Heaven's crooked finger : an Earl Marcus mystery / Hank Early.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Earl Marcus thought he had left the mountains of Georgia behind forever, and with them, the painful memories of a childhood spent under the fundamentalist rule of his father RJ's church--a church built on fear, penance, and the twisting, writhing mass of snakes. But then an ominous photo of RJ is delivered to Earl's home. The photograph is dated long after his father's burial, and there's no doubt that the man in the picture is very much alive.
    • ISBN:
      1683313917
      9781683313915
    • Accession Number:
      ocn975113449
      975113449
    • Accession Number:
      fay.547848
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      EARLY, H. Heaven’s crooked finger : an Earl Marcus mystery. First edition. [s. l.]: Crooked Lane, 2017. ISBN 1683313917. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.547848. Acesso em: 5 jul. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Early H. Heaven’s Crooked Finger : An Earl Marcus Mystery. First edition. Crooked Lane; 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.547848. Accessed July 5, 2020.
    • AMA11:
      Early H. Heaven’s Crooked Finger : An Earl Marcus Mystery. First edition. Crooked Lane; 2017. Accessed July 5, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.547848
    • APA:
      Early, H. (2017). Heaven’s crooked finger : an Earl Marcus mystery (First edition.). Crooked Lane.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Early, Hank. 2017. Heaven’s Crooked Finger : An Earl Marcus Mystery. First edition. Earl Marcus Mystery. Crooked Lane. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.547848.
    • Harvard:
      Early, H. (2017) Heaven’s crooked finger : an Earl Marcus mystery. First edition. Crooked Lane (Earl Marcus mystery). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.547848 (Accessed: 5 July 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Early, H 2017, Heaven’s crooked finger : an Earl Marcus mystery, First edition., Earl Marcus mystery, Crooked Lane, viewed 5 July 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Early, Hank. Heaven’s Crooked Finger : An Earl Marcus Mystery. First edition., Crooked Lane, 2017. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.547848.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Early, Hank. Heaven’s Crooked Finger : An Earl Marcus Mystery. First edition. Earl Marcus Mystery. Crooked Lane, 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.547848.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Early H. Heaven’s crooked finger : an Earl Marcus mystery [Internet]. First edition. Crooked Lane; 2017 [cited 2020 Jul 5]. (Earl Marcus mystery). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.547848

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2017 October #1

Very little would make Earl Marcus return home to rural Georgia after three decades. Not his father's recent funeral or making peace with his brother, Lester. But when Granny Lacey, the black midwife who took him in as a teenager, is terminally ill, Earl leaves his detective business in Charlotte for what he envisions as a short trip. He's also received a letter suggesting that his father, the snake-handling founder of the Church of the Holy Flame, isn't really dead but has "ascended." When he was 17, Earl's father handed him a copperhead; the snake bit him, leaving him unconscious and unaided for five days, with a scar and "the sight." A subsequent tragedy involving Maggie Shaw, the girl Lester loved but who chose Earl instead, left him disgraced and hating his father. That tragedy, it turns out, still simmers, and some have lethal plans for Earl upon his return. His only allies are a dog, a blind man, and Deputy Sheriff Mary Hawkins, Granny Lacey's granddaughter, who stands up to the corruption around her. Early's debut is a skillfully crafted southern gothic page-turner. Ophidiophobes, beware. Copyright 2017 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2017 October #1

Earl Marcus, long troubled by painful memories of his childhood in the Georgia mountains and terrors invoked by his father's fundamentalist church, thought he had escaped his fearsome past until a photo of his dead father, RJ, looking quite alive, is sent to him. Faithful followers of the Church of the Holy Flame insist that RJ has risen to live in a powerful and secret holy place in the mountains. Rumors of missing girls reappearing with strange marks on their skin and tales of an eerie place of power draw the reluctant Earl into danger as he tries to uncover the past and free himself from his hellish childhood. VERDICT This gritty and riveting debut combines elements of a classic Southern gothic tale, enhanced by distinct pacing, a redolent sense of place, and striking characters. The mystery is suspenseful and action packed. Fans of James Lee Burke and John Hart will want to take note.—ACT

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2017 September #1

Earl Marcus, the narrator of Early's highly atmospheric debut and series launch, grew up in the North Georgia mountains, where his father, Ronald Jackson Marcus, the preacher at the Church of the Holy Flame, encouraged snake handling. As a teen, Earl nearly died after he was bitten by a cottonmouth and his father "refused to take me to a hospital and had instead left it to God to decide my fate." Earl left home and now, years later, works as a PI in Charlotte, N.C. A month after a body identified as Roland's is found in the woods, Earl gets a letter from Bryant McCauley, one of his father's most fervent supporters, with a photo suggesting that Ronald is still alive. Earl reluctantly returns to his birthplace, where, over much opposition, he seeks McCauley, who's disappeared, and his elusive father. Earl also gets on the trail of some missing teenage girls. Readers with a taste for raw, intense mysteries will be rewarded. Agent: Alec Shane, Writers House. (Nov.)

Copyright 2017 Publisher Weekly.