Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America / Britt Collins ; with a foreword by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First Atria Books hardcover edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other. Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay on the wrong side of the tracks in Portland, Oregon. One rainy night, he stumbles upon a hurt, starving, scruffy cat and takes her in. Nursing her back to health, he names her Tabor and she becomes a bit of a celebrity in southeast Portland. When winter comes, they travel from Oregon to the beaches of California to the high plains of Montana, surviving blizzards and bears, angry steers and rainstorms. Along the way, people are drawn to the spirited, beautiful cat and moved to help Michael, who cuts a striking figure with Tabor riding high on his backpack or walking on a leash. Tabor comforts Michael when he's down, giving Michael someone to love and care for, and inspiring him to get sober and to come to terms with his past family traumas and grief over the death of his life partner. As they make their way across the West Coast, the pair become inseparable, healing the scars of each other's troubled pasts. But when Michael takes Tabor to a veterinarian in Montana, he discovers that Tabor has an identification chip and an owner in Portland who has never given up hope of finding his beloved cat, Michael makes the difficult choice to return to Portland and reunite Tabor with her owner. Now Michael must create a new purpose in his life after Tabor. The authentic tale of an adventurous and charismatic cat and her compassionate human admirers, Strays proves the healing power of love and the profound bond between humans and animals.
    • Content Notes:
      Portland, Oregon: round midnight -- Stray cat blues -- Gimme shelter -- Scary monsters and super creeps -- Born to run -- On the road again -- Oregon to California: riders on the storm -- Backwoods Oregon: Memory Motel -- Baby please come home -- Anyway, anyhow, anywhere -- California: ride into the Sun -- King City: sweetheart of the rodeo -- Bad moon rising -- Ventura, California: good vibrations -- The stars are out tonight -- Yosemite: walk on the wild wide -- Big sky country: devils & dust -- Black magic woman -- Dillon, Montana: holy cow -- Portland: a summer storm and full moon -- Helena, Montana: mysteries of a feline heart -- Astral weeks -- The most beautiful girl -- The cat was a rainbow in a dark world -- The long and winding road -- Portland again: sweet emotion -- Seven steps to heaven.
    • Notes:
      Includes bibliographical references.
    • ISBN:
      9781501122590 (hardcover)
      1501122592 (hardcover)
      9781501125621
      1501125621
    • Accession Number:
      2016057210
    • Accession Number:
      ocn985602812
      985602812
    • Accession Number:
      fay.538405
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      COLLINS, B. Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America. [s. l.]: Atria Books, 2017. ISBN 9781501122590. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405. Acesso em: 14 dez. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Collins B. Strays : A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America. Atria Books; 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405. Accessed December 14, 2019.
    • APA:
      Collins, B. (2017). Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America. Atria Books. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Collins, Britt. 2017. Strays : A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America. Atria Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405.
    • Harvard:
      Collins, B. (2017) Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America. Atria Books. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405 (Accessed: 14 December 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Collins, B 2017, Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America, Atria Books, viewed 14 December 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Collins, Britt. Strays : A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America. Atria Books, 2017. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Collins, Britt. Strays : A Lost Cat, a Homeless Man, and Their Journey across America. Atria Books, 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Collins B. Strays : a lost cat, a homeless man, and their journey across America [Internet]. Atria Books; 2017 [cited 2019 Dec 14]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.538405

Reviews

LJ Reviews 2017 March #1

In this rescued-by-the-cat title with a twist, homeless Michael King pulls his life together after encountering an injured stray with whom he travels the Northwest. Then a trip to a veterinarian reveals that Tabor has an identification chip and an owner still desperately looking for her.

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

LJ Reviews 2017 June #1

British journalist Collins (the Guardian; Sunday Times) shares the story of Michael King, an alcoholic living on the streets of Portland, OR, who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other. Nursing the animal back to health, he names her Tabor, eventually teaching her to walk on a leash. Becoming less dependent on alcohol because of Tabor, King comes to term with his past. When winter approaches, the pair hitchhike to the beaches of California, Yosemite National Park, and eventually Montana. Along the way they encounter rainstorms, bears, and herds of steer, while finding compassionate people who give them money, food, and rides. In Montana, King takes Tabor to visit a vet who, discovers that she has an ID chip. This presents King with the difficult choice of keeping Tabor or returning her to her rightful owner. VERDICT Readers who empathized with the honesty and humility of James Bowen's A Street Cat Named Bob will be moved by this healing love story. [See Prepub Alert, 2/6/17.]—Eva Lautemann, Gwinnett Cty. P.L., GA

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.