The elusive Miss Ellison / Carolyn Miller..

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Handsome appearance counts for naught unless matched by good character and actions. That's the firm opinion of not-so-meek minister's daughter Lavinia Ellison. So even though all the other villagers of St. Hampton Heath are swooning over the newly returned seventh Earl of Hawkesbury, she is not impressed. If a man won't take his responsibilities seriously and help those who are supposed to be able to depend on him, he deserves no respect from her. In Lavinia's pretty, gray eyes, Nicholas Stamford is just as arrogant and reckless as his brother--who stole the most important person in Livvie's world.Nicholas is weighed down by his own guilt and responsibility, by the pain his careless brother caused, and by the legacy of war he's just left. This quick visit home to St. Hampton Heath will be just long enough to ease a small part of that burden. Asking him to bother with the lives of the villagers when there's already a bailiff on the job is simply too much to expect. That is, until the hoydenish, intelligent, and very opinionated Miss Ellison challenges him to see past his pain and pride. With her angelic voice in his head, he may even be beginning to care. But his isn't the only heart that needs to change.These two lonely hearts may each have something the other needs. But with society's opposition, ancestral obligations, and a shocking family secret, there may be too many obstacles in their way.
    • ISBN:
      9780825444500
      0825444500
    • Accession Number:
      ocn953441940
      953441940
    • Accession Number:
      fay.523184
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      MILLER, C. The elusive Miss Ellison. [s. l.]: Kregel Publications, 2017. ISBN 9780825444500. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.523184. Acesso em: 4 jun. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Miller C. The Elusive Miss Ellison. Kregel Publications; 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.523184. Accessed June 4, 2020.
    • APA:
      Miller, C. (2017). The elusive Miss Ellison. Kregel Publications.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Miller, Carolyn. 2017. The Elusive Miss Ellison. Regency Brides : A Legacy of Grace. Kregel Publications. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.523184.
    • Harvard:
      Miller, C. (2017) The elusive Miss Ellison. Kregel Publications (Regency brides : a legacy of grace). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.523184 (Accessed: 4 June 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Miller, C 2017, The elusive Miss Ellison, Regency brides : a legacy of grace, Kregel Publications, viewed 4 June 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Miller, Carolyn. The Elusive Miss Ellison. Kregel Publications, 2017. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.523184.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Miller, Carolyn. The Elusive Miss Ellison. Regency Brides : A Legacy of Grace. Kregel Publications, 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.523184.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Miller C. The elusive Miss Ellison [Internet]. Kregel Publications; 2017 [cited 2020 Jun 4]. (Regency brides : a legacy of grace). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.523184

Reviews

LJ Reviews 2017 February #1

Arrogant Nicholas Stamford, the seventh Earl of Hawkesbury, is home on a brief leave to relax and give himself time to consider the ramifications of the war he left behind. However, rest is not possible when he is called upon to check in with the villagers, which irritates him greatly. Lavinia Ellison, the minister's daughter, finds the young nobleman even more cavalier than he was before the war. Sparks fly between the two immediately. Secrets, society, and attitudes conspire to keep the couple apart, but God may just make a way to place them together. VERDICT Displaying a flair for comedy and witty dialog, Miller is clearly an author to watch. Her debut Regency rockets off the page with clever, snappy repartee, creating an exciting and fast-paced read. Fans of Georgette Heyer and Julie Klassen will love this romance and eagerly anticipate the second volume (The Captivating Miss Charlotte), coming in June.

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.