Get a life, Chloe Brown : a novel / Talia Hibbert.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Emerging from a life-threatening illness, a fiercely organized but unfulfilled computer geek recruits a mysterious artist to help her establish meaning in her life, before finding herself engaged in reckless but thrilling activities.
    • ISBN:
      9780062941206
      0062941208
    • Accession Number:
      on1112211941
      1112211941
    • Accession Number:
      fay.673012
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      HIBBERT, T. Get a life, Chloe Brown : a novel. [s. l.]: Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2019. ISBN 9780062941206. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.673012. Acesso em: 22 jan. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Hibbert T. Get a Life, Chloe Brown : A Novel. Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers; 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.673012. Accessed January 22, 2020.
    • APA:
      Hibbert, T. (2019). Get a life, Chloe Brown : a novel. Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.673012
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Hibbert, Talia. 2019. Get a Life, Chloe Brown : A Novel. Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.673012.
    • Harvard:
      Hibbert, T. (2019) Get a life, Chloe Brown : a novel. Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.673012 (Accessed: 22 January 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Hibbert, T 2019, Get a life, Chloe Brown : a novel, Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, viewed 22 January 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Hibbert, Talia. Get a Life, Chloe Brown : A Novel. Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.673012.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Hibbert, Talia. Get a Life, Chloe Brown : A Novel. Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.673012.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Hibbert T. Get a life, Chloe Brown : a novel [Internet]. Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers; 2019 [cited 2020 Jan 22]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.673012

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2019 September #2

*Starred Review* After a near-death experience, self-described socially inept control freak Chloe Brown realizes she has let chronic pain prevent her from getting a life. So she does what she does best, which is make a list, then methodically ticks off each item, starting with moving out of her parents' house. Red Morgan is a motorcycle-riding artist and the superintendent of her apartment building, and he thinks Chloe is one of the rudest, most stuck-up women he has ever met. Then he finds her stuck in a tree after an ill-advised attempt to rescue a kitten and, against his better judgment, he agrees to help Chloe with her list. Are there plot surprises in this enemies-to-lovers romantic comedy? Not really. Will readers giggle at the cuteness of the banter and weep at the emotional truths that are thrown down as Chloe realizes it's not her list that matters, and Red realizes Chloe is helping him get a life, too? Absolutely. Is this book what the word charming was invented for? Probably. This interracial romance with a disabled heroine is an #OwnVoices treat that will satisfy readers who love a cinnamon-roll hero and love scenes that scorch the dang pages. For more dream heroes, see the Core Collection on page xx. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2019 November

After a scary incident causes Chloe Brown's life to flash before her eyes, she's relieved but also angry that there wasn't much worth remembering. Spurred into action, the chronically ill computer programmer devises a plan to move forward. Getting out on her own is first on the list, a step that puts her in the path of grumpy artist Redford "Red" Morgan. Red isn't keen on Chloe, assuming she couldn't possibly appreciate his painting career, his tattoos, and his motorcycle. But then a cute little grey cat brings the two eye to eye, and sparks fly. Red just might be the perfect person to encourage Chloe to confront her challenges, and Chloe the one to help Red find his own self-worth again. VERDICT This stunning romance tackles important topics, such as living with disability and surviving emotional abuse, without ever getting bogged down in despair. Hibbert's prose sparkles, and the heat is high, making this new series launch, the author's first with a mainstream publisher, perfect for fans of Tessa Bailey's "Hot & Hammered" series or Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient. Hibbert's extensive self-published backlist, especially the "Ravenswood" series, can fill demand while readers wait for her next "Brown Sisters" book.—Elizabeth Gabriel, Milwaukee P.L.

Copyright 2019 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2019 July #4

Chronically ill Chloe Brown's near-death experience is the catalyst for a thrilling, life-altering adventure that will keep readers riveted. Chloe, living but not thriving in present-day England, is on her daily walk when a car just misses crashing into her. Realizing life's too short for her to settle for her boring routine, she creates a list of ways to change her life—starting with moving out of her family's home and into her own apartment, and working up to traveling the world—but discovers that she needs a little push to follow through. Enter her new building superintendent, Redford "Red" Morgan, a tough guy with a heart of gold and a hidden artistic talent. Their relationship begins antagonistically, but the more time they spend together, with Red coaching Chloe through her list, the more sparks fly. It's quickly clear that the question isn't whether they'll get together but whether they can overcome their past traumas to turn their fling into something that will last. Chloe is a fantastic heroine with a refreshing voice; she's understandably prickly given all she goes through as a black, overweight, disabled woman, but that edge doesn't make her any less endearing to Red or the reader. She feels real and so do her struggles. Red is also dynamic and fascinating. Both characters need to change their lives and stand up for themselves, and readers will find them inspiring. Best of all, the romance is sizzling hot. This contemporary is a page-turning winner. Agent: Courtney Miller-Callihan, Handspun Literary. (Nov.)

Copyright 2019 Publishers Weekly.