I'm traveling alone / Samuel Bjørk ; translated from the Norwegian by Charlotte Barslund.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "International bestseller Samuel Bjork makes his US debut, a chilling and fast-paced thriller in which two detectives must hunt down a vengeful killer--and uncover the secret that ties each of them to the crime. A six-year-old girl is found in the Norwegian countryside, hanging lifeless from a tree and dressed in strange doll's clothes. Around her neck is a sign that says "I'm traveling alone." A special homicide unit in Oslo re-opens with veteran police investigator Holger Munch at the helm. Holger's first step is to persuade the brilliant but haunted investigator Mia Kruger, who has been living on an isolated island, overcome by memories of her past. When Mia views a photograph of the crime scene and spots the number "1" carved into the dead girl's fingernail, she knows this is only the beginning. Could this killer have something to do with a missing child, abducted six years ago and never found, or with the reclusive religious community hidden in the nearby woods? Mia returns to duty to track down a revenge-driven and ruthlessly intelligent killer. But when Munch's own six-year-old granddaughter goes missing, Mia realizes that the killer's sinister game is personal, and I'm Traveling Alone races to an explosive--and shocking--conclusion"-- Provided by publisher.
    • Other Titles:
      I am traveling alone.
      Henger en engel alene i skogen. English
    • ISBN:
      9780525428961
      0525428968
    • Accession Number:
      2015044556
    • Accession Number:
      ocn910413025
      910413025
    • Accession Number:
      fay.477270
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      BJØRK, S.; BARSLUND, C. I’m traveling alone. [s. l.]: Viking, 2015. ISBN 9780525428961. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.477270. Acesso em: 19 fev. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Bjørk S, Barslund C. I’m Traveling Alone. Viking; 2015. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.477270. Accessed February 19, 2020.
    • APA:
      Bjørk, S., & Barslund, C. (2015). I’m traveling alone. Viking.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Bjørk, Samuel, and Charlotte Barslund. 2015. I’m Traveling Alone. Viking. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.477270.
    • Harvard:
      Bjørk, S. and Barslund, C. (2015) I’m traveling alone. Viking. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.477270 (Accessed: 19 February 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Bjørk, S & Barslund, C 2015, I’m traveling alone, Viking, viewed 19 February 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Bjørk, Samuel, and Charlotte Barslund. I’m Traveling Alone. Viking, 2015. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.477270.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Bjørk, Samuel, and Charlotte Barslund. I’m Traveling Alone. Viking, 2015. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.477270.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Bjørk S, Barslund C. I’m traveling alone [Internet]. Viking; 2015 [cited 2020 Feb 19]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.477270

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2015 December #1

*Starred Review* The shocking murder of a little girl reunites Oslo police investigator Holger Munch and his brilliant, intuitive colleague Mia Krüger. When the body of the six-year-old is found, dressed in doll clothes and wearing the airline tag, "I'm traveling alone," Mia spots the numeral one scratched on the girl's fingernail and predicts there will be more such murders. Mia, reclusive and suicidal since she shot the junkie boyfriend of her late twin sister, rejoins the Violent Crimes Section and sees her prediction hold true, as the body count of six-year-old girls rises and Munch's beloved granddaughter becomes a target. The investigation eventually encompasses a nursing home, where aging residents are urged to leave their estates to a strange nearby church, and brings up a cold case from six years earlier in which an infant disappeared. And finally it turns personal, for both Munch and Mia. Nordic writers seem to reach a colder, darker place in their crime fiction than most other writers do, and Bjørk (the pen name of Norwegian novelist, playwright, and singer/songwriter Frode Sander Øien) exemplifies this in his American debut. A suspenseful, skillfully wrought thriller with the potential for a sequel, this is thoroughly chilling and an excellent read-alike for Jo Nesbø fans. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2015 September #2

Already a well-known novelist, playwright, and singer/songwriter in his native Norway (under the name Frode Sander Øien), Bjørk leaps into the Scandinavian crime fiction game with this story of a special homicide unit in Oslo investigating the hanging of a little girl, who has an airline tag reading "I'm traveling alone" pinned to her clothes. Rights sold to 24 countries.

[Page 50]. (c) Copyright 2015 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

LJ Reviews 2016 February #1

After a six-year-old girl is found dressed up like a doll and hanging from a tree, police investigator Holger Munch rebuilds his disbanded Oslo Violent Crimes unit. Once he has located and brought brilliant detective Mia Krüger back from her self-imposed exile, Munch rounds out the team with colleagues both old and new, including Gabriel, a bright young computer hacker who has just been recruited to the force. When more girls go missing, the team race against the clock to find the killer before it's too late. Mia's deductive skills rival those of Sherlock Holmes, but even she is having trouble getting to the bottom of this mystery that may involve one of Munch's old unsolved investigations, a nursing home, a famous actor, and a religious cult. It soon becomes apparent that the killer has a special grudge against Munch and Mia. VERDICT A breath of fresh air in the crowded Scandinavian crime genre, this suspenseful novel (the first of the author's works to be published in United States) by Bjørk, the pen name of Norwegian novelist, playwright, and singer/songwriter Frode Sander Øien, will hook readers early and keep them on the edge of their seat until the final pages. Fans of Jo Nesbø are sure to enjoy the flawed yet likable characters. [See Prepub Alert, 8/24/15.]—Portia Kapraun, Delphi P.L., IN

[Page 60]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

PW Reviews 2015 November #5

Bjørk (the pen name of Norwegian novelist Frode Sander Øien) makes his U.S. debut with this brooding serial killer thriller. Oslo detectives Holger Munch, a math nerd who dotes on his six-year-old granddaughter, and Mia Krüger, a brilliant profiler who has burned out on her disheartening job and is on the verge of self-destruction, are on the trail of a murderer, whose first victim, a six-year-old girl, was found hanging from a tree by a jump rope, perfectly bathed and groomed, dressed in doll clothing. Similar killings follow. Munch and Krüger realize that they're dealing with a resourceful perpetrator who plans meticulously and seems always to be a step ahead of them. Krüger eventually discovers that the killer may have a personal vendetta, and when Munch's granddaughter is threatened, she and Munch must gaze into their own pasts for crucial clues. Bjørk doles out characterization and exposition in multiparagraph lumps, but harrowing and enthralling action sequences more than compensate. (Feb.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2015 PWxyz LLC