Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America / Britt Collins ; with a foreword by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First Atria Books hardcover edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other. Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong side of the tracks in Portland, Oregon. One rainy night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat and takes her in. Nursing her back to health, he names her Tabor and she becomes a bit of a celebrity in southeast Portland. When winter comes, they travel from Oregon to the beaches of California to the high plains of Montana, surviving blizzards and bears, angry steers and rainstorms. Along the way, people are drawn to the spirited, beautiful cat and moved to help Michael, who cuts a striking figure with Tabor riding high on his backpack or walking on a leash. Tabor comforts Michael when he's down, giving Michael someone to love and care for, and inspiring him to get sober and to come to terms with his past family traumas and grief over the death of his life partner. As they make their way across the West Coast, the pair become inseparable, healing the scars of each other's troubled pasts. But when Michael takes Tabor to a veterinarian in Montana, he discovers that Tabor has an identification chip and an owner in Portland who has never given up hope of finding his beloved cat, Michael makes the difficult choice to return to Portland and reunite Tabor with her owner. Now Michael must create a new purpose in his life after Tabor. The authentic tale of an adventurous and charismatic cat and her compassionate human admirers, Strays proves the healing power of love and the profound bond between humans and animals.
    • Content Notes:
      Portland, Oregon: round midnight -- Stray cat blues -- Gimme shelter -- Scary monsters and super creeps -- Born to run -- On the road again -- Oregon to California: riders on the storm -- Backwoods Oregon: Memory Motel -- Baby please come home -- Anyway, anyhow, anywhere -- California: ride into the Sun -- King City: sweetheart of the rodeo -- Bad moon rising -- Ventura, California: good vibrations -- The stars are out tonight -- Yosemite: walk on the wild wide -- Big sky country: devils & dust -- Black magic woman -- Dillon, Montana: holy cow -- Portland: a summer storm and full moon -- Helena, Montana: mysteries of a feline heart -- Astral weeks -- The most beautiful girl -- The cat was a rainbow in a dark world -- The long and winding road -- Portland again: sweet emotion -- Seven steps to heaven.
    • Notes:
      Includes bibliographical references.
    • ISBN:
      9781501122590 (hardcover)
      1501122592 (hardcover)
      9781501125621
      1501125621
    • Accession Number:
      2016057210
    • Accession Number:
      ocn985602812
      985602812
    • Accession Number:
      fay.538405
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      COLLINS, B. Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America. [s.l.] : Atria Books, 2017. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 20 nov. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Collins B. Strays : A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America. Atria Books; 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405. Accessed November 20, 2019.
    • APA:
      Collins, B. (2017). Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America. Atria Books. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Collins, Britt. 2017. Strays : A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America. Atria Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405.
    • Harvard:
      Collins, B. (2017) Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America. Atria Books. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405 (Accessed: 20 November 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Collins, B 2017, Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America, Atria Books, viewed 20 November 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Collins, Britt. Strays : A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America. Atria Books, 2017. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Collins, Britt. Strays : A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America. Atria Books, 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Collins B. Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America [Internet]. Atria Books; 2017 [cited 2019 Nov 20]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405