Spectacle / Jodie Lynn Zdrok.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First Edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Sixteen-year-old Nathalie Baudin, the writer of a newspaper's daily morgue report, must use her supernatural visions to discover the identity of a killer targeting the young women of nineteenth-century Paris.
    • Notes:
      "A Tom Doherty Associates Book."
    • ISBN:
      9780765399687
      0765399687
    • Accession Number:
      2018046947
    • Accession Number:
      on1031551361
      1031551361
    • Accession Number:
      fay.643378
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      ZDROK, J. L. Spectacle. [s. l.]: Tor Teen, 2019. ISBN 9780765399687. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.643378. Acesso em: 6 dez. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Zdrok JL. Spectacle. Tor Teen; 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.643378. Accessed December 6, 2019.
    • APA:
      Zdrok, J. L. (2019). Spectacle. Tor Teen. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.643378
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Zdrok, Jodie Lynn. 2019. Spectacle. Tor Teen. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.643378.
    • Harvard:
      Zdrok, J. L. (2019) Spectacle. Tor Teen. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.643378 (Accessed: 6 December 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Zdrok, JL 2019, Spectacle, Tor Teen, viewed 6 December 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Zdrok, Jodie Lynn. Spectacle. Tor Teen, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.643378.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Zdrok, Jodie Lynn. Spectacle. Tor Teen, 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.643378.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Zdrok JL. Spectacle [Internet]. Tor Teen; 2019 [cited 2019 Dec 6]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.643378

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 December #2

In Paris 1887, 16-year-old Nathalie has an undercover job in which she writes the daily morgue report for the newspaper. She describes what she sees, the new arrivals (aka bodies), and appeases Paris' hunger for the details of the macabre. When an unidentified murder victim arrives at the morgue, Nathalie suddenly has a vision of the murder from the perspective of the murderer. Nathalie finds herself thrown into the supernatural world of Paris, and when another murder victim appears, Nathalie must use her powers to catch the killer before she's caught herself. While the story unfolds slowly, the details and mystery should keep fans of thrillers reading. Hints of the murderer's identity are subtly and intriguingly folded into the story, and unresolved plot threads pave the way for future cases, during which Nathalie can discover more about her powers. The blend of history, mystery, and fantasy makes this debut novel a good pick for fans of Libba Bray's Diviners series or William Ritter's Jackaby books. Grades 9-12. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

Horn Book Guide Reviews 2019 Fall

A newly discovered ability to channel the perspective of an unknown serial killer raises a serious dilemma for sixteen-year-old morgue reporter Nathalie Baudin: reveal her supernatural powers and aid the police, or reject them for a life of normalcy? Set in nineteenth-century Paris, a time when the city's fascination with death warranted daily newspaper morgue reports, this eerie historical mystery will appeal to fans of Gothic thrillers. Copyright 2019 Horn Book Guide Reviews.