Island of the Sequined Love Nun [electronic resource] : Moore, Christopher.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      Unabridged.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Take a wonderfully crazed excursion into the demented heart of a tropical paradise—a world of cargo cults, cannibals, mad scientists, ninjas, and talking fruit bats. Our bumbling hero is Tucker Case, a hopeless geek trapped in a cool guy's body, who makes a living as a pilot for the Mary Jean Cosmetics Corporation. But when he demolishes his boss's pink plane during a drunken airborne liaison, Tuck must run for his life from Mary Jean's goons. Now there's only one employment opportunity left for him: piloting shady secret missions for an unscrupulous medical missionary and a sexy blond high priestess on the remotest of Micronesian hells. Here is a brazen, ingenious, irreverent, and wickedly funny novel from a modern master of the outrageous.
    • Notes:
      Cast: Wyman, Oliver
    • Notes:
      Audio book.
      Electronic reproduction. [S.l.] HarperCollins 2009 Available via World Wide Web.
      Format: MP3
      Requires: cloudLibrary (file size: 321.0 MB)
    • ISBN:
      9780061902550
    • Accession Number:
      fay.581550
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      MOORE, C. Island of the Sequined Love Nun. [electronic resource] : Unabridged. [s. l.]: HarperCollins, 2009. ISBN 9780061902550. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.581550. Acesso em: 26 maio. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Moore C. Island of the Sequined Love Nun. [Electronic Resource] : Unabridged. HarperCollins; 2009. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.581550. Accessed May 26, 2020.
    • APA:
      Moore, C. (2009). Island of the Sequined Love Nun. [electronic resource] : (Unabridged.). HarperCollins.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Moore, Christopher. 2009. Island of the Sequined Love Nun. [Electronic Resource] : Unabridged. HarperCollins. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.581550.
    • Harvard:
      Moore, C. (2009) Island of the Sequined Love Nun. [electronic resource] : Unabridged. HarperCollins. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.581550 (Accessed: 26 May 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Moore, C 2009, Island of the Sequined Love Nun. [electronic resource] :, Unabridged., HarperCollins, viewed 26 May 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Moore, Christopher. Island of the Sequined Love Nun. [Electronic Resource] : Unabridged., HarperCollins, 2009. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.581550.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Moore, Christopher. Island of the Sequined Love Nun. [Electronic Resource] : Unabridged. HarperCollins, 2009. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.581550.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Moore C. Island of the Sequined Love Nun. [electronic resource] : [Internet]. Unabridged. HarperCollins; 2009 [cited 2020 May 26]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.581550

Reviews

Booklist Monthly Selections - #1 August 1997

Reminiscent of the work of the king of anarchic comedy, Mark Leyner (Et Tu, Babe, 1992), Moore's fourth novel features the redemption of reprobate pilot Tucker Case. Grounded for crashing the corporate pink jet owned by Mary Jean Cosmetics while fulfilling the sexual fantasy of a call girl, Tucker is forced to take a job as a pilot for a medical missionary on a remote Micronesian island. En route, he teams up with a transvestite Filipino navigator and her talking fruit bat before being waylaid by a typhoon and a cranky cannibal. When he finally shows up for his first day of work, Tucker must deal with the shady doctor and his High Priestess wife. With a high-octane plot and a truly original cast of crazies, Moore spins a skillful comic caper that is bolstered by his ditzy logic and hysterical dialogue. ((Reviewed Aug. 1997)) Copyright 2000 Booklist Reviews

LJ Reviews 1997 September

Here's a recipe for one very funny book: Take Tucker Case, a disgraced airline pilot whose unseemly in-flight behavior has destroyed his career (along with a pink Lear jet) and damaged what's politely called his manhood. Add Kimi, a Filipino transvestite navigator, and a talking fruit bat named Roberto and send the three off in a typhoon to an island in Micronesia (its inhabitants only a generation away from cannibalism) where dastardly deeds are being done by a greedy medical missionary and his beautiful but amoral wife. Toss in a dead World War II aviator who plays cards in heaven with a Jewish carpenter. Stir well. Read fast. Fans of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams will especially enjoy Moore's (Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story, LJ 8/95) peculiar take on the world. Recommended for general fiction collections. Nancy Pearl, Washington Ctr. for the Book, Seattle Copyright 1998 Library Journal Reviews

PW Reviews 1997 July #4

A screwup pilot goes to Micronesia to fly a couple of organ thieves bankrolled by the Japanese in Moore's (Coyote Blue; Bloodsucking Fiends) tiresomely goofy fourth novel. The premise is as complex as it is outlandish: Tucker "Tuck" Case runs afoul of his firebrand boss, cosmetics magnate Mary Jean (read Mary Kay) Dobbins when, loaded on gin-and-tonics and in flagrante with a hooker, he crashes the company Gulfstream (and in the process wounds himself à la Jake Barnes). Fleeing a civil suit, Tuck takes a job with a "missionary" couple on a tiny Micronesian island where the natives worship the memory of an American WWII bomber pilot who once visited their island in his plane, The Sky Priestess, and founded a "cargo cult" revolving around American products. The corrupt missionaries, Dr. Sebastian Curtis and his wife, Beth, have taken over the cult with Beth in the role of the High Priestess in order to maintain a healthy population of unwitting organ donors. Aided by a transvestite Filipino navigator and a talking bat, Tuck overcomes his need to fly (and his infatuation with Beth) to rescue the natives from their exploitative Mr. and Mrs. Kurtz. Moore relies for his comic effects on lamentably old-fashioned types (the ignorant native, the cheesecake sexpot) though, for some reason, he mentions the weight of his female characters more often than their measurements). Despite Moore's indisputable talent for wisecracks and his over-the-top 1940s-style musical-comedy panache, this island fantasy lost somewhere in the neighborhood of Vonnegut, Robbins and Douglas Adams is too complacent for satire and too silly to turn its jokiness into page-turning entertainment. (Aug.) Copyright 1998 Publishers Weekly Reviews