The stranger diaries / Elly Griffiths.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First U.S. edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "From the author of the beloved Ruth Galloway series, a modern gothic mystery for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House"-- Provided by publisher.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Clare Cassidy is no stranger to murder. A high school English teacher specializing in the Gothic writer R. M. Holland, she teaches a course on it every year. But when one of Clare's colleagues and closest friends is found dead, with a line from R. M. Holland's most famous story, "The Stranger," left by her body, Clare is horrified to see her life collide with the storylines of her favorite literature. To make matters worse, the police suspect the killer is someone Clare knows. Unsure whom to trust, she turns to her closest confidant, her diary, the only outlet she has for her darkest suspicions and fears about the case. Then one day she notices something odd. Writing that isn't hers, left on the page of an old diary : Hallo Clare. You don't know me. Clare becomes more certain than ever: "The Stranger" has come to terrifying life. -- (adapted from book jacket)
    • Notes:
      First published in Great Britain in 2018 by Quercus.
    • ISBN:
      9781328577856
      1328577856
    • Accession Number:
      2018035768
    • Accession Number:
      on1045508362
      1045508362
    • Accession Number:
      fay.639275
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      GRIFFITHS, E. The stranger diaries. [s.l.] : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 17 out. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Griffiths E. The Stranger Diaries. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.639275. Accessed October 17, 2019.
    • APA:
      Griffiths, E. (2019). The stranger diaries. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.639275
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Griffiths, Elly. 2019. The Stranger Diaries. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.639275.
    • Harvard:
      Griffiths, E. (2019) The stranger diaries. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.639275 (Accessed: 17 October 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Griffiths, E 2019, The stranger diaries, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, viewed 17 October 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Griffiths, Elly. The Stranger Diaries. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.639275.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Griffiths, Elly. The Stranger Diaries. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.639275.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Griffiths E. The stranger diaries [Internet]. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 2019 [cited 2019 Oct 17]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.639275

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 December #1

*Starred Review* In a departure from her acclaimed Ruth Galloway and Magic Men mystery series, Griffiths has gifted readers with a gripping homage to the gothic novel. Clare Cassidy teaches a course on the fictional eighteenth-century writer R. M. Holland, author of the grim but beloved story, "The Stranger." Her colleague and good friend is murdered and a line from the story is left by the body. Someone has begun writing in her diary, starting off with an ominous "Hallo Clare. You don't know me." Wilkie Collins' The Woman in White opens "This is the story of what a Woman's patience can endure." Like Collins, who wove his tale with multiple voices, Griffiths uses three different narrators here, none of whom is entirely reliable. This is an entrancing literary tour de force in which Shakespeare's line, "Hell is empty," from The Tempest, cleverly connects past and present. Georgette Heyer fans will relish this, as will readers who enjoyed Diane Setterfield's The Thirteenth Tale (2006) and Anthony Horowitz's Magpie Murders (2017). Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2018 October #1

High school English teacher Clare Cassidy is understandably upset when a good friend and colleague is found dead but truly undone to learn that a line from "The Stranger," a celebrated story by her beloved Gothic writer R.M. Holland, has been left with the body. To steady herself, she starts keeping a diary, only to find someone else's handwriting amid her words, offering the threatening observation, "Hallo Clare. You don't know me." Sounds like Griffiths is out to show why she's a CWA Dagger in the Library Award winner.

Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

LJ Reviews 2019 February #1

High school English teacher Clare Cassidy specializes in the work of gothic writer R.M. Holland. When one of her colleagues is murdered, a line from Holland's most famous work, The Stranger, is found on her body, and the police are certain the killer is someone Clare knows. As she struggles to make sense of the events surrounding the murder, Clare pours out her heart into her diary, but when she visits an earlier volume to check on the date of a work trip, she's shocked to find a note in unfamiliar handwriting in the margins: "Hallo, Clare. You don't know me." Unsure whether she has a stalker, a ghost, or suffered a break from reality, Clare struggles to keep it together for her teenage daughter—until the next murder. VERDICT Griffiths's ("Ruth Galloway" and "Magic Men" series) first stand-alone novel is a modern gothic that updates and plays with genre conventions to great effect. Highly recommended for fans of British mysteries and classic whodunits. [See Prepub Alert, 9/10/18.]—Stephanie Klose, Library Journal

Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2019 January #1

In the wake of a divorce, Clare Cassidy, the heroine of this gripping standalone from Mary Higgins Clark Award winner Griffiths (the Ruth Galloway mysteries), accepts a job teaching English at Talgarth High, whose West Sussex campus includes the home of Victorian writer R.M. Holland, best known for his chilling story "The Stranger." Five years later, Clare and her 15-year-old daughter, Georgia, have settled into local life, and Clare has started work on a Holland biography. Then colleagues begin dying in violent ways reminiscent of "The Stranger," and Clare discovers mysterious notes written in her personal diaries. Alternating among the voices of Clare, Georgia, and Det. Sgt. Harbinder Kaur, who investigates the killings, Griffiths weaves a tale replete with ghosts, the occult, forbidden desire, and murder. Excerpts from "The Stranger" build the eerie atmosphere, though the tale's denouement and the killer's identity may disappoint some readers. Still, aficionados of such gothic classics as Wilkie Collins's The Woman in White, which the killer may have read, will find this a satisfying novel for a rainy night. Agent: Kirby Kim, Janklow & Nesbit. (Mar.)

Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.