The widow / Fiona Barton.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was too busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with the accusing glares and the anonymous harassment. Now she's a widow, and there's no reason to stay quiet. There are people who want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. They want the truth. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything...
    • ISBN:
      9781101990261
      1101990260
    • LCCN:
      2015038893
    • OCLC:
      ocn928750306
      928750306
    • Accession Number:
      fay.484147

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2016 March #1

A missing child, an unreliable narrator—two staples of the best psychological suspense. Jean Taylor is the woman in the courtroom, the wife sitting next to a man accused of horrible things. The man is Glen Taylor, a delivery driver suspected of abducting two-year-old Bella Elliott. The problem is, there's no body and the one hint of a confession was obtained illegally. Several years after his trial is dismissed, Glen dies in random traffic accident. Now Jean isn't the wife; she's the widow. Reporter Kate Waters is determined to get to the bottom of the story that's haunted her for years. With Glen gone, will Jean finally open up about what really happened? Chapters jump from the days around Bella's disappearance to Jean's uneasy move into widowhood. Little slips, tiny cracks in her story, make the reader wonder whether Jean's version should be the final say in what happened. A chilling British read that will appeal to fans of The Girl on the Train. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2016 February #1

After her husband is hit by a bus and killed, Jean is not the typical grieving widow, but Glen was not the average spouse either. Four years before his death, Glen was accused of kidnapping Bella, the young daughter of a single mother. Aside from the kidnapping and possible murder charges, investigations by detectives revealed some shameful habits of Glen's—issues sure to persuade any wife to leave. Jean, however, had taken on the role of supportive wife to a wrongly accused spouse. Yet, now that Glen is dead, Jean can tell the truth, and reporter Kate Waters is determined to get it out of her. The truth about Bella's kidnapping, Glen and Jean's lives, and the investigative techniques of both reporter and detective unfold slowly through multiple narratives. Though the characters are flatly drawn, the mystery of what actually happened to Bella and whether Glen's death was an accident will draw in readers until the final page. VERDICT Barton's first novel is one of suspense and intrigue that keeps the pages turning. Recommended for fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.—Kristen Calvert Nelson, Marion Cty. P.L. Syst., Ocala, FL

[Page 67]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

PW Reviews 2015 November #5

What would you do if your spouse suddenly became the prime suspect in the kidnapping of a two-year-old girl? That's the stomach-churning prospect that confronts London hairdresser Jean Taylor in this exceptional debut from British journalist Barton, who circles her story as if it were a lurking panther, unseen but viscerally sensed. The main action occurs in 2010, with flashbacks to little Bella Elliott's headline-dominating disappearance from her home in Southampton in 2006. Multiple narrators maximize suspense, with perspectives switching among tough-to-read Jean, whose husband, Glen, has just been fatally hit by a bus at the book's start; haunted Det. Insp. Bob Sparkes, the lead investigator, whose career the case jeopardizes; and tabloid reporter Kate Waters, most resourceful of the frenzied journalistic pack chasing the story. Though Barton stumbles slightly down the homestretch, tipping what should be her biggest bombshell, she tells her tale with a realism and restraint that add to its shattering impact. Author tour. Agent: Madeleine Milburn, Madeleine Milburn Literary Agency (U.K.). (Feb.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2015 PWxyz LLC