Mouthful of birds : stories / Samanta Schweblin ; translated from the Spanish by Megan McDowell.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First American edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Schweblin's stories have the feel of a sleepless night, where every shadow and bump in the dark take on huge implications; they leave your pulse racing and the line between the real and the strange blurring.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: In the tradition of Raymond Carver and Flannery O'Connor, Schweblin's stories move on the boundary between the real and the fantastic. This selection, chosen by the author, is an indispensible piece of contemporary Argentine literature.
    • Content Notes:
      Headlights -- Preserves -- Butterflies -- Mouthful of birds -- Santa Claus sleeps at our house -- The digger -- Irman -- The test -- Toward happy civilization -- Olingiris -- My brother Walter -- The merman -- Rage of pestilence -- Heads against concrete -- The size of things -- Underground -- Slowing down -- On the steppe -- A great effort -- The heavy suitcase of Benavides.
    • Notes:
      "Originally published in Spanish in 2010 as Pájaros en la boca by Random House Mondadori."
      Translated from the Spanish.
    • Other Titles:
      Short stories. Selections. English
    • ISBN:
      9780399184628
      0399184627
    • Accession Number:
      2018000127
    • Accession Number:
      on1020300760
      1020300760
    • Accession Number:
      fay.597645
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      SCHWEBLIN, S.; MCDOWELL, M. Mouthful of birds : stories. [s.l.] : Riverhead Books, 2019. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 12 nov. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Schweblin S, McDowell M. Mouthful of Birds : Stories. Riverhead Books; 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.597645. Accessed November 12, 2019.
    • APA:
      Schweblin, S., & McDowell, M. (2019). Mouthful of birds : stories. Riverhead Books. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.597645
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Schweblin, Samanta, and Megan McDowell. 2019. Mouthful of Birds : Stories. Riverhead Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.597645.
    • Harvard:
      Schweblin, S. and McDowell, M. (2019) Mouthful of birds : stories. Riverhead Books. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.597645 (Accessed: 12 November 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Schweblin, S & McDowell, M 2019, Mouthful of birds : stories, Riverhead Books, viewed 12 November 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Schweblin, Samanta, and Megan McDowell. Mouthful of Birds : Stories. Riverhead Books, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.597645.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Schweblin, Samanta, and Megan McDowell. Mouthful of Birds : Stories. Riverhead Books, 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.597645.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Schweblin S, McDowell M. Mouthful of birds : stories [Internet]. Riverhead Books; 2019 [cited 2019 Nov 12]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.597645