Headlong / Cynthia Harrod-Eagles.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First world edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "When one of London's best-known literary agents is found dead in strange circumstances, having fallen headlong from his office window, DCI Slider is under pressure from the Borough Commander to confirm a case of accidental death. But when the evidence points to murder, Slider and his team find themselves uncovering some decidedly scandalous secrets in the suave and successful Ed Wiseman's past. An embittered ex-wife. A discarded mistress. A frustrated would-be author. A disgruntled former employee. Many had reason to hold a grudge against the late lamented literary agent. But who would feel strongly enough to kill him? Any leads in the investigation seem only to result in more questions - not least of which is the identity of the elusive Calliope Hunt. Who is she - and what is her connection to the train of events?"--Publisher's description.
    • ISBN:
      0727888366
      9780727888365
    • Accession Number:
      on1040513975
      1040513975
    • Accession Number:
      fay.595570
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      HARROD-EAGLES, C. Headlong. [s.l.] : Severn House, 2019. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 23 out. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Harrod-Eagles C. Headlong. Severn House; 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.595570. Accessed October 23, 2019.
    • APA:
      Harrod-Eagles, C. (2019). Headlong. Severn House. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.595570
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Harrod-Eagles, Cynthia. 2019. Headlong. A Detective Inspector Slider Mystery. Severn House. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.595570.
    • Harvard:
      Harrod-Eagles, C. (2019) Headlong. Severn House (A Detective Inspector Slider mystery). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.595570 (Accessed: 23 October 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Harrod-Eagles, C 2019, Headlong, A Detective Inspector Slider mystery, Severn House, viewed 23 October 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Harrod-Eagles, Cynthia. Headlong. Severn House, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.595570.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Harrod-Eagles, Cynthia. Headlong. A Detective Inspector Slider Mystery. Severn House, 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.595570.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Harrod-Eagles C. Headlong [Internet]. Severn House; 2019 [cited 2019 Oct 23]. (A Detective Inspector Slider mystery). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.595570

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 December #2

Harrod-Eagles' popular series hero, Detective Chief Inspector Bill Slider, returns in another absorbing police procedural. This one has Slider investigating the death of renowned literary agent Edward Wiseman, whose body is found on a building site next to his home; at first glance, it appears he fell from an open window in his study. Slider's bosses are keen to have the case resolved quickly, but Slider has niggling doubts about the accident explanation. Sure enough, it quickly becomes clear that Wiseman was murdered, leaving it to Slider and his team of detectives to figure out whodunit. While the investigation itself makes for an attention-grabbing read, it's Harrod-Eagles' deftly drawn characters and the sheer likability of Slider and his colleagues that provide the central appeal. As always, Harrod-Eagles salts the narrative with witty repartee, including a wealth of clever puns, all of which help make reading this particular book and the entire series such a treat. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2019 February #1

It's just Det. Insp. Bill Slider's luck that he's called to the scene of a death that interests Commander Carpenter. Carpenter wants Slider's team to call the death an accident and keep it out of the news. But Ed Wiseman was a famous literary agent, and he didn't just fall out of a window into a construction site. "Everyone" loved Ed Wiseman, until Slider's team discovers some angry husbands, a self-proclaimed writer, and a boyfriend who might have wanted him dead. A few women, such as that elusive model whom Carpenter wants kept out of the spotlight, are also possible suspects. This intricately plotted police procedural is filled with puns, wordplay, and cop humor. Slider and his team of believable police detectives are likable in this witty, thoughtful mystery. VERDICT Harrod-Eagles follows Shadow Play with a complex story that requires step-by-step police investigation. The detectives, especially Slider, come to life through the details of their personal and family lives. Fans of Deborah Crombie's "Duncan Kincaid" and "Gemma James" series will be moved by this carefully constructed tale.—Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN

Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2018 December #3

Dialogue sparkling with wit and humor lifts Harrod-Eagles's sterling 21st mystery featuring Det. Insp. Bill Slider (after 2017's Shadow Play). Slider, who balances his idealism with an intimate understanding of the unfairness of life, and Det. Sgt Jim Atherton, who's his police partner but also his "bagman and friend," look into the death of celebrated literary agent Edward Wiseman. It appears that Wiseman tumbled out of the window of his London home/office into the building excavation next door. Slider is met at the site by Cmdr. David Carpenter, who orders him to wrap things up quickly and conclude that the death was accidental in order to spare any embarrassment to the family of his wife's cousin's goddaughter, Calliope Hunt, a 22-year-old model who's a new client of the deceased. However, after an examination of the scene, Slider concludes that Wiseman was murdered. What follows is an immensely enjoyable ride through London and its publishing world in the company of thoroughly relatable characters. Readers will wish for Slider's career to continue for many years to come. (Feb.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.