Chicago : a novel / David Mamet.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "A big-shouldered, big-trouble thriller set in mobbed-up 1920s Chicago--a city where some people knew too much, and where everyone should have known better--by the Oscar-nominated screenwriter of The Untouchables and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright of Glengarry Glen Ross. Mike Hodge--veteran of the Great War, big shot of the Chicago Tribune, medium fry--probably shouldn't have fallen in love with Annie Walsh. Then, again, maybe the man who killed Annie Walsh have known better than to trifle with Mike Hodge. In Chicago, David Mamet has created a bracing, kaleidoscopic page-turner that roars through the Windy City's underground on its way to a thunderclap of a conclusion. Here is not only his first novel in more than two decades, but the book he has been building to for his whole career. Mixing some of his most brilliant fictional creations with actual figures of the era, suffused with trademark "Mamet Speak," richness of voice, pace, and brio, and exploring--as no other writer can--questions of honor, deceit, revenge, and devotion, Chicago is that rarest of literary creations: a book that combines spectacular elegance of craft with a kinetic wallop as fierce as the February wind gusting off Lake Michigan"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9780062797193 (hardback)
      0062797190 (hardback)
    • Accession Number:
      2017044007
    • Accession Number:
      on1023591128
      1023591128
    • Accession Number:
      fay.559785
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      MAMET, D. Chicago : a novel. First edition. [s. l.]: Custom House, 2018. ISBN 9780062797193. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559785. Acesso em: 4 jun. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Mamet D. Chicago : A Novel. First edition. Custom House; 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559785. Accessed June 4, 2020.
    • APA:
      Mamet, D. (2018). Chicago : a novel (First edition.). Custom House.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Mamet, David. 2018. Chicago : A Novel. First edition. Custom House. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559785.
    • Harvard:
      Mamet, D. (2018) Chicago : a novel. First edition. Custom House. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559785 (Accessed: 4 June 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Mamet, D 2018, Chicago : a novel, First edition., Custom House, viewed 4 June 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Mamet, David. Chicago : A Novel. First edition., Custom House, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559785.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Mamet, David. Chicago : A Novel. First edition. Custom House, 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559785.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Mamet D. Chicago : a novel [Internet]. First edition. Custom House; 2018 [cited 2020 Jun 4]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.559785

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 January #1

*Starred Review* Acclaimed playwright (Glengarry Glen Ross) and screenwriter (The Untouchables) Mamet unpacks his literary arsenal in his first novel in two decades. Tribune reporter Mike Hodges is tracking a story involving the IRA and the trafficking of Thompson submachine guns in Capone-era Chicago when he attends the funeral of a recently gunned-down businessman and a clue leads him to a local florist. Mike becomes smitten with the florist's daughter, Annie, and begins a covert courtship shielded from the disapproving eyes of her strict Catholic family. When Annie is shot and killed in Mike's apartment, he assumes he is to blame. The first rule of the newsroom, Mamet reminds us, is "Never assume." Mamet offers a master class on dialogue as the witty repartee and newsroom banter mimic the syncopated pop of the infamous tommy gun while adding rich visual texture. The prose is economical yet lustrous, perfectly capturing a time when facility with language was prized. In brilliantly staged vignettes, reporters and cops share stories peppered with humorous anecdotes about unfortunate souls. As Hodges unravels the mystery surrounding Annie's death, leading him deeper into the underbelly of greed and power, his journey offers subtle commentary on class, religion, race, and politics. For readers of Elmore Leonard and Dennis Lehane.HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Mamet is a magnet, and this thriller set in his hometown, Chicago, will be robustly promoted on all media fronts. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2017 September #1

Mamet is a Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright and an Oscar-nominated screenwriter, but this is his first novel in more than 20 years. In 1920s Chicago, where mob rule prevails, World War I veteran Mike Hodge works at the Chicago Tribune and falls hard for Annie Walsh. Then she's murdered, and he's out to get those responsible. Al Capone shows up for real, and the language is classic Mamet. With a 150,000-copy first printing.

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

LJ Reviews 2018 February #1

In his first novel in more than two decades, legendary playwright Mamet (Glengarry Glen Ross) picks up where his Oscar-nominated screenplay for The Untouchables left off, with a panoramic portrait of the Chicago underworld during Prohibition. Mike Hodge, veteran of the Great War, is a 30-year-old newspaperman at the Tribune, working with his partner Parlow to find out who murdered mobbed-up restaurateur Jackie Weiss and courting the sweet Irish lass at the local floral shop, Annie Walsh. But when his beloved is killed in a post-coital ambush, Mike has more reason than professional curiosity to uncover the truth. The story is fast-paced and violent but often difficult to latch onto because of Mamet's infamously dense and jagged dialog, which is on ample display throughout. Like the late novelist George V. Higgins, Mamet prefers to let his characters tell the story with a minimum of omniscient narration, trusting the reader to work out the plot through the lies and banter. VERDICT A hard-edged, though elusive return to form from the Pulitzer Prize winner. [See Prepub Alert, 8/14/17.]—Michael Pucci, South Orange P.L., NJ

Copyright 2018 Library Journal.