Paper gods : a novel of money, race, and politics / Goldie Taylor.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "The mayor of Atlanta and a washed-up reporter investigate a series of assassinations, and uncover a conspiracy that reaches into the heart of the city's political machine"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9781250194442
      125019444X
    • Accession Number:
      2018026727
    • Accession Number:
      on1041201527
      1041201527
    • Accession Number:
      fay.596141
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      TAYLOR, G. Paper gods : a novel of money, race, and politics. First edition. [s. l.]: All Points Books, 2018. ISBN 9781250194442. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596141. Acesso em: 25 set. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Taylor G. Paper Gods : A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics. First edition. All Points Books; 2018. Accessed September 25, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596141
    • APA:
      Taylor, G. (2018). Paper gods : a novel of money, race, and politics (First edition.). All Points Books.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Taylor, Goldie. 2018. Paper Gods : A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics. First edition. All Points Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596141.
    • Harvard:
      Taylor, G. (2018) Paper gods : a novel of money, race, and politics. First edition. All Points Books. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596141 (Accessed: 25 September 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Taylor, G 2018, Paper gods : a novel of money, race, and politics, First edition., All Points Books, viewed 25 September 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Taylor, Goldie. Paper Gods : A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics. First edition., All Points Books, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596141.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Taylor, Goldie. Paper Gods : A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics. First edition. All Points Books, 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596141.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Taylor G. Paper gods : a novel of money, race, and politics [Internet]. First edition. All Points Books; 2018 [cited 2020 Sep 25]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596141

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 September #2

Fans of Scandal, Empire, and The Real Housewives of Atlanta will enjoy this juicy thriller about politics in ATL. Atlanta mayor Victoria Dobbs Overstreet has it all and wants more. When her mentor, Congressman Ezra Hawkins, is assassinated in front of her at church, Victoria swiftly moves from grieving friend to fierce protector of the city to potential successor in the U.S. House of Representatives. Of course, other political players want that seat filled by their own allies, and Victoria has to fend off threats from all sides. And she has reporter Hampton Bridges breathing down her neck. Author Taylor is a veteran journalist living in Atlanta who has served as a U.S. marine, campaign strategist, and NBC News contributor. She writes candidly about an Atlanta in which African Americans provide the votes and the white community provides the campaign funding. A political page-turner that's also a dishy look at one of America's "hottest" cities. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

PW Reviews 2018 July #5

Strong characters with very human flaws drive this taut story of political skullduggery from Taylor (The January Girl). When long-serving black Georgia congressman Ezra Hawkins is assassinated in the pulpit of his church, the search begins to find both his replacement and his killer. Atlanta's black mayor, Victoria "Torie" Dodds, is Ezra's protégé and the obvious candidate to succeed him, but the town's white money, represented by a group called the League, has decided that they no longer favor Torie since Ezra let them down on a major transportation bill before Congress. Meanwhile, disgraced white reporter Hampton Bridges investigates the links between Torie and assorted major players, including the League's Virgil Loudermilk, a political kingmaker. The tension rises as the special election for Ezra's seat nears and more people die, including Torie's brother, Chip, who was fired from his job at the mayor's office after Hampton connected him to a drug lord. The only drawback to this crime thriller is that the political misconduct doesn't astonish as much as it might in today's real world of politics. 75,000-copy announced first printing. Agent: Laura Dail, Laura Dail Literary. (Oct.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.