The killer next door / Alex Marwood.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "A taut new psychological thriller from the Edgar Award-nominated author of The Wicked Girls Alex Marwood's debut novel, The Wicked Girls, earned her lavish praise from the likes of Stephen King, Laura Lippman, and Erin Kelly, and was shortlisted for an Edgar Award. Now Marwood's back with a brilliant, tightly paced thriller that will keep you up at night and make you ask yourself: just how well do you know your neighbors? Everyone who lives at 23 Beulah Grove has a secret. If they didn't, they wouldn't be renting rooms in a dodgy old building for cash-no credit check, no lease. It's the kind of place you end up when you you've run out of other options. The six residents mostly keep to themselves, but one unbearably hot summer night, a terrible accident pushes them into an uneasy alliance. What they don't know is that one of them is a killer. He's already chosen his next victim, and he'll do anything to protect his secret"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9780143126690 (paperback)
      0143126695 (paperback)
    • Accession Number:
      2014012901
    • Accession Number:
      ocn871192070
      871192070
    • Accession Number:
      fay.433212
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      MARWOOD, A. The killer next door. [s.l.] : Penguin Books, 2014. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 20 nov. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Marwood A. The Killer next Door. Penguin Books; 2014. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.433212. Accessed November 20, 2019.
    • APA:
      Marwood, A. (2014). The killer next door. Penguin Books. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.433212
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Marwood, Alex. 2014. The Killer next Door. Penguin Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.433212.
    • Harvard:
      Marwood, A. (2014) The killer next door. Penguin Books. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.433212 (Accessed: 20 November 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Marwood, A 2014, The killer next door, Penguin Books, viewed 20 November 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Marwood, Alex. The Killer next Door. Penguin Books, 2014. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.433212.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Marwood, Alex. The Killer next Door. Penguin Books, 2014. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.433212.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Marwood A. The killer next door [Internet]. Penguin Books; 2014 [cited 2019 Nov 20]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.433212

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2014 September #2

Marwood's second novel (following The Wicked Girls, 2013) opens with police telling Cheryl Farrell that "there were some body parts in the flat that didn't match up with the known victims." Flashback to before the bodies were found, when a woman calling herself Collette is the latest to rent an apartment in a dodgy South London rooming house. Slowly Marwood introduces the other tenants, including one who is perfecting his mummification skills on the women he's killed and keeping around for company. The reader knows the killer is in the building but can't be sure who it is. All the tenants have something to hide, so when an accident seems likely to bring the police to their door, they band together to cover up what happened. But not everyone can drown out the beating of the telltale heart, and things escalate at a gripping pace. Marwood is emerging as a master of contemporary British suspense. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2014 July #1

Marwood follows up on the success of her Edgar Award-winning debut, The Wicked Girls, with a creepy new mystery. The setting is a South London run-down boarding house presided over by a lecherous and disturbing landlord—the kind of place that caters to residents who prefer to pay in cash and stay off the radar. The six residents of 23 Beulah Grove are a diverse group, including a street-savvy shoplifter, an Iranian refugee, and a woman on the run. Despite their differences, the tenants are united by an accident at the house—and by the growing realization that one of them is a killer. Marwood once again creates a small world of the downtrodden and abused, and populates it with realistic characters. VERDICT If the author's first book explored how poverty and abuse can make monsters of men, then this new novel will have readers peering suspiciously at the neighbors and wondering just what's behind their closed doors. This tightly plotted story grabs readers from the opening paragraphs and will keep them up far too late at night. Highly recommended for fans of Laura Lippman, Tana French, and Gillian Flynn.—Amy Hoseth, Colorado State Univ. Lib., Fort Collins

[Page 78]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

PW Reviews 2014 August #1

At the start of this engrossing standalone from Edgar-winner Marwood (The Wicked Girls), Det. Insp. Merri Cheyne from Scotland Yard questions a young woman, Cheryl Farrell, about the grisly find of human fingers in a freezer inside a rundown boarding house located in a London suburb. As Cheryl confirms, the prints from those fingers belong to a fellow lodger, Lisa Dunne, who witnessed a murder and whom the FBI was seeking to interview. Dunne is not the only victim. Body parts from multiple corpses have surfaced in and around the boarding house, which turns out to be a destination for people with dark and embarrassing pasts that they wish to conceal. Meanwhile, the tenants must contend with break-ins, strange smells, loud music, hidden video-recording equipment in the bathrooms, and pipes clogged with a mysterious substance. Events converge to unite the lodgers in a mutual conspiracy, building up to a well-plotted ending filled with unexpected surprises. Six-city author tour. Agent: Laetitia Rutherford, Watson, Little (U.K.). (Oct.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2014 PWxyz LLC