The echo killing / Christi Daugherty.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: When a murder echoing a fifteen-year-old cold case rocks the Southern town of Savannah, crime reporter Harper McClain risks everything to find the identity of this calculated killer.--from dust jacket.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Harper McClain's mother was brutally murdered in their home when Harper was twelve; the killer was never found. Now one of the best crime reporters in the state of Georgia, her latest investigation takes her to the scene of a homicide where the details are hauntingly familiar: a female victim naked and stabbed multiple times in the kitchen, and no traces of any evidence pointing towards a suspect. Is this her chance to find the murderer who's eluded justice for fifteen years-- or did she just step into a killer's cross-hairs?
    • ISBN:
      9781250148841
      1250148847
    • Accession Number:
      2017044453
    • Accession Number:
      ocn983823886
      983823886
    • Accession Number:
      fay.568500
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      DAUGHERTY, C. The echo killing. [s.l.] : Minotaur Books, 2018. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 14 nov. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Daugherty C. The Echo Killing. Minotaur Books; 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.568500. Accessed November 14, 2019.
    • APA:
      Daugherty, C. (2018). The echo killing. Minotaur Books. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.568500
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Daugherty, Christi. 2018. The Echo Killing. Minotaur Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.568500.
    • Harvard:
      Daugherty, C. (2018) The echo killing. Minotaur Books. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.568500 (Accessed: 14 November 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Daugherty, C 2018, The echo killing, Minotaur Books, viewed 14 November 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Daugherty, Christi. The Echo Killing. Minotaur Books, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.568500.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Daugherty, Christi. The Echo Killing. Minotaur Books, 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.568500.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Daugherty C. The echo killing [Internet]. Minotaur Books; 2018 [cited 2019 Nov 14]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.568500

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 February #1

Journalist Harper McClain has her hands full trying to make it at a Savannah newspaper that always risks being scooped by the local TV news. She doesn't need the complication of reporting a murder that bears a suspicious resemblance to her mother's killing 15 years before, especially since she's still putting her life together after finding her mother's body. Over the years, the police officer who helped Harper after her mother's death became a champion and a confidant, and he and her boss at the paper are incensed when she continues to investigate the new crime after she has been ordered to drop it. Every mystery reader knows there's no investigator like one who's been ordered off the case, but the clichés end there as Daugherty offers in-depth characterization, realistic dialogue, and a feisty romance subplot in a story that will absorb procedural aficionados until its surprising ending. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2017 October #1

Former crime reporter Daugherty, who writes the YA thriller series "Night School" under the name CJ Daugherty, turns out her first adult novel. Heroine Harper McClain is also a crime reporter, driven to cover the dark underbelly of beautiful Savannah by her mother's unsolved murder when Harper was 12. Now she's investigating a murder that looks uncannily like her mother's—a woman has been stabbed multiple times and left naked in her kitchen, with no trace of evidence—and Harper is determined to find the killer.

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

LJ Reviews 2018 February #1

Fifteen years ago 12-year-old Harper McClain found her mother's bloody body in their kitchen. The murder was never solved but it left an imprint on every aspect of Harper's life, even her choice of career as a crime reporter in Savannah, GA. Now her reporting takes her to another all-too-familiar crime scene of a woman's bloodied body discovered by her traumatized 12-year-old daughter. It brings back memories Harper has tried to forget, and even though the cops insist it's not the same killer, her gut feelings tell her she needs to investigate on her own. With an exact attention to detail and dialog, Daugherty sets her sinister murder stage and introduces her complex players. Harper's nonapologetic tenacious curiosity draws readers into the plot and will leave them hungry for her next big story. VERDICT The author of the best-selling YA "Night School" series marks her adult fiction debut with a spine-tingling, gritty mystery. Fans of Hank Phillippi Ryan and Michael Connelly will thoroughly enjoy this new voice in crime fiction.—Debbie Haupt, St. Charles City-Cty. Lib. Dist., St Peters, MO

Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2018 January #2

Newspaper reporter Harper McClain, the narrator of YA author Daugherty's uneven adult debut, peers through a window at a crime scene on a quiet Savannah, Ga., street and spies single mother Marie Whitney lying naked on her kitchen floor, covered in stab wounds. The tableau is identical to what Harper saw 15 years earlier, when she came home from school to find her own mother dead. The police claim that it's unlikely the same person committed both murders, but Harper remains convinced. As the Whitney case starts to cool, Harper becomes increasingly desperate and reckless, breaking rules, burning bridges, and endangering her own life in an attempt to link the two women and catch their killer. What begins as an overwritten, overwrought crime novel with a laughably hard-bitten protagonist relaxes into an engrossing, multifaceted mystery with snappy dialogue, a well-drawn cast of characters, and a sizzling romantic subplot. The book ends with a clever plot twist that paves the way for a sequel. Readers will eagerly await Harper's further adventures. Agent: Madeleine Milburn, Madeleine Milburn Literary (U.K.). (Mar.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.