A murder by any name / Suzanne M. Wolfe.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "The court of Elizabeth I is no stranger to plotting and intrigue, but the royal retinue is thrown into chaos when the Queen's youngest and sweetest lady-in-waiting is murdered, her body left on the high altar of the Chapel Royal in Whitehall Palace. Solving the murder will require the cunning and savvy possessed by only one man. Enter Nicholas Holt, younger brother of the Earl of Blackwell--spy, rake, and owner of the infamous Black Sheep tavern in the seedy district of Bankside. Nick quickly learns that working for the Queen is a mixed blessing. Elizabeth--salty-tongued, vain, and fiercely intelligent--can, with a glance, either reward Nick with a purse of gold or have his head forcibly removed. When a second lady-in-waiting is slain at Whitehall, the court once again reels with shock and dismay. On the trail of a diabolical killer, Nick and his faithful sidekick--an enormous Irish Wolfhound named Hector--are treading on treacherous ground, and only the killer's head on a platter can keep them in the Queen's good graces"--Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9781683317142
      1683317149
    • Accession Number:
      on1053625881
      1053625881
    • Accession Number:
      fay.584109
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      WOLFE, S. M. A murder by any name. [s.l.] : Crooked Lane, 2018. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 17 out. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Wolfe SM. A Murder by Any Name. Crooked Lane; 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.584109. Accessed October 17, 2019.
    • APA:
      Wolfe, S. M. (2018). A murder by any name. Crooked Lane. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.584109
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Wolfe, Suzanne M. 2018. A Murder by Any Name. Elizabethan Spy Mystery. Crooked Lane. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.584109.
    • Harvard:
      Wolfe, S. M. (2018) A murder by any name. Crooked Lane (Elizabethan spy mystery). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.584109 (Accessed: 17 October 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Wolfe, SM 2018, A murder by any name, Elizabethan spy mystery, Crooked Lane, viewed 17 October 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Wolfe, Suzanne M. A Murder by Any Name. Crooked Lane, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.584109.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Wolfe, Suzanne M. A Murder by Any Name. Elizabethan Spy Mystery. Crooked Lane, 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.584109.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Wolfe SM. A murder by any name [Internet]. Crooked Lane; 2018 [cited 2019 Oct 17]. (Elizabethan spy mystery). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.584109

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 September #2

Wolfe makes her crime-fiction debut with this captivating Elizabethan mystery. Nicholas Holt, younger brother of the Earl of Blackwell, is asked by the queen herself to solve the murder of one of her ladies-in-waiting. People are blaming the Catholics, saying this was a message to the Protestant queen. Nick uses the skills he's picked up as a spy, as well as his brothel and bar connections, to learn more about Her Majesty's court and who had access and motive to kill the girl. Wolfe is an award-winning Christian fiction author, which may prompt some of her fans to be surprised by earthy references to the Virgin Queen, but such references are played for humor, not titillation. Fans of Fiona Buckley's Ursula Blanchard and Kathy Lynn Emerson's Rosamond Jaffrey will be delighted to add Wolfe to their reading lists. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

PW Reviews 2018 August #4

The stabbing murder of Cecily Carew, a young lady-in-waiting to Elizabeth I, drives the well-crafted plot of this promising series launch from Wolfe (Unveiling), set in 1585. Nick Holt, who's "lately returned from spying for the queen on the Continent," accompanies the monarch to Whitehall Palace, where Cecily's body lies on a chapel altar. Rumor has it that the murder, a sacrifice of an innocent, was done by the Jews to mock the Eucharist, but the queen is sure that the killer is a member of her court and commands Nick to identify the miscreant and "bring him to me for, by Christ, I will not suffer such a man to live." Contrary to her Gloriana Regina image, Wolfe portrays Elizabeth as a vain, acid-tongued, and frightened woman whose grasp on power is faltering. Abundant details of London daily life shed light on the customs and mores of the time. Some surprising twists lead to a startling conclusion. Fans of Elizabethan historicals will be satisfied, despite the occasional use of such contemporary terms as "body language" and "parent issues." Agent: Carol Mann, Carol Mann Agency. (Oct.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.