The scholar / Dervla McTiernan.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal--her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy--it has even funded Emma's own ground-breaking research. As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy? A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry." -- (Source of summary not specified)
    • ISBN:
      9780143133698
      0143133691
    • Accession Number:
      2019005192
    • Accession Number:
      on1057290944
      1057290944
    • Accession Number:
      fay.651315

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2019 June #1

In this follow-up to McTiernan's 2018 debut, The Ruin, Galway police detective Cormac Reilly is sidelined from a high-profile investigation because his girlfriend, Dr. Emma Sweeney, was the one who found the body. Emma works at a pharmaceutical lab on the town's university grounds. At first, the police think that the hit-and-run victim she discovered is Carline Darcy, the granddaughter of the lab's rich and powerful founder. Further investigation reveals that the victim was a biochemical genius who dropped out of the university after only a semester. The Garda need to figure out why she was back on campus and why she had Carline's ID in her pocket when she was killed. Fans of Irish cop novels, like those by Adrian McKinty, will be happy to discover this up-and-coming author. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2019 May

Carline Darcy is a wunderkind. The granddaughter of a man who's made it big in the pharmaceutical business, she's following in his footsteps, taking a four-year degree in two years at a Galway, Ireland, university while dazzling at her grandfather's lab and living a quietly opulent existence off campus. Then the university community is shocked when the victim of a gruesome hit-and-run is found with Carline's ID in her pocket. Who could have killed this promising talent and why? As in McTiernan's excellent The Ruin, the police side of the story follows detectives Cormac Reilly and Carrie O'Halloran, whose day-to-day is as filled with gripping office politics as it is a crime investigation. Delving into a rich family's business drags more politics into the fray, an aspect of the book that McTiernan weaves well into the human stories that stay at the forefront. VERDICT The competition rife in academia is a major theme of this delightful and unexpected tale, making it one to suggest to fans of M.D. Lake and Susan Holzer.—Henrietta Verma, Credo Reference, NY

Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2019 April #1

In McTiernan's solid second police procedural featuring Galway's Det. Cormac Reilly (after 2018's The Ruin), Reilly's girlfriend, Emma Sweeney, a lab researcher for Darcy Therapeutics, calls him when she discovers the body of student Carline Darcy, a rising research star in the lab and the granddaughter of the company head, on the road near their workplace, the victim of a hit-and-run. In the subsequent inquiry into what develops into a murder case, departmental rivals of Emma, who suspect that she is somehow involved in Carline's death, try to push Reilly off the case. Meanwhile, the lab principals impede the investigation. Though the characters nearest to Carline are a bit too stereotyped, and the solution to the mystery is telegraphed too soon, the complexities of the relationships within the department, and the tensions between Reilly and Emma, are rich enough to carry the reader through this story and into the next one. McTiernan's cautionary tale about money, prestige, and the secretive world of pharmaceutical research will resonate with many. Agent: Faye Bender, Book Group. (May)

Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.