Forever Rumpole : the best of the Rumpole stories / John Mortimer ; introduction by Ann Mallalieu.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: A treasury of fourteen favorite tales featuring the cigar-chomping, cheap-wine-tippling barrister husband of She Who Must Be Obeyed is complemented by an unfinished fragment of a new story.
    • Content Notes:
      Rumpole and the younger generation -- Rumpole and the showfolk -- Rumpole and the tap end -- Rumpole and the bubble reputation -- Rumpole à la carte -- Rumpole and the children of the devil -- Rumpole on trial -- Rumpole and the way through the woods -- Rumpole and the angel of death -- Rumpole and the old familiar faces -- Rumpole rests his case -- Rumpole and the primrose path -- Rumpole redeemed -- Rumpole and the Christmas break -- Rumpole and the brave new world.
    • ISBN:
    • Accession Number:
    • Accession Number:
    • Accession Number:
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      MORTIMER, J. Forever Rumpole : the best of the Rumpole stories. [s. l.]: Viking, 2011. ISBN 9780670023066. Disponível em: Acesso em: 7 ago. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Mortimer J. Forever Rumpole : The Best of the Rumpole Stories. Viking; 2011. Accessed August 7, 2020.
    • APA:
      Mortimer, J. (2011). Forever Rumpole : the best of the Rumpole stories. Viking.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Mortimer, John. 2011. Forever Rumpole : The Best of the Rumpole Stories. Rumpole Series. Viking.
    • Harvard:
      Mortimer, J. (2011) Forever Rumpole : the best of the Rumpole stories. Viking (Rumpole series). Available at: (Accessed: 7 August 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Mortimer, J 2011, Forever Rumpole : the best of the Rumpole stories, Rumpole series, Viking, viewed 7 August 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Mortimer, John. Forever Rumpole : The Best of the Rumpole Stories. Viking, 2011. EBSCOhost,
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Mortimer, John. Forever Rumpole : The Best of the Rumpole Stories. Rumpole Series. Viking, 2011.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Mortimer J. Forever Rumpole : the best of the Rumpole stories [Internet]. Viking; 2011 [cited 2020 Aug 7]. (Rumpole series). Available from:


Booklist Reviews 2011 October #2

This posthumous set of Rumpole stories (Mortimer died in 2009) republishes the author's seven favorites and seven more stories from his later work. All are readily available elsewhere, but this volume adds two new elements. The first is a portion of a story, "Rumpole and the Brave New World," left unfinished at Mortimer's death. The second is the introduction by Anna Mallalieu, who first met Mortimer, then queen's counsel, when she served as his junior in an early–1970s obscenity case. Mallalieu knew Mortimer professionally and personally until his death, and she offers a tribute to his work and a rollicking account of how he could hold both juries and dinner audiences in thrall. Even without the new pieces, this collection spanning from 1978 to 2004 would be worthwhile for nothing more than the sheer pleasure of seeing Rumpole again, fighting at the Bailey, jousting with She Who Must Be Obeyed at home, and gloating over a glass of Chateau Thames Embankment at Pommeroy's Wine Bar in Fleet Street. Copyright 2011 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2011 November #1

Horace Rumpole, the claret-quaffing barrister who never quite makes the grade but always makes a point, stars in a new collection of his most outrageous exploits. Created by British barrister Mortimer, Rumpole's courtroom antics and politically incorrect gaffes have made him a perennial favorite among mystery fans for decades. The book begins with an excellent and insightful introduction by barrister Ann Mallalieu who had the pleasure of assisting Mortimer on some of his cases. Collected here are 14 stories total; seven that were previously published in 1993 under the title The Best of Rumpole, and an additional seven from Mortimer's later works. There is also a sliver of a novel, Rumpole and the Brave New World, which Mortimer began shortly before his death in 2009. VERDICT Alas, Rumpole devotees will find nothing new. However, those uninitiated to the irascible barrister's charm and wit will have much to relish. The collection is an excellent primer to all things Rumpole: the Timson clan (his favorite thieving family), his penchant for Chateau Fleet Street, and the indomitable Hilda, long-suffering wife and appropriately titled "She Who Must Be Obeyed."—Amy Nolan, St. Joseph P.L., MI

[Page 67]. (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

PW Reviews 2011 September #4

At the start of "Rumpole and the Younger Generation," the first story in this posthumous "best of" collection, Mortimer's curmudgeonly, Wordsworth-quoting barrister, Horace Rumpole, mentions that he'll be "sixty-eight next birthday." The case at hand involves a younger member of South London's nonviolently criminal Timson clan, and a key point in the accused lad's trial hinges on the date of a Rolling Stones concert that year, 1965. In the penultimate, post-9/11 entry, "Rumpole and the Christmas Break," Rumpole defends a Pakistani student accused of murdering a history professor, Honoria Glossup (a name borrowed from Mortimer's literary mentor, P.G. Wodehouse), who wrote a book critical of "the cruelties committed by Islamic fundamentalists." In the decades in between, in a number of witty, ingeniously plotted adventures that often deal with issues of the day (the women's movement, animal rights, euthanasia), the ageless, principled barrister must contend with colleagues who scheme to bring about his retirement (when they aren't hoping for his demise); judges who blatantly favor the prosecution; and his disapproving wife, Hilda (aka "She Who Must Be Obeyed"). A glass or two of Chateau Thames Embankment at Pommeroy's Wine Bar offers consolation. Ann Mallalieu, a barrister who worked with the, alas, mortal Mortimer (1923–2009) and made the selections, provides an illuminating introduction. A fragment of an uncompleted novel rounds out a volume sure to be treasured by both old fans and new.

[Page ]. Copyright 2011 PWxyz LLC