Braver than you think : around the world on the trip of my (mother's) life / Maggie Downs.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First hardcover edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "Braver Than You Think is the life-affirming story of how Downs, newly married and established in her career as a journalist, quits her job, sells her belongings, and embarks on the solo trip of a lifetime: Her mother's. Over the course of one year backpacking through seventeen countries - visiting all the places her mother, struck with early-onset Alzheimer's disease, cannot visit herself - Maggie faces some of the world's most exotic locales while confronting the slow loss of her mother and the close bond they shared. Interweaving travelogue with memories of her family, Braver Than You Think takes the reader hiking the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, whitewater rafting down the Nile, volunteering at a monkey sanctuary in Bolivia, praying at an ashram in India, and fleeing the Arab Spring in Egypt. By embarking on a global journey, Downs embraces what it means to make every moment count - traveling around the globe and home again, losing a parent while discovering the world"-- Provided by publisher.
    • Content Notes:
      Love -- Death -- Life.
    • ISBN:
      9781640092921
      1640092927
    • Accession Number:
      2019030639
    • Accession Number:
      fay.688795
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      DOWNS, M. Braver than you think : around the world on the trip of my (mother’s) life. First hardcover edition. [s. l.]: Counterpoint, 2020. ISBN 9781640092921. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.688795. Acesso em: 2 jun. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Downs M. Braver than You Think : Around the World on the Trip of My (Mother’s) Life. First hardcover edition. Counterpoint; 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.688795. Accessed June 2, 2020.
    • APA:
      Downs, M. (2020). Braver than you think : around the world on the trip of my (mother’s) life (First hardcover edition.). Counterpoint.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Downs, Maggie. 2020. Braver than You Think : Around the World on the Trip of My (Mother’s) Life. First hardcover edition. Counterpoint. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.688795.
    • Harvard:
      Downs, M. (2020) Braver than you think : around the world on the trip of my (mother’s) life. First hardcover edition. Counterpoint. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.688795 (Accessed: 2 June 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Downs, M 2020, Braver than you think : around the world on the trip of my (mother’s) life, First hardcover edition., Counterpoint, viewed 2 June 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Downs, Maggie. Braver than You Think : Around the World on the Trip of My (Mother’s) Life. First hardcover edition., Counterpoint, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.688795.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Downs, Maggie. Braver than You Think : Around the World on the Trip of My (Mother’s) Life. First hardcover edition. Counterpoint, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.688795.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Downs M. Braver than you think : around the world on the trip of my (mother’s) life [Internet]. First hardcover edition. Counterpoint; 2020 [cited 2020 Jun 2]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.688795

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2020 April #1

As her mother slipped into the last stages of Alzheimer's disease, Downs left her newspaper job to travel for the sake of living deliberately and passionately. She hoped to embody her mother's unrealized dreams; mostly, though, the trip was a way for her to do something when so little could be done to help. With her new husband's blessing, she left the U.S. South American adventures include hiking to Machu Picchu, volunteering (and sustaining monkey bites) in Bolivia, and sampling Argentina's rich food culture. From South Africa's Wild Coast, she travels to Egypt and survives a harrowing white-water rafting trip, then visits memorials to genocide in Rwanda. Later, as the Arab Spring erupts around her, she takes refuge in a yoga camp with friends. After leaving Africa, she pushes on to India,Thailand, and Vietnam. Every chapter is shot through with thoughts and memories of her mother, whose death forces Downs to decide whether to return home or not. Fans of Eat, Pray, Love (2006) and Wild (2012) may find this a satisfying next read.WOMEN FOCUS Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2020 April

When travel writer Downs's mother was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer's disease, the author vowed to travel the world to see the places her mother always wanted to visit. Her travels bring her to a monkey sanctuary in Bolivia, a circumcision ritual in Uganda, and a yoga camp on the Sinai Peninsula. While her mother's health grew progressively worse back home, Downs reflected on her mother's life while visiting places many Westerners would claim are unsafe for a solo female traveler. She takes the trip not only to assert her independence but to honor her mother, who told her she is "braver than you think." VERDICT Part travelog, part grief memoir, this is for readers who want to experience the thrill of solo travel as experienced by someone slowly losing a parent.—Erin Shea, Ferguson Lib., CT

Copyright 2020 Library Journal.