Beyond the wild river : a novel / Sarah Maine.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First Atria paperback edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "For fans of Kate Morton and Beatriz Williams, a highly atmospheric and suspenseful historical novel, set in the 1890s about a Scottish heiress who unexpectedly encounters her childhood friend in North America, five years after he disappeared from her family's estate the night of a double murder. Nineteen-year-old Evelyn Ballantyre has rarely strayed from her family's estate in the Scottish Borderlands, save for the occasional trip to Edinburgh, where her father, a respected magistrate, conducts his business--and affairs of another kind. Evelyn has always done her duty as a daughter, hiding her boredom and resentment behind good manners--so when an innocent friendship with a servant is misinterpreted by her father as an illicit union, Evelyn is appalled. Yet the consequence is a welcome one: she is to accompany her father on a trip to North America, where they'll visit New York City, the 1893 World's Fair in Chicago, and conclude with a fishing expedition on the Nipigon River in Canada. Now is her chance to escape her cloistered life, see the world, and reconnect with her father. Once they're on the Nipigon, however, Evelyn is shocked to discover that their guide is James Douglas, the former stable hand and her one-time friend who disappeared from the estate after the shootings of a poacher and a gamekeeper. Many had assumed that James had been responsible, but Evelyn never could believe it. Now, in the wilds of a new world, far from the constraints of polite society, the truth about that day, James, and her father will be revealed ... to stunning consequences"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9781501126956
      1501126954
    • Accession Number:
      2016042005
    • Accession Number:
      ocn962750087
      962750087
    • Accession Number:
      fay.528638
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      MAINE, S. Beyond the wild river : a novel. [s.l.] : Atria Paperback, 2017. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 20 out. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Maine S. Beyond the Wild River : A Novel. Atria Paperback; 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.528638. Accessed October 20, 2019.
    • APA:
      Maine, S. (2017). Beyond the wild river : a novel. Atria Paperback. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.528638
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Maine, Sarah. 2017. Beyond the Wild River : A Novel. Atria Paperback. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.528638.
    • Harvard:
      Maine, S. (2017) Beyond the wild river : a novel. Atria Paperback. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.528638 (Accessed: 20 October 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Maine, S 2017, Beyond the wild river : a novel, Atria Paperback, viewed 20 October 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Maine, Sarah. Beyond the Wild River : A Novel. Atria Paperback, 2017. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.528638.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Maine, Sarah. Beyond the Wild River : A Novel. Atria Paperback, 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.528638.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Maine S. Beyond the wild river : a novel [Internet]. Atria Paperback; 2017 [cited 2019 Oct 20]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.528638

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2017 April #1

Evelyn is thrilled when her father decides to take her to the 1893 Chicago World's Fair. Even if the trip is prompted by improprieties on her part and though her father is sure to be distracted by his business dealings, Evelyn is determined to enjoy this chance to see more of the world beyond her father's Scottish estate. After the fair, the two embark on a fishing excursion in the Canadian wilderness, where Evelyn is surprised to find that one of their guides is a young man from her father's estate who was dismissed five years earlier under suspicious circumstances. The mystery only deepens when her father forbids her from betraying recognition of the boy who was once a valued friend. As the group penetrates deeper into the wild, the strain of the imposed secrecy grows as events, both unforeseen and orchestrated, lead them closer to a final revelation and a shocking resolution. Maine's (The House between Tides, 2016) beautifully detailed descriptions of the American hinterlands provide a stunning setting for this historical tale of intrigue and suspense. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.