The body in the garden / Katherine Schellman.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "London 1815. Though newly-widowed Lily Adler is returning to a society that frowns on independent women, she is determined to create a meaningful life for herself even without a husband. She's no stranger to the glittering world of London's upper crust. At a ball thrown by her oldest friend, Lady Walter, she expects the scandal, gossip, and secrets. What she doesn't expect is the dead body in Lady Walter's garden. Lily overheard the man just minutes before he was shot: young, desperate, and attempting blackmail. But she's willing to leave the matter to the local constables--until Lord Walter bribes the investigating magistrate to drop the case. Stunned and confused, Lily realizes she's the only one with the key to catching the killer. Aided by a roguish navy captain and a mysterious heiress from the West Indies, Lily sets out to discover whether her friend's husband is mixed up in blackmail and murder. The unlikely team tries to conceal their investigation behind the whirl of London's social season, but the dead man knew secrets about people with power."--Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9781643853567
      1643853562
    • Accession Number:
      on1108321006
      1108321006
    • Accession Number:
      fay.702740
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      SCHELLMAN, K. The body in the garden. First edition. [s. l.]: Crooked Lane Books, 2020. ISBN 9781643853567. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.702740. Acesso em: 20 out. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Schellman K. The Body in the Garden. First edition. Crooked Lane Books; 2020. Accessed October 20, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.702740
    • APA:
      Schellman, K. (2020). The body in the garden (First edition.). Crooked Lane Books.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Schellman, Katharine. 2020. The Body in the Garden. First edition. Lily Adler Mystery: [1]. Crooked Lane Books. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.702740.
    • Harvard:
      Schellman, K. (2020) The body in the garden. First edition. Crooked Lane Books (Lily Adler mystery: [1]). Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.702740 (Accessed: 20 October 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Schellman, K 2020, The body in the garden, First edition., Lily Adler mystery: [1], Crooked Lane Books, viewed 20 October 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Schellman, Katharine. The Body in the Garden. First edition., Crooked Lane Books, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.702740.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Schellman, Katharine. The Body in the Garden. First edition. Lily Adler Mystery: [1]. Crooked Lane Books, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.702740.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Schellman K. The body in the garden [Internet]. First edition. Crooked Lane Books; 2020 [cited 2020 Oct 20]. (Lily Adler mystery: [1]). Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.702740

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2020 March #1

While at a party, young widow Lily Adler overhears the murder of an attempted blackmailer. Outraged at the lack of police concern and worried at the involvement of her friend's husband, she launches her own investigation in between the social whirl of the London season, aided by a dashing young naval captain and a young heiress with a hidden connection to the deceased. The mystery itself is rather thin, and the constant remarks from others about Lily's cleverness take on an almost ironic note, considering how long it takes her to catch on to the rather obvious culprit. However, Lily's guilty enjoyment at the freedom widowhood provides her to pursue her own identity in Regency England, and the grudging respect that develops between her and the local police constable, are intriguing character beats worthy of further exploration. In addition, the mixed-race identities of her partners in crime solving and the methods through which they navigate London society add richness to the tale beyond mere Regency-era tropes. A pleasant though hardly groundbreaking series debut, with the promise of better to come. Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2020 April

Two years into their marriage, Lily Adler's husband succumbs to illness and dies in 1815. After a mourning period in the country, Lily moves to London's fashionable Mayfair neighborhood. Lady Serena Walter convinces her to attend a party, where Lily overhears a whispered conversation between two gentlemen and then, suddenly, a gunshot. Convincing her late husband's friend Capt. Jack Hartley to investigate, she leads him to the clearing where she overheard the conversation, and they discover the unfortunate victim. When the magistrate declares it a case of murder by persons unknown and tells the Bow Street Runners to stop investigating, Lily is livid and vows to find the murderer herself. Confident in her ability to unravel the clues, she is unprepared for the repercussions of her investigation. Will she unmask the killer before she pays the ultimate price herself? VERDICT Fans of historical mysteries and intelligent, strong women sleuths such as Tasha Alexander's Lady Emily, Darcie Wilde's Rosalind Thorne, or Andrea Penrose's Charlotte Sloane will want to add this series opener to their TBR pile.—Julie Ciccarelli, Tacoma P.L., WA

Copyright 2020 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2020 February #2

Set in 1815, Schellman's enjoyable debut and series launch introduces widow Lily Adler, who has moved to London from Hertfordshire. The night she arrives, she attends a ball at the lavish home of Lady Serena Walter, a former schoolmate. She's escorted by naval captain Jack Hartley, her late husband's closest friend, and introduced to London society, including West Indian heiress Ofelia Oswald. Out for a breather in the garden, Lily overhears two men arguing and then a gunshot. The dead man is Augustus Finch, a working-class West Indian suitor of Ofelia who has followed her to London, vowing he will soon be rich. When Lily sees Lord Walter pay a magistrate to suppress the inquiry, she fears that the nobleman is involved in the crime and feels compelled to investigate. After evidence in Finch's rooms suggests that he was blackmailing someone powerful, the shrewd Ofelia and effervescent Jack join Lily in the hunt for the culprit. Schellman's colorful detective trio and skillful use of historical fact will appeal to fans of Catherine Lloyd. Agent: Whitney Ross, Irene Goodman Literary. (Apr.)

Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.

PW Reviews 2020 February #2

Set in 1815, Schellman's enjoyable debut and series launch introduces widow Lily Adler, who has moved to London from Hertfordshire. The night she arrives, she attends a ball at the lavish home of Lady Serena Walter, a former schoolmate. She's escorted by naval captain Jack Hartley, her late husband's closest friend, and introduced to London society, including West Indian heiress Ofelia Oswald. Out for a breather in the garden, Lily overhears two men arguing and then a gunshot. The dead man is Augustus Finch, a working-class West Indian suitor of Ofelia who has followed her to London, vowing he will soon be rich. When Lily sees Lord Walter pay a magistrate to suppress the inquiry, she fears that the nobleman is involved in the crime and feels compelled to investigate. After evidence in Finch's rooms suggests that he was blackmailing someone powerful, the shrewd Ofelia and effervescent Jack join Lily in the hunt for the culprit. Schellman's colorful detective trio and skillful use of historical fact will appeal to fans of Catherine Lloyd. Agent: Whitney Ross, Irene Goodman Literary. (Apr.)

Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.