Blood and earth : modern slavery, ecocide, and the secret to saving the world / Kevin Bales.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "BLOOD AND EARTH is a gripping account of the deadly link between slavery and environmental destruction. Kevin Bales is a social scientist, human rights activist, and journalist -- and he's also one of the world's leading experts on modern slavery. In his work he began to notice the connection between environmental decline and slavery: the two almost always went hand-in-hand, whether in the hellish gold mines of Ghana or the miraculously beautiful mangrove forests of Bangladesh. But why? He set off to find the answer on a fascinating and moving journey that took him into the lives of modern day slaves and along a supply chain that leads directly to the cell phones in our pockets. He found solutions that redeemed both the lives of the slaves in the world's most threatened places and the environments they live in. This is a clear-eyed, inspiring, and profoundly hopeful book that brings us dramatic stories from the world's environmental and human rights hotspots and offers solutions to our most pressing crises"-- Provided by publisher.
    • Notes:
      Includes bibliographical references and index.
    • ISBN:
      9780812995763 (hardback)
      0812995767 (hardback)
    • Accession Number:
      2015008438
    • Accession Number:
      ocn911179873
      911179873
    • Accession Number:
      fay.473556
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      BALES, K. Blood and earth : modern slavery, ecocide, and the secret to saving the world. First edition. [s. l.]: Spiegel & Grau, 2016. ISBN 9780812995763. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.473556. Acesso em: 19 fev. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Bales K. Blood and Earth : Modern Slavery, Ecocide, and the Secret to Saving the World. First edition. Spiegel & Grau; 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.473556. Accessed February 19, 2020.
    • APA:
      Bales, K. (2016). Blood and earth : modern slavery, ecocide, and the secret to saving the world (First edition.). Spiegel & Grau.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Bales, Kevin. 2016. Blood and Earth : Modern Slavery, Ecocide, and the Secret to Saving the World. First edition. Spiegel & Grau. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.473556.
    • Harvard:
      Bales, K. (2016) Blood and earth : modern slavery, ecocide, and the secret to saving the world. First edition. Spiegel & Grau. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.473556 (Accessed: 19 February 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Bales, K 2016, Blood and earth : modern slavery, ecocide, and the secret to saving the world, First edition., Spiegel & Grau, viewed 19 February 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Bales, Kevin. Blood and Earth : Modern Slavery, Ecocide, and the Secret to Saving the World. First edition., Spiegel & Grau, 2016. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.473556.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Bales, Kevin. Blood and Earth : Modern Slavery, Ecocide, and the Secret to Saving the World. First edition. Spiegel & Grau, 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.473556.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Bales K. Blood and earth : modern slavery, ecocide, and the secret to saving the world [Internet]. First edition. Spiegel & Grau; 2016 [cited 2020 Feb 19]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.473556

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2015 December #2

Smartphones and shrimp cocktails, wedding rings and kitchen countertops. When it comes to the stuff we use on a daily basis, what we actually acquire is not what one sees. The hidden sources of all the paraphernalia that dominates everyday life are rooted in a base and barbarous subculture that entraps the most helpless members of societies and destroys the most fragile and essential ecosystems on the planet. Bales (Modern Slavery, 2009), renowned abolitionist and founder of the global antislavery group Free the Slaves, has traveled the world from India to Brazil, investigating the insidious ways in which the most vulnerable members of a culture are exploited by unscrupulous slave masters and their corporate sponsors. Kidnapped and forced into torturous manual labor, kept in servitude by unconquerable debt and the rape of women and children, millions of people sacrifice their lives and decimate precious natural resources to mine commodities that fuel an often-uncontrollable consumer economy. Bales' passionately precise, revelatory, and important chronicle is for every reader concerned with human rights and global ecology issues. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2015 August #1

Cofounder and past president of Free the Slaves, Bales began noticing that wherever human trafficking took root, environmental destruction soon followed. Here he shows that the two are directly linked via a supply chain he follows right up to our pockets. Bales's Ending Slavery and Disposable People were academic best sellers, translated into ten languages; this broad-ranging book is for readers of Katherine Boo, Tracy Kidder, Bill McKibben, and more.

[Page 58]. (c) Copyright 2015 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

LJ Reviews 2015 December #1

Modern-day slavery contributes $150 billion a year to our global economy. Though slavery is rejected politically by every country, it thrives among the vulnerable and poor. These defenseless areas of society supporting slave labor are further degraded by widespread environmental destruction. Social scientist Bales (Disposable People: New Slavery in the Global Economy) sets out to explain why there is a direct correlation between modern slavery and environmental degradation. Bales travels from the tin mines of the Congo to the interior of the Amazon rainforest in Brazil to further understand why slave-driven trade has a direct link to global warming. This book documents dramatic accounts of human atrocity as well as stories of hope and empowerment. The author concludes his powerful journey with a reminder that this knowledge gives everyone the ability to end modern slavery and ecocide starting at the consumer level. VERDICT This book is for both academic and public libraries with strong collection development in the areas of social justice, environmental studies, and global studies.—Angela Forret, Clive P.L., IA

[Page 121]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

PW Reviews 2015 November #4

Some of the developed world's conveniences and pleasures will seem less enjoyable after reading this exposé of the global economy's "deadly dance" between slavery and environmental disaster. Bales (Disposable People), cofounder of Free the Slaves, follows the supply chain from miners and fishers (often made into slaves by warfare, or into peons by corruption) straight to the cell phones in our pockets, shrimp on our table, and wedding bands on our fingers. Based on extensive travels through eastern Congo's mineral mines, Bangladeshi fisheries, Ghanian gold mines, and Brazilian forests, Bales reveals the appalling truth in graphic detail. This disquieting book is impersonal and objective in its historical and statistical detail—Bales simply says, "It works like this"—which adds immediacy to its general call for reform, with personal accounts from those who produce raw materials and turn them into finished goods. Readers will be deeply disturbed to learn how the links connecting slavery, environmental issues, and modern convenience are forged. (Jan.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2015 PWxyz LLC