Scot free : the lighter side of the dark underbelly of the California dream / Catriona McPherson.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Lexy Campbell fell in love and left her native Scotland for a golden life in California--hitched to a hunk, building her marriage counseling practice, living the dream. Six months later she's divorced, broke, and headed home. There's just one last thing. Lexy's only client--sweet little old Mrs. Bombarro--is in jail for murdering her husband with a fireworks rocket. Lexy knows the cops have got it wrong; all she needs is a few days to prove it and somewhere cheap to sleep at night. But checking into the Last Ditch Motel brings an unexpected slice of life and a whole world of trouble.
    • ISBN:
      9780738753867
      0738753866
    • Accession Number:
      2017045496
    • Accession Number:
      ocn988277288
      988277288
    • Accession Number:
      fay.565552
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      MCPHERSON, C. Scot free : the lighter side of the dark underbelly of the California dream. [s.l.] : Midnight Ink, 2018. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 22 out. 2019.
    • AMA:
      McPherson C. Scot Free : The Lighter Side of the Dark Underbelly of the California Dream. Midnight Ink; 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.565552. Accessed October 22, 2019.
    • APA:
      McPherson, C. (2018). Scot free : the lighter side of the dark underbelly of the California dream. Midnight Ink. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.565552
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      McPherson, Catriona. 2018. Scot Free : The Lighter Side of the Dark Underbelly of the California Dream. A Last Ditch Mystery: [Bk. 1]. Midnight Ink. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.565552.
    • Harvard:
      McPherson, C. (2018) Scot free : the lighter side of the dark underbelly of the California dream. Midnight Ink (A Last Ditch mystery: [bk. 1]). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.565552 (Accessed: 22 October 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      McPherson, C 2018, Scot free : the lighter side of the dark underbelly of the California dream, A Last Ditch mystery: [bk. 1], Midnight Ink, viewed 22 October 2019, .
    • MLA:
      McPherson, Catriona. Scot Free : The Lighter Side of the Dark Underbelly of the California Dream. Midnight Ink, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.565552.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      McPherson, Catriona. Scot Free : The Lighter Side of the Dark Underbelly of the California Dream. A Last Ditch Mystery: [Bk. 1]. Midnight Ink, 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.565552.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      McPherson C. Scot free : the lighter side of the dark underbelly of the California dream [Internet]. Midnight Ink; 2018 [cited 2019 Oct 22]. (A Last Ditch mystery: [bk. 1]). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.565552

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 February #2

After ending her ill-conceived marriage to a philandering doctor, Lexy Campbell is all set to leave Cuento, California, for her native Scotland. She's just waiting for her marriage-counseling clients, Mr. and Mrs. Bombarro, to pop in for their last session when the police come knocking and announce that Mrs. Bombarro has been arrested for murdering Mr. Bombarro with stock from their pyrotechnics empire. Lexy is adamant that sweet Visalia Bombarro is no murderer. Plus, she's just helped the octogenarian lovebirds reconcile and knows they planned to make a fresh start in Sicily. Lexy's efforts to clear Visalia's name make for a madcap romp, as she and her insect-phobic sidekick, Todd, run up against hostile detectives, a vermin-planting vandal, and the Bombarros' niece Sparky and her hulking Russian bodyguards. McPherson, who has earned acclaim for her dark thrillers and Dandy Gilver period cozies, blends jaunty pacing, a comically rendered Southern California setting, and quirky characters in this series starter. A sure bet for fans of Janet Evanovich and Sarah Strohmeyer. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2018 March #1

In an impulsive moment, Lexy Campbell left her native Scotland, married her American dentist boyfriend, and started her marriage counseling practice in California. Six months later, the marriage has fallen apart, and Lexy has one more final session with her clients, the Bombaros, before she returns to Scotland. But Lexy's clients don't show. Mr. Bombaro is in the morgue, and his wife is in jail, suspected of killing him. Lexy can't let that sweet old lady take the rap, so she finds a room down the street at the Last Ditch Motel. An invasion of bugs, an influx of Mrs. Bombaro's relatives, and a suspicious cop can't keep Lexy and her new friends from the motel from investigating. VERDICT The award-winning author of the historical "Dandy Gilver" mysteries launches a new contemporary series with a bang. Her character-driven romp is sparked by the larger-than-life, quirky residents of the Last Ditch Motel, putting this laugh-out-loud whodunit on a par with the early Janet Evanovich.—Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN

Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2018 February #4

Homeless and broke after leaving her cheating American husband, Scottish marriage counselor Lexy Campbell finds her life in a mess, but it's a delightful mess, which aptly describes this series launch from McPherson (House. Tree. Person.). Lexy intended to leave California for Edinburgh immediately after her last therapy session with Clovis and Visalia Bombaro, the octogenarian owners of the biggest fireworks company west of the Mississippi, who were calling it quits after decades together. But the police show up instead to tell Lexy that Clovis is dead, killed by a firework explosion in a most unfortunate bodily orifice, and Visalia is their prime suspect. Lexy's return home is put on hold while she tries to prove that "Mizz Vi" is innocent with the dubious help of several eccentric friends, who intruded into her life when Lexy took up temporary residence at the Lassditch Motel. Lexy's snide observations about the California lifestyle can't cover up her affection for her friends, who are as warm-hearted as they are weird. Readers will look forward to Lexy's further adventures. Agent: Lisa Moylett, Coombs Moylett Literary Agency. (Apr.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.