Murder on Pleasant Avenue / Victoria Thompson.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "When midwife Sarah and detective Frank Malloy's friend and new partner Gino Donatelli is accused of murder, he and Sarah must catch the real killer to keep him alive. . . . A young woman is missing in the upper Manhattan neighborhood called Italian Harlem, and everyone knows whoʼs responsible--the Black Hand, a notorious group known for terrorizing their own community with violence and kidnappings. Gino and Frank set out to learn more about the disreputable gang and soon find a lead: a saloon-owning gangster named Nunzio Esposito. Gino hates that a fellow immigrant would stoop so low and decides to confront his wayward countryman. But he quickly discovers the man can't be reasoned with--because he's been murdered. The police have only one suspect: Gino Donatelli. Frank and Sarah know Gino is no killer, but someone has pulled out all the stops to make it look like he is guilty. They also must now face the Black Hand, who are honor-bound to avenge the death of one of their own. With evidence mounting against their friend and a group of bad guys out for blood, Sarah and Frank race to unravel a treacherous plot before Gino's time runs out. . ."-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9781984805744
      1984805746
    • Accession Number:
      2019050035
    • Accession Number:
      on1111389546
      1111389546
    • Accession Number:
      fay.700713
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      THOMPSON, V. Murder on Pleasant Avenue. First edition. [s. l.]: Berkley Prime Crime, 2020. ISBN 9781984805744. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.700713. Acesso em: 21 out. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Thompson V. Murder on Pleasant Avenue. First edition. Berkley Prime Crime; 2020. Accessed October 21, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.700713
    • APA:
      Thompson, V. (2020). Murder on Pleasant Avenue (First edition.). Berkley Prime Crime.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Thompson, Victoria. 2020. Murder on Pleasant Avenue. First edition. A Gaslight Mystery. Berkley Prime Crime. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.700713.
    • Harvard:
      Thompson, V. (2020) Murder on Pleasant Avenue. First edition. Berkley Prime Crime (A gaslight mystery). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.700713 (Accessed: 21 October 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Thompson, V 2020, Murder on Pleasant Avenue, First edition., A gaslight mystery, Berkley Prime Crime, viewed 21 October 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Thompson, Victoria. Murder on Pleasant Avenue. First edition., Berkley Prime Crime, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.700713.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Thompson, Victoria. Murder on Pleasant Avenue. First edition. A Gaslight Mystery. Berkley Prime Crime, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.700713.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Thompson V. Murder on Pleasant Avenue [Internet]. First edition. Berkley Prime Crime; 2020 [cited 2020 Oct 21]. (A gaslight mystery). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.700713

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2020 April #2

Early 1900s PIs Frank Molloy and Gino Donatelli aren't keeping very busy and are glad to spring to action when they learn that a woman has been kidnapped from Italian Harlem, where she was working at a settlement house. Such crimes are routine in the area, with "Black Hand" gangs immune from consequences as they terrorize New York City's Italian families. The investigation takes a dangerous turn when Gino finds a suspect in the kidnapping dead and is accused of the murder. Readers will enjoy getting to know Frank, Gino, and the women who are the less-visible forces behind the operation, especially Frank's wife, Sarah, a midwife; and Gino's sister Teo, who masterminds the story's happy outcome. Thompson sensitively shows what life was like for women of all stations in the city of the era. A sweet romance between Gino and hapless secretary Maeve sets up the next series installment. Recommend this as a read-alike for Mariah Fredericks' Jane Prescott novels. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

PW Reviews 2020 February #3

In Edgar finalist Thompson's cleverly plotted 23rd whodunit set in early 20th-century New York City (after 2019's Murder on Trinity Place), PI Frank Malloy and his partner, Gino Donatelli, are approached by Donatelli's sister-in-law, Teo, who's distraught over the kidnapping of Jane Harding. Miss Harding, who worked at the Daughters of Hope Mission, an East Harlem settlement house with which Malloy's wife was once involved, disappeared after being stopped by an unidentified man on the street. Teo fears that the Black Hand, a notorious criminal organization, has abducted Miss Harding for ransom. The gang recently kidnapped the wife of the employer of Teo's husband, only releasing her after a month in captivity when the extortionate payment was raised. The efforts to rescue Miss Harding lead to a murder under circumstances that implicate Donatelli, forcing his friends to solve the crime to absolve him. Thompson makes effective use of real-life figures, such as Joseph Petrosino, one of the NYPD's first Italian officers. Fans of husband-and-wife sleuthing partners such as Thomas and Charlotte Pitt will be pleased. Agent: Agent: Nancy Yost, Nancy Yost Literary. (Apr.)

Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

PW Reviews 2020 February #3

In Edgar finalist Thompson's cleverly plotted 23rd whodunit set in early 20th-century New York City (after 2019's Murder on Trinity Place), PI Frank Malloy and his partner, Gino Donatelli, are approached by Donatelli's sister-in-law, Teo, who's distraught over the kidnapping of Jane Harding. Miss Harding, who worked at the Daughters of Hope Mission, an East Harlem settlement house with which Malloy's wife was once involved, disappeared after being stopped by an unidentified man on the street. Teo fears that the Black Hand, a notorious criminal organization, has abducted Miss Harding for ransom. The gang recently kidnapped the wife of the employer of Teo's husband, only releasing her after a month in captivity when the extortionate payment was raised. The efforts to rescue Miss Harding lead to a murder under circumstances that implicate Donatelli, forcing his friends to solve the crime to absolve him. Thompson makes effective use of real-life figures, such as Joseph Petrosino, one of the NYPD's first Italian officers. Fans of husband-and-wife sleuthing partners such as Thomas and Charlotte Pitt will be pleased. Agent: Agent: Nancy Yost, Nancy Yost Literary. (Apr.)

Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.