The darkling bride : a novel / Laura Andersen.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "Three generations of Irish nobles face their family secrets in this spellbinding novel from the award-winning author of the Boleyn King trilogy. The Gallagher family has called Deeprath Castle home for seven hundred years. Nestled in the Wicklow Mountains of Ireland, the estate is now slated to become a public trust, and book lover and scholar Carragh Ryan is hired to take inventory of its historic library. But after meeting Aidan, the current Viscount Gallagher, and his enigmatic family, Carragh knows that her task will be more challenging than she'd thought. Two decades before, Aidan's parents died violently at Deeprath. The case, which was never closed, has recently been taken up by a new detective determined to find the truth. The couple's unusual deaths harken back a century, when twenty-three-year-old Lady Jenny Gallagher also died at Deeprath under mysterious circumstances, leaving behind an infant son and her husband, a renowned writer who never published again. These incidents only fueled fantastical theories about the Darkling Bride, a local legend of a sultry and dangerous woman from long ago whose wrath continues to haunt the castle. The past catches up to the present, and odd clues in the house soon have Carragh wondering if there are unseen forces stalking the Gallagher family. As secrets emerge from the shadows and Carragh gets closer to answers--and to Aidan--could she be the Darkling Bride's next victim? Advance praise for The Darkling Bride "A gorgeous concoction of Victorian gothic, mystery, and romance, all with an unforgettable library, The Darkling Bride is the perfect book to curl up with in front of a roaring fire. Laura Andersen has created a masterpiece."--Tasha Alexander,New York Times bestselling author of the Lady Emily Mysteries "Who can say no to an abandoned castle, a mysterious library, a renowned Victorian novelist, a brooding viscount, and a mystery that goes back several generations? Andersen captures the gothic tone perfectly, drawing you into the secrets of Deeprath Castle. Perfect for reading on a rainy day with a strong cup of Irish tea!"--Lauren Willig, New York Times bestselling author of That Summer"-- Provided by publisher.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "In 1883, the Lady Jenny Gallagher, age 23, died suddenly at her home of Deeprath Castle, deep in the Irish countryside. Though her death was ruled an accident, the precise circumstances are unknown. In 1992, Cillian Gallagher and his beautiful wife Lily were found dead within the castle walls. A suicide/murder? Or two murders? In 2015, Carragh Ryan is offered the job of taking an inventory of the vast library at Deeprath Castle. A great lover of books, Carragh can't resist the opportunity to gain access to the historic collection. But what she finds at the castle--and in its enigmatic heir, Aidan Gallagher--leads Carragh ever deeper into the heart of an ancient and sinister family secret"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9780425286432
      0425286436
    • Accession Number:
      2018001880
    • Accession Number:
      ocn995097405
      995097405
    • Accession Number:
      fay.561338
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      ANDERSEN, L. The darkling bride : a novel. [s.l.] : Ballantine Books, 2018. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 22 out. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Andersen L. The Darkling Bride : A Novel. Ballantine Books; 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.561338. Accessed October 22, 2019.
    • APA:
      Andersen, L. (2018). The darkling bride : a novel. Ballantine Books. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.561338
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Andersen, Laura. 2018. The Darkling Bride : A Novel. Ballantine Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.561338.
    • Harvard:
      Andersen, L. (2018) The darkling bride : a novel. Ballantine Books. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.561338 (Accessed: 22 October 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Andersen, L 2018, The darkling bride : a novel, Ballantine Books, viewed 22 October 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Andersen, Laura. The Darkling Bride : A Novel. Ballantine Books, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.561338.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Andersen, Laura. The Darkling Bride : A Novel. Ballantine Books, 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.561338.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Andersen L. The darkling bride : a novel [Internet]. Ballantine Books; 2018 [cited 2019 Oct 22]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.561338

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 March #1

Before Deerprath Castle, the ancestral home of the Gallaghers, is turned over to the Irish National Trust, Carragh Ryan arrives to catalog the contents of the library. She has taken the job because of the castle's connection with Evan Chase, author of gothic tales, who, having come to Deerprath to research a legend called the Darkling Bride, married the possibly mad, and soon dead, Jenny Gallagher back in the 1880s. Also converging on the castle in the present day are Aidan, the sexy Viscount Gallagher, taking a break from his job at Scotland Yard in order to retrieve some family papers from the library, and DI Sibéal McKenna, who has been tasked with reinvestigating the unsolved murder, or murder-suicide, of Aidan's parents when he was a child. As Carragh delves deeper into questions surrounding the castle's unexplained deaths, she also unearths secrets that some Gallaghers would prefer stay buried. The novel is overfurnished with plot points, but Andersen, author of the popular Boleyn trilogy (starting with The Boleyn King, 2013), provides a well-realized setting and plenty of puzzles to keep readers engaged. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2018 January #1

Deeprath Castle, located deep in the Irish countryside, has belonged to the Gallagher family since the Middle Ages. Shrouded in fog and mystery, the castle has been the site of numerous tragedies through the generations, including two apparent suicides and a brutal murder. When the current lord of the manor, Aidan Gallagher, decides to donate the property to the National Trust, his stern-faced aunt hires Carragh Ryan, a likable, curious bookworm, to catalog Deeprath's extensive library. This series of events sets off an unexpected journey through the past, threaded with exceptional skill through historical and contemporary story lines and multiple points of view, including a determined and pragmatic female detective. Andersen is best known for her alternate Tudor history novels; this is her first foray into gothic suspense. VERDICT Eloquent, atmospheric, and suspenseful, this is the perfect read for fans of Kate Morton and Lucinda Riley.—Erin Entrada Kelly, Philadelphia

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2018 February #3

Atmosphere doesn't come any more dark and dank than in this gothic novel from Andersen (The Boleyn King) that takes place in a Scottish castle riddled with secrets and haunted by ghosts. Hired to catalog the library at Deeprath Castle, Carragh Ryan, a Chinese-American academic, early on proclaims, "I'm here for the library. Not for men, and not for ghosts." But her work will involve her with both, the former in the person of the handsome, brooding Viscount Aidan Gallagher, a London art cop who inherited his title and the castle 23 years ago after the mysterious deaths of his parents. The ghosts arrive via a haunted local folktale, that of the Darkling Bride. In a parallel narrative set in 1879, English novelist Evan Chase comes to Deeprath Castle pursuing the legend and falls in love with its young mistress, Jenny Gallagher, who meets an untimely death. In the present, Carragh and Aidan team up to get to the bottom of all three deaths and their ties to the legend of the Darkling Bride. Andersen (The Boleyn King) has plenty of surprises up her sleeve to keep the reader entertained on the way to a suspenseful ending, including hypnosis, a changeling, and—of course—ghosts. (Apr.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.