Blood orange / Harriet Tyce.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First U.S. hardcover edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: A young lawyer's idyllic family life and blossoming career are upended by a murder case involving a questionable confession and the lawyer's toxic affair with a manipulative senior partner.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: A young lawyer's outwardly perfect life spirals out of control as she takes on her first murder case in this dark and twisty debut thriller for readers of Paula Hawkins, A.J. Finn, or Shari Lapena. I did it. I killed him. I should be locked up. Alison, a young lawyer, has just been given her first murder case to defend. Her new client is a meek housewife who doesn't deny that she stabbed her husband. In fact, she's desperate to plead guilty. But the deeper Alison digs into her story, the more she suspects that something is gravely amiss. Get your hands off me. And in Alison's own life, too, all is not as it seems. With a doting husband, an adorable daughter, and a blossoming career, she has everything she could want, right? But Alison is deeply entangled in a toxic affair with her senior legal partner--a man whose influence helped land her the murder case but whose taste for pushing boundaries may be more than she can handle--and unable to extricate herself. She's in way over her head. And as the murder case escalates, she can't stop her personal life from spinning further and further out of control. I'm watching you. I know what you're doing. But someone knows Alison's secret. Someone who wants to make Alison pay for what she's done, and who won't stop until she's lost everything.... A deeply disturbing, toxic and compelling novel that explores the power of fear and desire, jealousy and betrayal, love and hate, BLOOD ORANGE introduces a fresh and distinctive new voice in psychological suspense.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Alison, a young lawyer, has been given her first murder case to defend. Her new client doesn't deny she stabbed her husband-- in fact, she's desperate to plead guilty. Alison has a doting husband, an adorable daughter, and a blossoming career-- but she drinks too much, and is deeply entangled in a toxic affair with her senior legal partner. As the murder case escalates and her personal life spins out of control, she learns someone knows her secrets-- someone who wants to make Alison pay for what she's done. -- adapted from jacket.
    • ISBN:
      9781538762738
      1538762730
    • Accession Number:
      2018003661
    • Accession Number:
      on1029063819
      1029063819
    • Accession Number:
      fay.642919
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      TYCE, H. Blood orange. [s.l.] : Grand Central Publishing, 2019. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 13 nov. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Tyce H. Blood Orange. Grand Central Publishing; 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.642919. Accessed November 13, 2019.
    • APA:
      Tyce, H. (2019). Blood orange. Grand Central Publishing. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.642919
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Tyce, Harriet. 2019. Blood Orange. Grand Central Publishing. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.642919.
    • Harvard:
      Tyce, H. (2019) Blood orange. Grand Central Publishing. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.642919 (Accessed: 13 November 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Tyce, H 2019, Blood orange, Grand Central Publishing, viewed 13 November 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Tyce, Harriet. Blood Orange. Grand Central Publishing, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.642919.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Tyce, Harriet. Blood Orange. Grand Central Publishing, 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.642919.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Tyce H. Blood orange [Internet]. Grand Central Publishing; 2019 [cited 2019 Nov 13]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.642919

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 December #1

*Starred Review* Alison Bailey's life is veering out of control. As a barrister in London, she's the main financial support for her husband, Carl, a househusband building his therapy practice, and their six-year-old daughter, Matilda. As Alison's career ascends—she has landed her first murder trial—the signs of trouble grow: she's drinking too much, working hours that keep her from her family, and carrying on an affair with her senior legal partner, Patrick Saunders, about which an anonymous person has started sending her insulting texts. Things come to a head at home when she loses Matilda in a hide-and-seek game in a park, causing Carl to take severe action. And then Patrick, finding himself in serious legal trouble, turns to Alison. Details of the murder case—in which the wife of a corporate executive, accused of repeatedly stabbing her abusive husband, wants to plead guilty—are interspersed with the personal drama, as the narrative races toward Alison's discovery of the dark sides of both of the men in her life. This debut novel by a former barrister displays the pacing skills and smooth prose of a seasoned author, as suspense builds to a stunning climax. Keep your eyes on Tyce. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2018 September #1

Taking on her first murder case, with her defendant a mild-mannered housewife proclaiming, "I did it. I killed him," married lawyer Alison can't break free from a dangerous affair with the senior legal partner who got her the case. A debut novel bought in a two-book pre-empt and sold to eight other territories thus far; with a 75,000-copy first printing.

Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2018 October #4

Rising London criminal defense lawyer Alison Wood, the complex and deeply flawed narrator of British author Tyce's promising debut, welcomes her first murder case—something she has worked toward for 15 years. Her client, Madeline Smith, who was arrested for stabbing her husband to death, wants to plead guilty. But Alison tries to persuade Madeline to consider other options. Meanwhile, Alison's personal life is in shambles. She must deal with a failing marriage and a nearly abusive affair with another lawyer. To make matters worse, she begins receiving threatening texts, tied to her affair, from an unknown source. Soon, her husband wants a divorce, and custody of her six-year-old daughter is at stake. As Alison prepares for Madeline's case, she begins to see disturbing similarities between her client's life and her own. This gritty psychological thriller has a predictable twist, bit it's still a page-turner that drives to a shocking and satisfying ending. Readers will eagerly await Tyce's next. Agent: Veronique Baxter, David Higham Assocs. (U.K.). (Feb.)

Copyright 2018 Publishers Weekly.