The strings of murder / Oscar de Muriel.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First Pegasus Books cloth edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: The brutal slaying of a violinist in his home in 1888 sparks a locked room murder mystery investigated by two diametrically opposed Edinburgh detectives. --Publisher
    • Other Titles:
      a novel.
    • ISBN:
      9781681771328 :
      1681771322 :
    • Accession Number:
      ocn923794354
      923794354
    • Accession Number:
      fay.486305
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      DE MURIEL, O. The strings of murder. [s. l.]: Pegasus Crime, 2016. ISBN 9781681771328. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.486305. Acesso em: 28 jan. 2020.
    • AMA:
      de Muriel O. The Strings of Murder. Pegasus Crime; 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.486305. Accessed January 28, 2020.
    • APA:
      de Muriel, O. (2016). The strings of murder. Pegasus Crime. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.486305
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      de Muriel, Oscar. 2016. The Strings of Murder. Pegasus Crime. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.486305.
    • Harvard:
      de Muriel, O. (2016) The strings of murder. Pegasus Crime. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.486305 (Accessed: 28 January 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      de Muriel, O 2016, The strings of murder, Pegasus Crime, viewed 28 January 2020, .
    • MLA:
      de Muriel, Oscar. The Strings of Murder. Pegasus Crime, 2016. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.486305.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      de Muriel, Oscar. The Strings of Murder. Pegasus Crime, 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.486305.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      de Muriel O. The strings of murder [Internet]. Pegasus Crime; 2016 [cited 2020 Jan 28]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.486305

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2016 March #2

As Jack the Ripper terrorizes London, Scotland Yard Commissioner Charles Warren is forced to resign. Unfortunately, Warren's allies are also being purged, and Inspector Ian Frey's only hope of reinstatement is accepting banishment to Edinburgh. There, a famed violinist has been murdered, and the body's mutilations have sparked fear that a Ripper copycat is at work. Even more perplexing, Guilleum Fontaine was found in his locked practice room surrounded by occult symbols. To aristocratic Frey's dismay, along with being dispatched to a sodden outpost, he's partnered with "Nine-Nails" McGray, whose unorthodox occult investigation division has been assigned the violinist's case. Cultured, logical Frey is immediately at odds with his brash new partner but soon finds him indispensable in interpreting occult clues and coaxing clues from witnesses. Detailed historical context, spine-tingling occult overtones, and witty characterization create a gripping, albeit reality-bending, story. Fans of Alec Grecian's and Will Thomas' gritty Victorian tales will want to see more of Frey. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

PW Reviews 2016 March #1

Sherlock Holmes meets the X-Files in de Muriel's standout debut, a creepy and atmospheric whodunit set in 1888. Scotland Yarder Ian Frey's career appears to be over when his mentor, Commissioner Sir Charles Warren, is forced from office by Lord Salisbury, the British prime minister, after Frey's failure to apprehend Jack the Ripper. Then Frey gets an unexpected reprieve from Salisbury, who appears in his rooms and asks him to travel to Edinburgh to probe the murder of Guilleum Fontaine, a virtuoso violinist. The prime minister is concerned that Fontaine's death will spark fears that the Ripper has inspired imitators poised to strike all over Great Britain. Frey's presence in Scotland is to be explained by his ostensible assignment to a special police unit that investigates ghosts and goblins, headed by the eccentric Inspector McGray, known as Nine-Nails. Frey and McGray quickly develop an uncomfortable working relationship, premised on trading insults, as they look into the grisly and puzzling murder. Fontaine was eviscerated in a locked room the same day he was heard playing an eerie melody popularly attributed to the devil. De Muriel matches the intricate mystery with a clever solution. (May)

[Page ]. Copyright 2016 PWxyz LLC