Nothing ventured / Jeffrey Archer.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First U.S. Edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "Nothing Ventured heralds the start of a brand new series in the style of Jeffrey Archer's #1 New York Times bestselling Clifton Chronicles: introducing Detective William Warwick. But this is not a detective story, this is a story about the making of a detective . . . William Warwick has always wanted to be a detective, and decides, much to his father's dismay, that rather than become a lawyer like his father, Sir Julian Warwick QC, and his sister Grace, he will join London's Metropolitan Police Force. After graduating from university, William begins a career that will define his life: from his early months on the beat under the watchful eye of his first mentor, Constable Fred Yates, to his first high-stakes case as a fledgling detective in Scotland Yard's arts and antiquities squad. Investigating the theft of a priceless Rembrandt painting from the Fitzmolean Museum, he meets Beth Rainsford, a research assistant at the gallery who he falls hopelessly in love with, even as Beth guards a secret of her own that she's terrified will come to light. While William follows the trail of the missing masterpiece, he comes up against suave art collector Miles Faulkner and his brilliant lawyer, Booth Watson QC, who are willing to bend the law to breaking point to stay one step ahead of William. Meanwhile, Miles Faulkner's wife, Christina, befriends William, but whose side is she really on? This new series introduces William Warwick, a family man and a detective who will battle throughout his career against a powerful criminal nemesis. Through twists, triumph and tragedy, this series will show that William Warwick is destined to become one of Jeffrey Archer's most enduring legacies"-- Provided by publisher.
    • Other Titles:
      Nothing ventured : introducing Detective William Warwick.
    • ISBN:
    • Accession Number:
    • Accession Number:
    • Accession Number:
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      ARCHER, J. Nothing ventured. First U.S. Edition. [s. l.]: St. Martin’s Press, 2019. ISBN 9781250200761. Disponível em: Acesso em: 27 maio. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Archer J. Nothing Ventured. First U.S. Edition. St. Martin’s Press; 2019. Accessed May 27, 2020.
    • APA:
      Archer, J. (2019). Nothing ventured (First U.S. Edition.). St. Martin’s Press.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Archer, Jeffrey. 2019. Nothing Ventured. First U.S. Edition. William Warwick Novels: 1. St. Martin’s Press.
    • Harvard:
      Archer, J. (2019) Nothing ventured. First U.S. Edition. St. Martin’s Press (William Warwick novels: 1). Available at: (Accessed: 27 May 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Archer, J 2019, Nothing ventured, First U.S. Edition., William Warwick novels: 1, St. Martin’s Press, viewed 27 May 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Archer, Jeffrey. Nothing Ventured. First U.S. Edition., St. Martin’s Press, 2019. EBSCOhost,
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Archer, Jeffrey. Nothing Ventured. First U.S. Edition. William Warwick Novels: 1. St. Martin’s Press, 2019.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Archer J. Nothing ventured [Internet]. First U.S. Edition. St. Martin’s Press; 2019 [cited 2020 May 27]. (William Warwick novels: 1). Available from:


Booklist Reviews 2019 July #1

In Archer's multivolume Clifton Chronicles, one of the central characters was a novelist whose popular protagonist was William Warwick, a detective with the London police. Now Archer is launching a new series, starring Warwick. Sure, it's a little meta: a series about a fictional character who was created in another series by another fictional character. But it's also a fine novel. Archer has a real gift for family sagas, and here, with Warwick, he's launching what promises to be a series just as riveting as the Clifton Chronicles. We pick up William's story early in his career, as he rejects his attorney father's entreaties to follow in his footsteps and instead joins the Metropolitan Police Force's arts and antiquities squad, where he attempts to track down a missing Rembrandt (among other interesting cases). Readers who know Warwick from the Chronicles will be interested to learn more about him (such as exactly how he acquired the nemesis who haunts his every move later in his career), but previous knowledge of the character is certainly not necessary to enjoy this first in what we hope will be a long series. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2019 September

From age eight, William Warwick knew he wanted to be a police detective. His father, a criminal barrister, wished William would have followed in his footsteps. But with the assistance of his mother, William went to university, studied art, and became a police officer. He starts at the bottom, walking a beat as a police constable, although he could have been fast-tracked as a college graduate. When he passes the detective's exam, William is assigned to the Metropolitan Police Force, attached to Art and Antiques. While he works several cases, because of his knowledge of art, his major assignment involves the theft of valuable paintings, forgeries, and a finder's fee when the paintings are "recovered" on behalf of the insurance companies. While investigating, he meets Beth Rainsford, a beautiful gallery research assistant, who has family secrets. The case, and Beth's secret, result in riveting simultaneous court trials, in a story that builds in intensity. VERDICT Following the success of the historical "Clifton Chronicles," Archer launches a series set in the 1980s. As he says, it's the story of a detective, not a detective story. Archer's numerous fans will appreciate another dramatic, character-driven mystery set in the world of art, police work, and court trials. [See Prepub Alert, 3/17/19.]—Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN

Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2019 July #2

An opening note to bestseller Archer's enjoyable series launch informs the reader: "This is not a detective story, this is a story about a detective," the detective being William Warwick from the author's Clifton Chronicles (This Was a Man, etc.). In 1979, William, who has always wanted to be a police detective, tells his father he's not going to follow in his father's footsteps and become a barrister. Joining the London police force straight out of school, he quickly proves himself to his superiors and in short order moves from patrol officer to fledgling detective for Scotland Yard's Arts and Antiquities unit, where he investigates forgeries, counterfeit antiquities, a missing Rembrandt, and a master art thief. A fully realized character, the intelligent Warrick is ambitious but naive with a lot to learn. He's surrounded by a distinctive cast of family, colleagues, and villains, while a well-placed romantic situation fills out a near-perfect hand. The final section dealing with dueling courtroom dramas brings genuine suspense to a relatively bloodless, but thoroughly gripping, tale. Archer reinforces his position as a master storyteller. 300,000 announced first printing. (Sept.)

Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.