The black echo / Michael Connelly.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First trade paperback edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: For maverick LAPD homicide detective Harry Bosch, the body in the drainpipe at Mulholland Dam is more than another anonymous statistic. This one is personal ... because the murdered man was a fellow Vietnam "tunnel rat" who had fought side by side with him in a hellish underground war. Now Bosch is about to relive the horror of Nam. From a dangerous maze of blind alleys to a daring criminal heist beneath the city, his survival instincts will once again be tested to their limit. Pitted against enemies inside his own department and forced to make the agonizing choice between justice and vengeance, Bosch goes on the hunt for a killer whose true face will shock him.
    • Notes:
      Originally published in hardcover by Little, Brown and Company in January 1992.
    • ISBN:
      9781538744406
      1538744406
    • Accession Number:
      2017288720
    • Accession Number:
      ocn982698298
      982698298
    • Accession Number:
      fay.656706
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      CONNELLY, M. The black echo. [s. l.]: Grand Central Publishing, 2017. ISBN 9781538744406. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.656706. Acesso em: 8 dez. 2019.
    • AMA:
      Connelly M. The Black Echo. Grand Central Publishing; 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.656706. Accessed December 8, 2019.
    • APA:
      Connelly, M. (2017). The black echo. Grand Central Publishing. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.656706
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Connelly, Michael. 2017. The Black Echo. [Harry Bosch Series]. Grand Central Publishing. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.656706.
    • Harvard:
      Connelly, M. (2017) The black echo. Grand Central Publishing ([Harry Bosch series]). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.656706 (Accessed: 8 December 2019).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Connelly, M 2017, The black echo, [Harry Bosch series], Grand Central Publishing, viewed 8 December 2019, .
    • MLA:
      Connelly, Michael. The Black Echo. Grand Central Publishing, 2017. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.656706.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Connelly, Michael. The Black Echo. [Harry Bosch Series]. Grand Central Publishing, 2017. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.656706.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Connelly M. The black echo [Internet]. Grand Central Publishing; 2017 [cited 2019 Dec 8]. ([Harry Bosch series]). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.656706

Reviews

LJ Reviews 1992 January #1

Los Angeles police detective Hieronymus (a.k.a. Harry) Bosch discovers something odd in what appears to be a routine drug overdose case. The victim has a face from Harry's past, a fellow ``tunnel rat'' from Vietnam named Billy Meadows. Convinced that Meadows's death is really murder, Harry searches for the killers and soon clashes with the FBI, investigating Meadows for another reason. Trying to walk through a minefield of deception and corruption in high places, Harry works with FBI agent Eleanor Wish to solve the case before they both get killed. Whose tracks have to be covered at the cost of their lives? Fans of Joseph Wambaugh and William Caunitz will enjoy this realistically detailed police procedural. Connelly, a Pulitzer Prize-winning crime reporter for the Los Angeles Times , knows his turf well and demonstrates it in this complex and satisfying thriller. This one could very well hit the best-seller lists; highly recommended for any popular fiction col lection.-- Dean James, Houston Acad. of Medicine/Texas Medical Ctr. Lib. Copyright 1992 Cahners Business Information.

PW Reviews 1991 November #1

Connelly, a crime reporter for the Los Angeles Times , transcends the standard L.A. police procedural with this original and eminently authentic first novel. Hieronymus (Harry) Bosch--former hero cop bumped from the L.A. homicide desk to the lowly Beverly Hills squad--gets the call on a drug death at Mulholland Dam. Harry recognizes the corpse as that of a fellow soldier in Vietnam; both were ``tunnel rats'' who searched for Viet Cong in the network of burrows beneath Vietnamese villages. Investigation connects his old pal to an unsolved bank job--the vault was tunneled into from the storm drains below--and Harry takes his information to the FBI. The Bureau alerts the LAPD, which reactivates internal affairs surveillance (the previous IAD episode is explained throughout the narrative), only to have the FBI backtrack and request Harry as liaison on the case. Paired with beautiful FBI agent Eleanor Wish, Harry makes sense of the Vietnam connection to the bank job--a discovery that puts them both in danger from deadly ex-Marines and a powerful insider from either the LAPD or the FBI itself. Police higher-ups are somewhat cliched, but Connelly avoids L.A. stereotypes and delivers this front-page story with military precision. (Jan.) Copyright 1991 Cahners Business Information.