Mission Hill : a novel / Pamela Wechsler.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "Abby Endicott is chief of the District Attorney's homicide unit in Boston, where she investigates and prosecutes the city's most dangerous killers. She attended the elite Winsor school, graduated from Harvard Law School, and has been known to change into an evening gown amidst bodies in the morgue. She loves her job, and is committed to it. But among Abby's many secrets is her longtime affair with fellow prosecutor Tim Mooney, a married father of one. One night, Abby is awakened very late by a phone call from her favorite detective, who reports that there has been a horrific murder but is vague about the specifics. When she arrives at the crime scene and discovers the identity of the victim, she knows the terror and tragedy are only beginning. Debut novelist Pamela Wechsler delivers a gripping and very human portrayal of a woman who will stop at nothing to find out the truth, even if it challenges everything she believes about justice" -- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9781250075697
      1250075696
    • Accession Number:
      2015050062
    • Accession Number:
      ocn919105898
      919105898
    • Accession Number:
      fay.485250
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      WECHSLER, P. Mission Hill : a novel. First edition. [s. l.]: Minotaur Books, 2016. ISBN 9781250075697. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.485250. Acesso em: 8 jul. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Wechsler P. Mission Hill : A Novel. First edition. Minotaur Books; 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.485250. Accessed July 8, 2020.
    • AMA11:
      Wechsler P. Mission Hill : A Novel. First edition. Minotaur Books; 2016. Accessed July 8, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.485250
    • APA:
      Wechsler, P. (2016). Mission Hill : a novel (First edition.). Minotaur Books.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Wechsler, Pamela. 2016. Mission Hill : A Novel. First edition. Minotaur Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.485250.
    • Harvard:
      Wechsler, P. (2016) Mission Hill : a novel. First edition. Minotaur Books. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.485250 (Accessed: 8 July 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Wechsler, P 2016, Mission Hill : a novel, First edition., Minotaur Books, viewed 8 July 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Wechsler, Pamela. Mission Hill : A Novel. First edition., Minotaur Books, 2016. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.485250.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Wechsler, Pamela. Mission Hill : A Novel. First edition. Minotaur Books, 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.485250.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Wechsler P. Mission Hill : a novel [Internet]. First edition. Minotaur Books; 2016 [cited 2020 Jul 8]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.485250

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2016 March #2

Former-prosecutor-turned-television-writer Wechsler introduces Abby Endicott, chief of the homicide unit for the Boston district attorney's office. Abby's gritty job remains a disappointment to her old-money Mission Hill family. They demand she quit when a fellow prosecutor is murdered right before he takes a local gang member to trial. When Abby takes the case, the stakes get personal. Not only was prosecutor Tim Mooney her lover, but she believes the man on trial is also responsible for her best friend's death years ago. As the case heats up, Abby must decide if this is the right time to lean on the musician boyfriend she's been keeping at a distance. The glimpses into Abby's well-mannered personal life are a nice contrast to the high-stakes drama she encounters interviewing witnesses and facing off in court. A fast-paced legal thriller that will appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and Linda Fairstein. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2016 March #1

Wechsler steps into the legal thriller arena with 15 years' experience as a criminal prosecutor along with TV series writing and consulting credentials. The author's first offering is billed as a series opener and introduces Abby Endicott, the homicide unit chief for the Boston District Attorney's office and a native of the city's elite Mission Hill neighborhood. The product of a privileged upbringing, private school education, and rigorous training at Harvard Law, Abby on the surface seems poised for an effortless career ascent, but those expectations are shattered in the novel's opening chapters when she is called to the scene of a murder. The victim is Tim Mooney, a former coworker and clandestine lover. Probing the killing, Abby discovers Tim had been prosecuting a case against Orlando Jones who, years earlier, killed her high school best friend and had gotten off lightly with time served in a juvenile detention center. What follows is a tribute to Abby's toughness and tenacity, traits that will, no doubt, serve her well in future ventures. VERDICT Fans of Alafair Burke's "Samantha Kincaid" series and other legal thriller authors will be well advised to get in on the ground floor of what promises to be an intriguing new series.—Nancy McNicol, Hamden P.L., CT

[Page 95]. (c) Copyright 2016 Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

PW Reviews 2016 February #2

The worst of times seem to bring out the best in hard-charging Boston homicide prosecutor Abby Endicott, as shown in Wechsler's muscular debut, the first in a series. Fellow prosecutor Tim Mooney, to whom Abby is close, has just been murdered in Jamaica Plain execution-style, on the eve of delivering his opening statement at the trial of gangbanger Orlando Jones, whom Abby blames for the death of her childhood best friend 17 years earlier. Abby being Abby—keen not to let anyone think that her pampered Beacon Hill upbringing and designer duds signify softness—there's no way that she's not going to commandeer the case, even if her involvement could jeopardize the prosecution, not to mention her life. Though the swiftly moving plot offers plenty of surprises, it's the realism with which the author, a seasoned Boston criminal prosecutor who's now a legal consultant for TV shows, depicts varied worlds from Brahmin glitzy to Roxbury gritty that will make readers eager for Abby's next adventure. Agent: Victoria Skurnick, Levine Greenberg Literary Agency. (May)

[Page ]. Copyright 2016 PWxyz LLC