The room of white fire : a novel / T. Jefferson Parker.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: For fans of Michael Connelly and C. J. Box: a stirring thriller from New York Times bestseller and award winner T. Jefferson Parker. In The Room of White Fire, a P.I. must hunt down a soldier who is damaged by war, dangerous, and on the run. A young soldier escaped from a mental institution.A P.I. carrying his own wounds hired to track that soldier down. A race against the clock to bring the soldier home before he reveals the secret that haunts him. Roland Ford--once a cop, then a marine, now a private investigator--is good at finding people. But when he's asked to locate Air Force veteran Clay Hickman, he realizes he's been drawn into something deep and dark. He knows war, having served as a Marine in first Fallujah; he also knows personal pain, as only two years have passed since his wife, Justine, died. What he doesn't know is why a shroud of secrecy hangs over the disappearance of Clay Hickman--and why he's getting a different story from everyone involved.To begin with, there's Sequoia, the teenage woman who helped Clay escape; she's smart enough to fend off Ford's questions but impetuous enough to be on the run with an armed man. Then there's Paige Hulet, Clay's doctor, who clearly cares deeply for his welfare but is impossible to read, even as she inspires in Ford the first desire he has felt since his wife's death. And there's Briggs Spencer, the proprietor of the mental institution who is as enigmatic as he is brash, and ambitious to the point of being ruthless. What could Clay possibly know to make this search so desperate? What began as just a job becomes a life-or-death obsession for Ford, pitting him against immensely powerful and treacherous people and forcing him to contend with chilling questions about truth, justice, and the American way.
    • ISBN:
      9780735212664
      073521266X
    • Accession Number:
      2016046698
    • Accession Number:
      ocn965445824
      965445824
    • Accession Number:
      fay.538243
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      PARKER, T. J. The room of white fire : a novel. [s. l.]: G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 2017. ISBN 9780735212664. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538243. Acesso em: 16 fev. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Parker TJ. The Room of White Fire : A Novel. G.P. Putnam’s Sons; 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538243. Accessed February 16, 2020.
    • APA:
      Parker, T. J. (2017). The room of white fire : a novel. G.P. Putnam’s Sons.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Parker, T. Jefferson. 2017. The Room of White Fire : A Novel. G.P. Putnam’s Sons. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538243.
    • Harvard:
      Parker, T. J. (2017) The room of white fire : a novel. G.P. Putnam’s Sons. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538243 (Accessed: 16 February 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Parker, TJ 2017, The room of white fire : a novel, G.P. Putnam’s Sons, viewed 16 February 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Parker, T.Jefferson. The Room of White Fire : A Novel. G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 2017. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538243.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Parker, T. Jefferson. The Room of White Fire : A Novel. G.P. Putnam’s Sons, 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538243.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Parker TJ. The room of white fire : a novel [Internet]. G.P. Putnam’s Sons; 2017 [cited 2020 Feb 16]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538243

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2017 May #1

Roland Ford, the San Diego PI at the center of Parker's powerful novel, at first seems out of central casting. He's a widower with a dodgy work history and a taste for bourbon. The plot starts out smelling standard, too. Ford must find an escapee from a tony—$25,000 a month—sanatorium. But soon it's clear that Parker is after bigger thematic game. Ford strolls the grounds with a patient who confides that those hovering hummingbirds are really surveillance drones. Refusing to dismiss the fellow as a nut, Ford climbs a tree to find out. Yup, drones. Then, when the patient says the missing man is out to bring "white fire to Deimos," Ford doesn't laugh it off. So he's ready when it becomes clear that the cryptic phrase is the key to everything. The escapee has videos—hideous videos, described in powerful language—of Iraqi prisoners being tortured to little effect by mercenaries who "made a lot of money." There have been other novels portraying the horror of torture, but this doubles down by casting the torturers as gleeful sadists who find their vocation "irresistible." Chilling on multiple levels. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

PW Reviews 2017 May #5

Bestseller Parker (The Famous and the Dead and five other Charlie Hood novels) provides a glimpse into the shadowy, disturbing, and morally indefensible world of outsourced interrogation in this excellent series launch. PI Roland Ford, a former cop, has what seems like a simple case: find Clay Hickman, a patient who escaped from Arcadia, a private mental hospital in San Diego County. Like Ford, Hickman is a veteran, but his wartime experiences—working in secret prisons and torture—have scarred him deeply. Hickman may or may not be insane, but he has a real mission: to "bring white fire to Deimos." What this means becomes horrifyingly clear as the narrative unfolds. Ford picks up Hickman's tracks quickly and pursues him from San Diego to Ukiah, in Northern California's wine country. He also runs up against doctor Briggs Spencer, Arcadia's founder, who coauthored a "torture book" for the CIA. Like many Parker heroes, Ford is a decent human being with more than a hint of sadness about him. Author tour. Agent: Robert Gottlieb, Trident Agency. (Aug.)

Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly.