The stone circle / Elly Griffiths.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First U.S. edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "In the eleventh installment of the award-winning Ruth Galloway series, she and DCI Nelson are haunted by a ghost from their past, just as their future lands on shaky ground"-- Provided by publisher.
    • Notes:
      First published in Great Britain in 2019 by Quercus.
    • ISBN:
    • Accession Number:
    • Accession Number:
    • Accession Number:
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      GRIFFITHS, E. The stone circle. [s. l.]: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019. ISBN 9781328974648. Disponível em: Acesso em: 29 jan. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Griffiths E. The Stone Circle. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 2019. Accessed January 29, 2020.
    • APA:
      Griffiths, E. (2019). The stone circle. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Retrieved from
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Griffiths, Elly. 2019. The Stone Circle. Ruth Galloway Mysteries: 11. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.
    • Harvard:
      Griffiths, E. (2019) The stone circle. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (Ruth Galloway mysteries: 11). Available at: (Accessed: 29 January 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Griffiths, E 2019, The stone circle, Ruth Galloway mysteries: 11, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, viewed 29 January 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Griffiths, Elly. The Stone Circle. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019. EBSCOhost,
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Griffiths, Elly. The Stone Circle. Ruth Galloway Mysteries: 11. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2019.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Griffiths E. The stone circle [Internet]. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 2019 [cited 2020 Jan 29]. (Ruth Galloway mysteries: 11). Available from:


Booklist Reviews 2019 April #1

This is the eleventh Ruth Galloway novel (after The Dark Angel, 2018) from the award-winning Griffiths, who is consistently very canny about conveying the uncanny. She always involves an element of the supernatural in her plots—so appropriate to her setting in marshy East Anglia, a place that seems not quite earth, not quite sea—and this time around, it appears that forensic archaeologist Ruth and DCI Nelson are being haunted by a ghost from their past. Or so it seems when they receive threatening letters reminiscent of earlier missives from their first case together (The Crossing Places, 2009). But dead men don't write letters. Or do they? With plenty of warmth to counter the eeriness, all the usual distinctive characters—with a new addition who is quite the surprise—pass their daily lives in delightful detail as the investigation wears on. Griffiths' fans who reach each of her inevitably complex endings wishing for still more will be pleased with a note in her acknowledgments: "I don't think I have nearly exhausted all the myths and legends of East Anglia, let alone its archaeological wonders." See ya soon, Ruth! Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2018 December #1

Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

LJ Reviews 2019 May

Forensic archaeologist Ruth Galloway is called in to consult when modern bones are found on a dig site. DCI Harry Nelson takes the case and the remains are identified as belonging to 12-year-old Margaret Lacey, who went missing in 1981. The lead suspect at the time was an odd local man named John Mostyn, but after Margaret's body is recovered, Mostyn is shot once through the heart and his body left in an office park. Meanwhile, Nelson's wife, Michelle, has had their baby, and made a friend, Star, at a mother-and-baby group. When Star's baby disappears from her home without a trace, Nelson and his team get involved in that case as well. In the meantime, Nelson receives letters that sound very much like those he got during the first case Ruth worked with him—but the man who wrote those letters is dead. VERDICT Fans of the series will be delighted to catch up with Ruth and Nelson as the mysteries wind their way to satisfying solutions. [See Prepub Alert, 11/5/18.]—Stephanie Klose, Library Journal

Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2019 March #1

Mary Higgins Clark Award winner Griffiths's enticing 11th mystery to feature forensic anthropologist Ruth Galloway and her married lover, Det. Chief Insp. Harry Nelson of the King's Lynn CID (after 2018's The Dark Angel), harkens back to their first case together, when they investigated missing girls near the Norfolk marshes and conceived their now seven-year-old daughter, Kate. Anonymous threatening letters sent to Nelson appear to be from the person who led the pair into that first case, Ruth's mentor and later antagonist. The discovery of the bones of 12-year-old Margaret Lacey, who disappeared in 1981, in an archeological dig, raises the stakes. Series fans should enjoy echoes of Griffiths's debut, 2009's The Crossing Places, and the roles played by Det. Sgt. Judy Johnson and her police partner, Maddie, in seeking Margaret's killer. Meanwhile, Nelson's pregnant wife prepares to deliver a child who may or may not be his. The continuing lack of resolution in Ruth and Nelson's relationship may wear on even the most patient readers. Still, fans of forensic mysteries will find plenty to like. Agent: Kirby Kim, Janklow & Nesbit. (May)

Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.