A gentlewoman's guide to murder / Victoria Hamilton.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "When Sir Henry Claybourne is murdered, young spinster Miss Emmeline St. Germaine--who has a secret hobby of rescuing young girls from predatory nobility at knife point--fears that she will be suspected of the murder and resolves to solve it" -- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9780738758046
      0738758043
    • Accession Number:
      2018043246
    • Accession Number:
      on1037810744
      1037810744
    • Accession Number:
      fay.637601
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      HAMILTON, V. A gentlewoman’s guide to murder. [s.l.] : Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd., 2019. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 22 out. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Hamilton V. A Gentlewoman’s Guide to Murder. Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd.; 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.637601. Accessed October 22, 2019.
    • APA:
      Hamilton, V. (2019). A gentlewoman’s guide to murder. Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.637601
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Hamilton, Victoria. 2019. A Gentlewoman’s Guide to Murder. Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.637601.
    • Harvard:
      Hamilton, V. (2019) A gentlewoman’s guide to murder. Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.637601 (Accessed: 22 October 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Hamilton, V 2019, A gentlewoman’s guide to murder, Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd., viewed 22 October 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Hamilton, Victoria. A Gentlewoman’s Guide to Murder. Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd., 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.637601.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Hamilton, Victoria. A Gentlewoman’s Guide to Murder. Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd., 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.637601.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Hamilton V. A gentlewoman’s guide to murder [Internet]. Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd.; 2019 [cited 2019 Oct 22]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.637601

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 December #1

In Regency London, Emmeline St. Germaine, disguised as the Avengeress, rescues scullery maid Molly from the depraved Sir Henry Claybourne, threatening him in the process. When Sir Henry is found murdered the next morning, Emmeline fears the Avengeress will be accused of the crime; in an attempt to protect her alter ego, she begins an investigation to find his killer. In addition, Emmeline has another secret identity, as the Rogue, the author of a popular gossip column. If either secret is discovered, she will find herself ruined and exiled to the country by her brother, who controls her money. Emmeline chafes at the conventions that prevent women from speaking their minds and controlling their lives but recognizes she cannot go too far and anger her brother. She is an unconventionally principled and highly unusual character, and the story is seamlessly framed by details about the life and social mores of Regency London, from the streets to the drawing rooms. Hamilton's novel will appeal to fans of Anne Perry's Charlotte and Pitt mysteries. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

PW Reviews 2018 December #2

Set in Regency London, this outstanding series launch from Hamilton (the Vintage Kitchen mysteries) introduces Emmeline St. Germaine, an intelligent woman who craves independence and has no wish to marry. Outwardly she conforms to society's expectations of a genteel spinster, but Emmeline, in disguise, plunges into action by carrying out rescues of young female servants who are being molested by their male employers. Her rescue of a maid from the Clerkenwell home of Sir Henry Claybourne goes badly wrong when, that same night, Sir Henry is murdered. As public outrage blames the as yet unknown Masked Avengeress, Emmeline is desperate to find the real killer. Her furtive investigation leads her to some memorable London scenes, such as a night at the opera and a "nut crack" party. Hamilton expertly balances the page-turning detection with the story of a hypocritical society where women, whether they are scullery maids or orphans, rarely get to make their own decisions. Readers will look forward to Emmeline's further adventures. Agent: Jessica Faust, BookEnds Literary. (Feb.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.