This is what it feels like / Rebecca Barrow.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: This tender story of friendship, music, and ferocious love asks: what will you fight for, if not yourself? You Don't Know Me But I Know You author Rebecca Barrow's next book is perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Emery Lord. Who cares that the prize for the Sun City Originals contest is fifteen grand? Not Dia, that's for sure. Because Dia knows that without a band, she hasn't got a shot at winning. Because ever since Hanna's drinking took over her life, Dia and Jules haven't been in her life. And because ever since Hanna left--well, there hasn't been a band. It used to be the three of them, Dia, Jules, and Hanna, messing around and making music and planning for the future. But that was then, and this is now--and now means a baby, a failed relationship, a stint in rehab, all kinds of off beats that have interrupted the rhythm of their friendship. But like the lyrics of a song you used to play on repeat, there's no forgetting a best friend. And for Dia, Jules, and Hanna, this impossible challenge--to ignore the past, in order to jump start the future--will only become possible if they finally make peace with the girls they once were, and the girls they are finally letting themselves be.
    • ISBN:
      9780062494238
      0062494236
    • Accession Number:
      on1057615161
      1057615161
    • Accession Number:
      fay.596952
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      BARROW, R. This is what it feels like. First edition. [s. l.]: Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018. ISBN 9780062494238. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596952. Acesso em: 4 jun. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Barrow R. This Is What It Feels Like. First edition. Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers; 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596952. Accessed June 4, 2020.
    • APA:
      Barrow, R. (2018). This is what it feels like (First edition.). Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Barrow, Rebecca. 2018. This Is What It Feels Like. First edition. Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596952.
    • Harvard:
      Barrow, R. (2018) This is what it feels like. First edition. Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596952 (Accessed: 4 June 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Barrow, R 2018, This is what it feels like, First edition., Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, viewed 4 June 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Barrow, Rebecca. This Is What It Feels Like. First edition., Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596952.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Barrow, Rebecca. This Is What It Feels Like. First edition. Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596952.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Barrow R. This is what it feels like [Internet]. First edition. Harper Teen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers; 2018 [cited 2020 Jun 4]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.596952

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 November #2

Redemption and healing lie at the heart of this earnest, realistic novel about friendship. Hanna, Dia, and Jules were best friends and bandmates, torn apart in their sophomore year of high school by Hanna's drinking and Dia's impending motherhood. After graduation, the three former friends forge a détente to enter a music competition run by their heroes. Along the way, they work to heal their friendship and move into new phases of their lives that include developing new loves, gaining independence, and letting go of demons. This story covers a lot of territory—grief, heartbreak, coming out, teen motherhood, love, sobriety, and parental relationships—but manages to incorporate all of those issues naturally and without overshadowing the core of the book, which is the friendship between the bandmates. Readers will also appreciate that the band is not just a plot device to create high stakes; the characters care deeply about their music and work hard at their craft. Recommended for teen collections where realistic fiction is popular. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Horn Book Guide Reviews 2019 Spring

During sophomore year, Dia, Hanna, and Jules were best friends and bandmates, yet alcoholism, pregnancy, and a death caused the trio's friendship to fall apart. After graduation, the girls piece back together their friendship to compete in a band talent contest. Chapters alternate among the girls' points of view, showing how each comes into her own in this heart-filled new-adult novel about the value of friendship. Copyright 2019 Horn Book Guide Reviews.