Paw of the jungle / Diane Kelly.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
Share on Goodreads
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      St. Martin's Paperbacks edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "Police officer Megan Luz and her K-9 partner in crime, Brigit, are on all fours as they try to solve their latest Lone Star mystery. The weather is beautiful, work is slow, and her canine colleague could use a walk. What better day for Megan to take Brigit to the Fort Worth Zoo, where they can let loose and witness the law and order of nature unfold? But what begins as a fun field trip turns serious when a pair of rare hyacinth macaws named Fabiana and Fernando goes missing. Is the new custodian, a gentle soul who happens to be an ex-convict, to blame? Or is something far more sinister afoot? The birds are worth thousands of dollars, and the list of people on the premises who might have stolen them is long. Soon other animals start disappearing. . .and Megan and Brigit have their hands and paws full of suspects. But when a rare black rhino is taken from the zoo, presumably for its black-market-friendly horn, time is of the essence. Can Megan and Brigit find out who's behind the mystery--before they too become prey?"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9781250197375
      1250197376
    • Accession Number:
      on1128026521
      1128026521
    • Accession Number:
      fay.675991
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      KELLY, D. Paw of the jungle. [s. l.]: St. Martin’s Paperbacks, 2019. ISBN 9781250197375. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.675991. Acesso em: 21 jan. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Kelly D. Paw of the Jungle. St. Martin’s Paperbacks; 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.675991. Accessed January 21, 2020.
    • APA:
      Kelly, D. (2019). Paw of the jungle. St. Martin’s Paperbacks. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.675991
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Kelly, Diane. 2019. Paw of the Jungle. Paw Enforcement Novels. St. Martin’s Paperbacks. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.675991.
    • Harvard:
      Kelly, D. (2019) Paw of the jungle. St. Martin’s Paperbacks (Paw enforcement novels). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.675991 (Accessed: 21 January 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Kelly, D 2019, Paw of the jungle, Paw enforcement novels, St. Martin’s Paperbacks, viewed 21 January 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Kelly, Diane. Paw of the Jungle. St. Martin’s Paperbacks, 2019. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.675991.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Kelly, Diane. Paw of the Jungle. Paw Enforcement Novels. St. Martin’s Paperbacks, 2019. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.675991.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Kelly D. Paw of the jungle [Internet]. St. Martin’s Paperbacks; 2019 [cited 2020 Jan 21]. (Paw enforcement novels). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.675991

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2019 November #1

Megan Luz, a police officer in Fort Worth, works her beat with her shepherd-mix K-9, Brigit. Here the pair visit the zoo for a bit of diversion and find crime instead: valuable animals are being kidnapped, the first being a pair of hyacinth macaws. The initial suspect is a recently released man, jailed for stealing, but working as a zookeeper. He is fired but remains under suspicion as two more animals go missing. When a springbok is taken, Megan determines that the zoo's fence is being breached and then rewelded, narrowing their search; but, finally, it takes Megan's investigative skills and Brigit's nose to solve the case. As in her Tara Holloway series, Kelly tells the story from multiple perspectives; this time it's Megan's, the criminal's, and Brigit's, with the wry commentary sure to bring a smile to any dog owner's face. The extensive background on the zoo, the illicit trading of exotic animals, and the hunting ranches in Texas bring to mind Carl Hiaasen's novels based in the Everglades. Copyright 2019 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2019 November

Officer Megan Luz and her K-9 partner, Brigit, take a break at the Fort Worth Zoo only to become involved in a case of two missing macaws. In between the routine police work of issuing traffic citations, catching a shoplifter, and recovering a number of missing rings, more zoo animals (including a monkey and a springbok) also disappear. When the springbok is killed at a game ranch and a rare black rhino is stolen from the zoo, the hunt for the thief turns urgent. Clues seem to point to an ex-con working as a zoo custodian. The story is told in alternating voices—Megan's, Brigit's, and the poacher's, which allows readers to put many pieces of the mystery together before the detectives do, but without ruining the story. Add a dash of romance for a complete winner. VERDICT While part of a series, this cozy can be read as a stand-alone and will be appreciated by animal lovers. Recommended for readers of Spencer Quinn's "Chet and Bernie" books.—Margaret Bentley, Shiawassee Dist. Lib., Owosso, MI

Copyright 2019 Library Journal.