A dream of death / Connie Berry.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: On a remote Scottish island, American antiques dealer Kate Hamilton wrestles with her own past while sleuthing a brutal killing, staged to recreate a two-hundred-year-old unsolved murder. Autumn has come and gone on Scotland's Isle of Glenroth, and the islanders gather for the Tartan Ball, the annual end-of-tourist-season gala. Spirits are high. A recently published novel about island history has brought hordes of tourists to the small Hebridean resort community. On the guest list is American antiques dealer Kate Hamilton. Kate returns reluctantly to the island where her husband died, determined to repair her relationship with his sister, proprietor of the island's luxe country house hotel, famous for its connection with Bonnie Prince Charlie. Kate has hardly unpacked when the next morning a body is found, murdered in a reenactment of an infamous unsolved murder described in the novel - and the only clue to the killer's identity lies in a curiously embellished antique casket. The Scottish police discount the historical connection, but when a much-loved local handyman is arrested, Kate teams up with a vacationing detective inspector from Suffolk, England, to unmask a killer determined to rewrite island history - and Kate's future.
    • ISBN:
      9781683319870
      1683319877
    • Accession Number:
      on1090678944
      1090678944
    • Accession Number:
      fay.646359
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      BERRY, C. (Novelist). A dream of death. [s.l.] : Crooked Lane Books, an imprint of The Quick Brown Fox & Company LLC, 2019. Disponível em: . Acesso em: 17 nov. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Berry C (Novelist). A Dream of Death. Crooked Lane Books, an imprint of The Quick Brown Fox & Company LLC; 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.646359. Accessed November 17, 2019.
    • APA:
      Berry, C. (Novelist). (2019). A dream of death. Crooked Lane Books, an imprint of The Quick Brown Fox & Company LLC. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.646359
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Berry, Connie (Novelist). 2019. A Dream of Death. A Kate Hamilton Mystery. Crooked Lane Books, an imprint of The Quick Brown Fox & Company LLC. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.646359.
    • Harvard:
      Berry, C. (Novelist) (2019) A dream of death. Crooked Lane Books, an imprint of The Quick Brown Fox & Company LLC (A Kate Hamilton mystery). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.646359 (Accessed: 17 November 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Berry, C (Novelist) 2019, A dream of death, A Kate Hamilton mystery, Crooked Lane Books, an imprint of The Quick Brown Fox & Company LLC, viewed 17 November 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Berry, Connie (Novelist). A Dream of Death. Crooked Lane Books, an imprint of The Quick Brown Fox & Company LLC, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.646359.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Berry, Connie (Novelist). A Dream of Death. A Kate Hamilton Mystery. Crooked Lane Books, an imprint of The Quick Brown Fox & Company LLC, 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.646359.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Berry C (Novelist). A dream of death [Internet]. Crooked Lane Books, an imprint of The Quick Brown Fox & Company LLC; 2019 [cited 2019 Nov 17]. (A Kate Hamilton mystery). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.646359

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2019 March #1

After her husband died while sailing off the Scottish Inner Hebrides, where he grew up, Kate Hamilton vowed not to return to the islands. But the invitation to the annual Tartan Ball, along with a plea for help from Eleanor, her sister-in-law, brings her back, if reluctantly. Before the ball, Eleanor only has time to show Kate an antique chest and press an envelope into her hands, urging her to read it. The morning after the ball, Eleanor is dead. Kate, now an antiques dealer in Cleveland, is questioned, along with everyone else, but when Bo Duff, an island resident who had been her husband's childhood friend, is taken into custody, she knows she needs to investigate. With stories of other murders on the island and legends of the Jacobite Rebellion swirling in her mind, not to mention anonymous threats and noises in the walls of the manor house, Kate suspects everyone. A closed-house—or, in this case, closed-island—frame, nicely drawn characters with realistic backstories, a romantic historical subplot, and a modern-day flirtation combine to make this a promising start to a new series. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2019 April

Antiques dealer Kate Hamilton hasn't been back to the Isle of Glenroth, Scotland, since her husband died there three years earlier. His sister, Elenor, begs her to come, saying she needs help. Kate arrives for the Tartan Ball at the hotel Elenor owns, but Elenor turns secretive and won't talk to her until after the ball. Too late: Elenor is dead the next day, killed in a style that replicates a 200-year-old unsolved murder. When Kate's husband's best friend Bo is arrested, she teams up with DI Tom Mallory, who's in Scotland on vacation. She's determined to prove Bo, who has a few disabilities, is incapable of killing anyone. Evidence piles up while romantic sparks fly between Kate and Tom. VERDICT Newcomer Berry turns in well-written, intriguing debut mystery that combines history, an unforgettable setting, and mature, relatable characters in a story that blends an old island legend with a contemporary whodunit. It will appeal to readers of Paige Shelton's "Scottish Bookshop" series and Jane Cleland's antiques mysteries.—Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN

Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2019 January #4

In Berry's suspenseful, elegantly written debut and series launch, Ohio antiques dealer Kate Hamilton reluctantly returns to the Scottish isle of Glenroth, where "memories and regrets lay as thick on the ground as yellow gorse in autumn"—and where three years earlier her husband, Bill, drowned while visiting his sister, Elenor Spurgeon. Kate travels there at Elenor's urgent request. At the manor house that Elenor has turned into an upscale hotel, Kate finds the staff preparing for the annual Tartan Ball. Elenor whisks Kate aside and shows her a small 18th-century chest covered in intricate carvings and promises to tell her more about the chest after the ball. When a murder interrupts the festivities, Kate turns amateur sleuth. Her only clue rests in the pages of a recently published novel based on the case of Flora Arnott, a young bride who was murdered on the island two centuries earlier in a manner similar to the present-day crime. Readers will look forward to seeing more of the intelligent and resourceful Kate. Agent: Paula Munier, Talcott Notch. (Apr.)

Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.

PW Reviews 2019 February #1

In Berry's suspenseful, elegantly written debut and series launch, Ohio antiques dealer Kate Hamilton reluctantly returns to the Scottish isle of Glenroth, where "memories and regrets lay as thick on the ground as yellow gorse in autumn"—and where three years earlier her husband, Bill, drowned while visiting his sister, Elenor Spurgeon. Kate travels there at Elenor's urgent request. At the manor house that Elenor has turned into an upscale hotel, Kate finds the staff preparing for the annual Tartan Ball. Elenor whisks Kate aside and shows her a small 18th-century chest covered in intricate carvings and promises to tell her more about the chest after the ball. When a murder interrupts the festivities, Kate turns amateur sleuth. Her only clue rests in the pages of a recently published novel based on the case of Flora Arnott, a young bride who was murdered on the island two centuries earlier in a manner similar to the present-day crime. Readers will look forward to seeing more of the intelligent and resourceful Kate. Agent: Paula Munier, Talcott Notch. (Apr.)

Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.