Missing, presumed : a novel / Susie Steiner.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First U.S. edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "Detective Manon Bradshaw is 39, single, and miserable as sin. She has endured some of the worst dates in internet history. But she loves her job and performs it brilliantly; all she needs to rise up in the ranks is a big break. Edith Hind is a gorgeous, intrepid graduate student at Cambridge University who seems to have it all: a doting boyfriend, a devoted friend named Helena, a loving mother and a father who is a surgeon to the Royal Family. When Edith turns up missing from her apartment one evening, leaving only a single streak of blood along the front foyer wall, the case becomes a national media sensation. In the first frenzied 72 hours of being assigned to the case, Bradshaw will make a number of alarming discoveries: Edith's behavior had been erratic in the run-up to her disappearance, and her close friend Helena, the last person to see her, is clearly hiding something. A known sex offender appears in CCTV footage of Edith taken a short while before she goes missing. Then a body is discovered floating in a nearby river. Is Edith Hind alive or dead? Was her "complex love life" at the heart of her disappearance, as the tabloids are suggesting? Why is there reluctance, in the senior ranks, to press too hard on some elements of the story? Detective Bradshaw must use all her skill and resources to bring closure to the case for Edith's family, as she finds herself becoming ever more personally, and dangerously, invested"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9780812998320 (hardcover : acid-free paper)
      0812998324 (hardcover : acid-free paper)
    • Accession Number:
      2015037112
    • Accession Number:
      ocn923548133
      923548133
    • Accession Number:
      fay.507225
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      STEINER, S. Missing, presumed : a novel. First U.S. edition. [s. l.]: Random House, 2016. ISBN 9780812998320. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.507225. Acesso em: 16 fev. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Steiner S. Missing, Presumed : A Novel. First U.S. edition. Random House; 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.507225. Accessed February 16, 2020.
    • APA:
      Steiner, S. (2016). Missing, presumed : a novel (First U.S. edition.). Random House.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Steiner, Susie. 2016. Missing, Presumed : A Novel. First U.S. edition. Random House. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.507225.
    • Harvard:
      Steiner, S. (2016) Missing, presumed : a novel. First U.S. edition. Random House. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.507225 (Accessed: 16 February 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Steiner, S 2016, Missing, presumed : a novel, First U.S. edition., Random House, viewed 16 February 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Steiner, Susie. Missing, Presumed : A Novel. First U.S. edition., Random House, 2016. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.507225.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Steiner, Susie. Missing, Presumed : A Novel. First U.S. edition. Random House, 2016. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.507225.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Steiner S. Missing, presumed : a novel [Internet]. First U.S. edition. Random House; 2016 [cited 2020 Feb 16]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.507225

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2016 May #1

Manon Bradshaw is a skilled and well-respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, but she still would like to find the right man. This takes her from one unfortunate Internet date to another. Her mother chose the name Manon for her because it is "all held down, those ‘n's' like tent pegs in the ground." Those pegs anchor her through constant personal disappointments and, professionally, in dealing with a missing-person case involving Edith Hind, a graduate student at Cambridge University. Despite the initial description of a straight-arrow Edith, secrets begin to emerge about her tangled love life and odd associations. The collateral damage is enormous, and no one, not even Manon, escapes the consequences. This combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French.The author promises more about Manon "at full chaotic tilt," so we can hope to find out whether the path she ultimately chooses for herself is the right one. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

PW Reviews 2016 March #3

In this richly plotted police procedural from British author Steiner (Homecoming), Edith Hind, a 24-year-old Cambridge graduate student, goes missing, leaving behind only a smear of blood and signs of a struggle at the flat she shares with her boyfriend. The pressure is on Det. Sgt. Manon Bradshaw, who excels at her job but has suffered a string of dreary Internet dates, and the rest of the Cambridgeshire Major Incident Team, since Edith's father is Sir Ian Hind, physician to the royal family. Steiner slips smoothly among narrators, shifting from Manon's ever-widening investigation to characters who are directly affected by Edith's disappearance. As leads dry up and days missing increase, every scrap of case information is fodder for the press, who pounce on the more salacious aspects of Edith's personal life, even as Manon and the team discover that the answers might be linked to something much more serious. A vein of dark humor pulses beneath this compelling whodunit with an appealing, complicated heroine at its center. Agent: Eleanor Jackson, Dunow, Carlson & Lerner. (June)

[Page ]. Copyright 2016 PWxyz LLC