Inherit the bones / Emily Littlejohn.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "Secrets and lies can't stay buried forever in Cedar Valley. In the summer, hikers and campers pack the small Colorado town's meadows and fields. And in the winter, skiers and snowboarders take over the mountains. Season by season, year after year, time passes and the lies, like the aspens and evergreens that surround the town, take root and spread deep. Now, someone has uncovered the lies, and it is his murder that continues a chain of events that began almost forty years ago. Detective Gemma Monroe's investigation takes her from the seedy grounds of a traveling circus to the powerful homes of those who would control Cedar Valley's future. Six-months pregnant, with a partner she can't trust and colleagues who know more than they're saying, Gemma tracks a killer who will stop at nothing to keep those secrets buried. Beautifully written with a riveting plot and a richly drawn cast of characters, Inherit the Bones is a mesmerizing debut from Emily Littlejohn"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9781250089397
      1250089395
    • Accession Number:
      2016021607
    • Accession Number:
      ocn933272308
      933272308
    • Accession Number:
      fay.504194
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      LITTLEJOHN, E. Inherit the bones. First edition. [s. l.]: Minotaur Books, 2016. ISBN 9781250089397. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.504194. Acesso em: 4 jun. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Littlejohn E. Inherit the Bones. First edition. Minotaur Books; 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.504194. Accessed June 4, 2020.
    • APA:
      Littlejohn, E. (2016). Inherit the bones (First edition.). Minotaur Books.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Littlejohn, Emily. 2016. Inherit the Bones. First edition. Detective Gemma Monroe Novels: 1. Minotaur Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.504194.
    • Harvard:
      Littlejohn, E. (2016) Inherit the bones. First edition. Minotaur Books (Detective Gemma Monroe novels: 1). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.504194 (Accessed: 4 June 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Littlejohn, E 2016, Inherit the bones, First edition., Detective Gemma Monroe novels: 1, Minotaur Books, viewed 4 June 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Littlejohn, Emily. Inherit the Bones. First edition., Minotaur Books, 2016. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.504194.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Littlejohn, Emily. Inherit the Bones. First edition. Detective Gemma Monroe Novels: 1. Minotaur Books, 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.504194.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Littlejohn E. Inherit the bones [Internet]. First edition. Minotaur Books; 2016 [cited 2020 Jun 4]. (Detective Gemma Monroe novels: 1). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.504194

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2016 September #2

Detective Gemma Monroe is the first on the scene when a traveling circus performer has his throat cut in Cedar Valley, Colorado. Gemma senses that this crime is somehow tied to two other unsolved cases that stretch back to 1985, and sets about to prove it. Although this is a series debut, it seems as if the fully fleshed character of Gemma has jumped into an ongoing series midstream. But then, the author drops little crumbs of backstory that the hungry reader will gleefully devour. A series to watch. Copyright 2016 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2016 October #1

Three years ago, Nicky Bellington vanished over Bridal Veil Falls, so why is his body, with the throat torn out, lying in the Cedar Valley morgue? As lead detective on the case, soon-to-be-mom Gemma Monroe, quickly discovers that Nicky had been living as Reed Oliver and working as a clown in a traveling circus. She also learns that his disappearance has ties to a 1985 case of missing cousins Tommy and Andrew McKenzie, whose skeletons were found in 2011 by Gemma and her boyfriend. What kind of secrets are buried in Cedar Valley, and who is intent on exposing them—or keeping them concealed? VERDICT Debut novelist Littlejohn writes with assurance and skill. The story's plotting is sure-footed, and the characters are well developed and believable. Gemma has been hurt but desires a full life, nonetheless. Highly recommended for fans of Susan Dunlap and Tricia Fields.. Copyright 2016 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2016 September #2

At the outset of Littlejohn's engrossing debut, Deputy Gemma Moore examines the body of circus clown Reed Tolliver, who was found inside a storage tent with his throat cut. Nicky Bellington, the teenage son of the mayor of Cedar Valley, Colo., was supposedly killed in a fall from a cliff three years earlier, but no body was found. When a database search of the victim's fingerprints identifies Tolliver as Nicky, Gemma launches an investigation that reaches back three decades to a summer of crimes that continue to haunt the mountain town—and to which she has a personal connection. Littlejohn effectively captures the tensions of a community struggling with its demons while seeking to attract tourist dollars, and Gemma—six-months pregnant with her first child, uncertain of the future with her partner, and paired with a charming bad-boy cop she doesn't trust—is a compelling lead. Readers may solve the mystery early on, but the charming setting, engaging characters, and adroit pacing will keep them turning the pages. (Nov.)

[Page ]. Copyright 2016 PWxyz LLC