Borges and me : an encounter / Jay Parini.

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
loading   Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publication Information:
      First edition.
    • Abstract:
      Summary: "An apprentice writer has an entirely unexpected encounter with literary genius Jorge Luis Borges that will profoundly alter his life and work"-- Provided by publisher.
    • ISBN:
      9780385545822
      0385545827
    • Accession Number:
      2019038775
    • Accession Number:
      on1120784808
      1120784808
    • Accession Number:
      fay.709880
  • Citations
    • ABNT:
      PARINI, J. Borges and me : an encounter. First edition. [s. l.]: Doubleday, 2020. ISBN 9780385545822. Disponível em: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.709880. Acesso em: 25 out. 2020.
    • AMA:
      Parini J. Borges and Me : An Encounter. First edition. Doubleday; 2020. Accessed October 25, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.709880
    • APA:
      Parini, J. (2020). Borges and me : an encounter (First edition.). Doubleday.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Author-Date:
      Parini, Jay. 2020. Borges and Me : An Encounter. First edition. Doubleday. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.709880.
    • Harvard:
      Parini, J. (2020) Borges and me : an encounter. First edition. Doubleday. Available at: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.709880 (Accessed: 25 October 2020).
    • Harvard: Australian:
      Parini, J 2020, Borges and me : an encounter, First edition., Doubleday, viewed 25 October 2020, .
    • MLA:
      Parini, Jay. Borges and Me : An Encounter. First edition., Doubleday, 2020. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.709880.
    • Chicago/Turabian: Humanities:
      Parini, Jay. Borges and Me : An Encounter. First edition. Doubleday, 2020. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.709880.
    • Vancouver/ICMJE:
      Parini J. Borges and me : an encounter [Internet]. First edition. Doubleday; 2020 [cited 2020 Oct 25]. Available from: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=eds-live&db=cat05595a&AN=fay.709880

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2020 June #1

Parini—biographer, novelist, poet—delivers his most unusual work, a fictionalized memoir (he explains his inventions) recalling his beginnings as a writer. Fifty years ago, Parini became a doctoral student at St. Andrews in Scotland, where he'd spent an undergraduate year. Aside from immersion in British poetry, he mainly wanted to avoid the U.S. draft if not also his overbearing mother. Good friends were serving in Vietnam, but Parini had no interest in or aptitude for becoming a mud-caked soldier. A mentor invited Parini to tend to a distinguished visitor, the Argentinian fabulist Jorge Luis Borges, whose story, "Borges and I," about the divide between the self and the persona of writer, inspired this book's title. Parini's week with the crusty Borges included a rollicking, endearing road trip through the Scottish Highlands. Parini haltingly describes the landscape for his blind passenger, who taps his memory for a bounty of literary wisdom. Along with losing his innocence to a frisky innkeeper, Parini absorbed indelible lessons. Not least, Borges' advice on the task of writing, "To find a language adequate to what is revealed." Copyright 2020 Booklist Reviews.

PW Reviews 2020 March #4

In this astute memoir, novelist Parini (The Last Station) writes of leaving Pennsylvania in 1971 to pursue a PhD in literature at St. Andrews in Scotland. There, he describes himself as the "last 22-year-old virgin in the Age of Aquarius" as he finds his voice as a writer and escapes the draft. He soon falls for antiwar activist Bella Law, who has a boyfriend and is indifferent to Parini's meek advances. Then, after Parini's writing mentor, poet Alastair Reid, asks him to host his houseguest, Argentinian author Jorge Luis Borges, a one-week ramble through the Scottish Highlands ensues. His mission: to describe the entire trip for the blind writer ("He knew what he wanted to see. Or to have me describe"). Parini also plans to meet his thesis subject, poet George Mackay Brown, on the isle of Orkney, but on the way realizes that Borges, a "batty old man of letters," is a literary jukebox, referring to such literary works as Beowulf (while capsizing their rowboat on Loch Ness) and writers including Victorian poet Gerard Manley Hopkins. Over the days, a tender bond forms between the eccentric sage and his caretaker. En route to meeting Brown, Parini loses his virginity to a free-spirited innkeeper's daughter, and, newly emboldened, Parini returns to St. Andrews and kindles a relationship with Bella as he matures as an author, writing, "I could sense my own voice emerging." Fans of both Borges and Parini will delight in this touching coming-of-age memoir. (Aug.)

Copyright 2020 Publishers Weekly.