magic may be real when he is sent to a survival camp on a volcanic island full of oddities: strange campers, a swarm of bees guarding the borders, a disappearing teepee, and an abandoned library haunted by a girl's ghost. But even these things are not as they seem, as Clay discovers an elaborate stage production behind the mysteries, with his missing brother at its heart. Parallels with Shakespeare's Tempest, a play Clay performed in for school, are interesting but extraneous, and the story takes a bit too long to develop its mysteries. Still, Bosch's mix of slapstick silliness, sly authorial asides, and magical adventure will appeal to readers of Lemony Snicket and M. T. Anderson's Pals in Peril series. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Horn Book Guide Reviews 2015 Spring

After he's falsely accused of writing "magic sucks" on a school wall, budding graffiti artist Clay tries to unravel several weird--and possibly supernatural--mysteries at Earth Ranch, a summer camp for troubled youth on an isolated volcanic island. Humorous narration, well-placed footnotes, and allusions to The Tempest will hook fans of funny mystery and adventure stories. Full-page black-and-white illustrations are appropriately offbeat.

PW Reviews 2014 July #2

Twelve-year-old Clay's misgivings about magic are tested in this enjoyable if overlong trilogy opener. Max-Ernest, from Bosch's bestselling Secret Series, has disappeared mysteriously. His younger brother Clay is left feeling stung and resentful, and he's as shocked as everyone else when the words "MAGIC SUCKS!" somehow—almost magically—migrate from his private journal to a classroom wall. This inexplicable graffiti mural gets Clay sent to Earth Ranch, a summer camp for "struggling youth" located on an island with an active volcano. Bosch's arch narrative voice carries over from his previous books, and that humor helps buoy a story that takes its time getting to the big revelations of its final chapters. From The Tempest and Lord of the Flies to shows like Gilligan's Island and Lost, cultural allusions abound as Clay tries to understand the island's many mysteries and meets his fellow campers. Gilbert's watercolors bring in additional humor, especially a scene of Clay's mother Skyping in to a family meeting. Ages 8–12. Author's agent: Sarah Burnes, the Gernert Company. Illustrator's agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (Sept.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2014 PWxyz LLC