The Herd [electronic resource] / Andrea Bartz

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Abstract:
      Summary: Why did the founder of the glamorous coworking space for women disappear? Her best friends will risk everything to uncover the truth. "Fascinating and chilling."—Samantha Downing, author of My Lovely Wife NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED THRILLERS OF 2020 BY Marie Claire · Newsweek · The Boston Globe · HelloGiggles · Book Riot · PopSugar · CrimeReads · Bustle · She Reads The name of the elite women-only coworking space stretches across the wall behind the check-in desk: THE HERD, the H-E-R always purple. In-the-know New Yorkers crawl over one another to apply for membership to this community that prides itself on mentorship and empowerment. Among the hopefuls is Katie Bradley, who's just returned from the Midwest after a stint of book research blew up in her face. Luckily, Katie has an in, thanks to her sister, Hana, an original Herder and the best friend of Eleanor Walsh, the Herd's charismatic founder. Eleanor is a queen among the Herd's sun-filled rooms, admired and quietly feared even as she strives to be warm and approachable. As head of PR, Hana is working around the clock to prepare for a huge announcement from Eleanor—one that will change the trajectory of the Herd forever. Though Katie loves her sister's crew, she secretly hopes that she's found her next book subject in Eleanor, who's brilliant, trailblazing—and extremely private. Then, on the night of the glitzy Herd news conference, Eleanor vanishes without a trace. Everybody has a theory about what made Eleanor run, but when the police suggest foul play, everyone is a suspect: Eleanor's husband, other Herders, the men's rights groups that have had it out for the Herd since its launch—even Eleanor's closest friends. As Hana struggles to figure out what her friend was hiding and Katie chases the story of her life, the sisters must face the secrets they've been keeping from each other—and confront just how dangerous it can be when women's perfect veneers start to crack, crumble, and then fall away altogether.
    • Notes:
      Adobe EPUB eBook ebook-epub-adobe 3536115
      Kindle Book ebook-kindle
      OverDrive Read ebook-overdrive
    • ISBN:
      9781984826374
    • Accession Number:
      fay.695639
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      BARTZ, A. The Herd. [electronic resource]. [s. l.]: Random House Publishing Group, 2020. ISBN 9781984826374. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.695639. Acesso em: 8 ago. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Bartz A. The Herd. [Electronic Resource]. Random House Publishing Group; 2020. Accessed August 8, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.695639
    • APA:
      Bartz, A. (2020). The Herd. [electronic resource]. Random House Publishing Group.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Bartz, Andrea. 2020. The Herd. [Electronic Resource]. Random House Publishing Group. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.695639.
    • Harvard:
      Bartz, A. (2020) The Herd. [electronic resource]. Random House Publishing Group. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.695639 (Accessed: 8 August 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Bartz, A 2020, The Herd. [electronic resource], Random House Publishing Group, viewed 8 August 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Bartz, Andrea. The Herd. [Electronic Resource]. Random House Publishing Group, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.695639.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Bartz, Andrea. The Herd. [Electronic Resource]. Random House Publishing Group, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.695639.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Bartz A. The Herd. [electronic resource] [Internet]. Random House Publishing Group; 2020 [cited 2020 Aug 8]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.695639

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2020 February #1

After nursing her mother through chemotherapy, Katie returns to her life in New York, hopeful that she can rebuild her journalism career without anyone discovering she's tanked the celebrated book deal she managed to snag during her Michigan exile. Despite building panic at the thought of facing her agent, she's thrilled to finally visit the Herd, the female-centered working community her friend Eleanor has built with the help of Katie's publicist sister, Hana, and their friend, Mikki, a talented artist. When Katie arrives, however, their reunion is dampened by crisis management: recent anti-Herd graffiti attacks threaten to distract the media from an upcoming Herd announcement. Sensing a juicy story, Katie pitches a secret insider exposé on Eleanor and the Herd to appease her agent. But when Eleanor's body is found on the Herd's roof, investigating the murder becomes Katie's only hope to make amends for her selfish deception. This fast-paced, irony-strewn blend of ruthless ambition, jealousy, and buried secrets is guaranteed armchair escapism. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

Booklist Reviews 2020 February #1

After nursing her mother through chemotherapy, Katie returns to her life in New York, hopeful that she can rebuild her journalism career without anyone discovering she's tanked the celebrated book deal she managed to snag during her Michigan exile. Despite building panic at the thought of facing her agent, she's thrilled to finally visit the Herd, the female-centered working community her friend Eleanor has built with the help of Katie's publicist sister, Hana, and their friend, Mikki, a talented artist. When Katie arrives, however, their reunion is dampened by crisis management: recent anti-Herd graffiti attacks threaten to distract the media from an upcoming Herd announcement. Sensing a juicy story, Katie pitches a secret insider exposé on Eleanor and the Herd to appease her agent. But when Eleanor's body is found on the Herd's roof, investigating the murder becomes Katie's only hope to make amends for her selfish deception. This fast-paced, irony-strewn blend of ruthless ambition, jealousy, and buried secrets is guaranteed armchair escapism. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2020 March

Bartz's second novel (after The Lost Night) focuses on four friends: a pair of sister protagonists, Hanna and Katie; and Hanna's two best friends from their Harvard days, Eleanor and Mikki. Eleanor is the star of the group, having first started a cosmetics company and then the Herd, an all-female coworking space in New York City. Mikki is an artist who does graphic design for Eleanor as a freelancer, and Hanna is a part-time publicist for the firm. Katie, Hanna's little sister, is a journalist who has just moved back to the city. When Eleanor goes missing on the day of a mysterious big announcement, the friends grieve and support one another. Each character has secrets she is keeping from everyone else until the whole thing unravels and the truth comes out. Bartz packs in plenty of twists, with a deliberate pace that picks up speed at the end. VERDICT Surprises and suspense married with themes on the nature of womanhood and sisterhood make this ideal for fans of Paula Hawkins's The Girl on the Train or Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects. [See Prepub Alert, 8/25/19.]—Nancy H. Fontaine, Norwich P.L., VT

Copyright 2020 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2020 January #3

Bartz (The Lost Night) crafts a smart, twisty thriller about a women's co-working space and the mysterious disappearance of its charismatic founder. Freelance journalist Katie returns to New York after a year of unsuccessful book research in Michigan. Back in the city, she accepts an invitation from her adopted older sister, Hana, a publicist, into a high-powered social network of Harvard alums including waspy, elegant Eleanor, founder of the Herd, an exclusive workspace and club for women. While Katie waits for her Herd membership application to be processed, she pitches a biography/oral history of Eleanor and the Herd to her nagging agent, who needs something to show Katie's editor. Just as Katie begins probing into the life and psyche of the notoriously private Eleanor, her subject disappears. As the search for Eleanor escalates, the tension of the narrative, which bounces back and forth between Katie and Hana, ratchets up with the threat of long-buried secrets being revealed. Though too many last-minute twists muddle an otherwise satisfying ending, Bartz is especially astute at highlighting the hypocrisy of glamorous careerist feminism. Readers won't want to put this down. (Mar.)

Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.