The knockout queen / by Rufi Thorpe.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "Bunny Lampert is the princess of North Shore - beautiful, tall, blond, with a rich real-estate-developer father and a swimming pool in her backyard. Michael - with a ponytail down his back and a septum piercing - lives with his aunt in the cramped stucco cottage next door. When Bunny catches Michael smoking in her yard, he discovers that her life is not as perfect as it seems. At six foot three, Bunny towers over their classmates. Even as she dreams of standing out and competing in the Olympics, she is desperate to fit in, to seem normal, and to get a boyfriend, all while hiding her father's escalating alcoholism. Michael has secrets of his own. At home and at school Michael pretends to be straight, but at night he tries to understand himself by meeting men online for anonymous encounters that both thrill and scare him. When Michael falls in love for the first time, a vicious strain of gossip circulates and a terrible, brutal act becomes the defining feature of both his and Bunny's futures - and of their friendship."--Publisher description.
    • ISBN:
      9780525656784
      0525656782
    • Accession Number:
      2019012529
    • Accession Number:
      on1090278596
      1090278596
    • Accession Number:
      fay.698510
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      THORPE, R. The knockout queen. First edition. [s. l.]: Alfred A. Knopf, 2020. ISBN 9780525656784. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.698510. Acesso em: 8 ago. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Thorpe R. The Knockout Queen. First edition. Alfred A. Knopf; 2020. Accessed August 8, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.698510
    • APA:
      Thorpe, R. (2020). The knockout queen (First edition.). Alfred A. Knopf.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Thorpe, Rufi. 2020. The Knockout Queen. First edition. Alfred A. Knopf. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.698510.
    • Harvard:
      Thorpe, R. (2020) The knockout queen. First edition. Alfred A. Knopf. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.698510 (Accessed: 8 August 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Thorpe, R 2020, The knockout queen, First edition., Alfred A. Knopf, viewed 8 August 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Thorpe, Rufi. The Knockout Queen. First edition., Alfred A. Knopf, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.698510.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Thorpe, Rufi. The Knockout Queen. First edition. Alfred A. Knopf, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.698510.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Thorpe R. The knockout queen [Internet]. First edition. Alfred A. Knopf; 2020 [cited 2020 Aug 8]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.698510

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2020 March #2

Michael and Bunny were next-door neighbors before they became friends: he lived in a rundown stucco cottage with his aunt and cousin, while she lived in a mansion with her rich alcoholic father. Bunny is one of the tallest students in their grade and hopes to play volleyball in the Olympics someday. Michael, with his long hair and eyeliner, tries to learn more about himself and his sexuality by secretly meeting other men through Craigslist. Bunny and Michael's friendship begins in tenth grade after she catches him smoking in her yard, and they become fiercely close. Michael's sexuality becomes the hot topic of the malicious gossip at school when he starts dating an older man, spurring Bunny to make a violent choice that alters their futures forever. Thorpe, author of Dear Fang, With Love (2016) and The Girls from Corona Del Mar (2014), writes with savage poignancy as she explores identity, adolescent friendship, and the insatiable longing for intimacy. Her novel is devastatingly honest, her characters vulnerable, and her readers will be spellbound. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2020 March

When his mother is sent to prison for stabbing his abusive father, Michael, 11, is sent to live with his Aunt DeeDee. Next-door neighbor Bunny Lampert is the rich princess of North Shore. She lost her mother in a car accident, and her father is an alcoholic and crooked real estate developer. During high school, the athletic girl who wants for nothing and closeted gay boy who lives a frugal life become best friends, finding common ground in a lack of adult supervision and painful home lives in the California suburbs. As Bunny grows taller and focuses on volleyball and a dream of Olympic greatness, Michael meets up with men from Craigslist and begins a part-time job. An act of violent loyalty to Michael, who is bullied, throws Bunny into a legal battle she and her father are unprepared to fight. The resulting violence forces Michael to change his life and focus on his future. VERDICT Thorpe's (Dear Fang, with Love) coming-of-age tale set against a backdrop filled with hate and violence will captivate readers with its brutal honesty and unbreakable bonds of friendship. Recommended for fans of Emma Straub and Jami Attenberg.—Laura Jones, Indiana State Library, Indianapolis

Copyright 2020 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2020 February #1

Thorpe's fierce third novel (after Dear Fang, with Love) observes the development of and challenges to an intense friendship between two outcasts at a Southern California high school in the early 2010s. Michael, gay and closeted, has lived in a shabby house with his aunt and cousin since he was 11, when his mother was sent to prison for nonfatally stabbing his father. In the mansion next door lives Bunny Lambert, an immature volleyball star who desperately wants a boyfriend and, at 6‘3" at the end of her junior year, fears she is a "complete monster." While Bunny copes with an alcoholic father and bullying by her classmates, Michael hooks up with guys he meets online. Neighbors and classmates since middle school, Bunny and Michael don't meet until 10th grade, and their friendship develops as Bunny explores her "girliness" around Michael, while he can "practice being gay." When students start gossiping about Michael, Bunny pummels one of the girls hard enough to cause a critical injury. While the novel's plot is thin and rests perhaps too heavily on the dire consequences of this moment of violence, the two central characters are deeply realized and complex. The result cannily dissects the power and limits of adolescent friendship. Agent: Molly Friedrich, Friedrich Agency. (Apr.)

Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.