The legacy / Yrsa Sigurðardóttir ; translated from the Icelandic by Victoria Cribb.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First U.S. edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: The murder was meant as a punishment - but what sin could justify the method? The only person who might have answers is the victim's seven-year-old daughter, who was found hiding in the room where her mother died. And she's not talking. Newly promoted, out of his depth, Detective Huldar turns to Freyja and the Children's House for their expertise with traumatized young people. Freyja, who distrusts the police in general and Huldar in particular, isn't best pleased. But she's determined to keep little Margret safe. It may prove tricky. The killer is leaving them strange clues: warnings in text messages, sums scribbled on bits of paper, numbers broadcast on the radio. He's telling a dark and secret story - but how can they crack the code? And if they do, will they be next?
    • Notes:
      First published in Iceland under the title DNA by Verold Publishing, 2014. English translation copyright 2015, published in Great Britain by Hodder & Stoughton, an Hachette UK company.
      Translated from the Icelandic.
    • Other Titles:
      DNA. English
    • ISBN:
      9781250136268
      1250136261
    • Accession Number:
      2017041608
    • Accession Number:
      ocn983823854
      983823854
    • Accession Number:
      fay.559677
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      YRSA SIGURÐARDÓTTIR; CRIBB, V. The legacy. First U.S. edition. [s. l.]: Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press, 2018. ISBN 9781250136268. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559677. Acesso em: 19 fev. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, Cribb V. The Legacy. First U.S. edition. Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press; 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559677. Accessed February 19, 2020.
    • APA:
      Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, & Cribb, V. (2018). The legacy (First U.S. edition.). Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, and Victoria Cribb. 2018. The Legacy. First U.S. edition. Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559677.
    • Harvard:
      Yrsa Sigurðardóttir and Cribb, V. (2018) The legacy. First U.S. edition. Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559677 (Accessed: 19 February 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Yrsa Sigurðardóttir & Cribb, V 2018, The legacy, First U.S. edition., Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press, viewed 19 February 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, and Victoria Cribb. The Legacy. First U.S. edition., Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559677.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, and Victoria Cribb. The Legacy. First U.S. edition. Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press, 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559677.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Yrsa Sigurðardóttir, Cribb V. The legacy [Internet]. First U.S. edition. Thomas Dunne Book for Minotaur Books, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press; 2018 [cited 2020 Feb 19]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559677

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 January #1

*Starred Review* In Reykjavik, seven-year-old Margrét witnesses her mother's murder, and, Freyja, head psychologist at the Children's House, agrees to try coaxing details from her. It's always a challenge to secure reliable information from traumatized children under the pressure of detectives pushing for leads, and matters are complicated further when Freyja recognizes the lead detective, Huldar, as a recent hook-up who lied about his identity, making their collaboration decidedly barbed. Huldar kicks himself for souring an important ally, especially on a case that has begun looking like a career-ender. The only evidence in Elísa Bjarnadóttir's murder is Margrét's somewhat surreal description of the killer and her claims that he told Elísa he was after revenge. Huldar is convinced that the case will make or break on Margrét's memories, and he places her in protective custody with reluctant Freyja as the killer hunts his loose end. When elderly widow Ástrós Einerdóttir is murdered with the killer's bizarre signature, Huldar's team struggles to find the victims' connections. Meanwhile, Karl, an unsuspecting shortwave-radio operator, has figured out that the numbers broadcast on a coded channel he's discovered are identification numbers: his, Elísa's, and Ástrós'. This complex, character-driven procedural, the first in a new series from Sigurdardóttir, whose recent efforts have been supernatural-tinged thrillers, is powerfully rooted in buried secrets of childhood trauma. Recommended for fans of Tana French and Camilla Läckberg. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

PW Reviews 2017 December #3

This relentlessly paced series launch from Sigurdardottir (The Undesired) is as stark and horrifying as any of the ancient Icelandic sagas. In 1987, three orphaned siblings fall victim to bureaucratic exigency: the sister, because she is more desirable to potential adoptive parents, is separated from her two older brothers. Flash forward to 2015, when an intruder slips into the Reykjavík home of Elisa, a young mother, while her husband is away and brutally murders her. Huldar, a police detective shakily directing his first homicide investigation, joins forces with Freyja, a psychologist specializing in the care of traumatized children. Margrét, Elisa's unhappy eldest child who was cowering under the bed where her mother was killed, gradually reveals clues to the killer's identity. Meanwhile, Karl, a reclusive loner, untangles clues he hears on his ham radio. Sigurdardottir's trademark sly ironies, often directed at official fumbling, can be downright ghoulish. Others are deliciously hilarious: Huldar and Freyja, pulled together for the case, realize they had a "well-oiled" one-night stand a little earlier. Each character is brilliantly conceived. Few readers will be able to put down this powerful tale of revenge. (Feb.)

Copyright 2017 Publishers Weekly.