The Oracle Year

Item request has been placed! ×
Item request cannot be made. ×
  Processing Request
  • Additional Information
    • Publisher Information: American Library Association
    • Publication Year: 2018
    • Description: The Oracle Year. By Charles Soule. Apr. 2018.416p. HarperPerennial, $21.99 (9780062686633); e-book (9780062686657). In Soule's latest writing adventure, Will Dando is an average guitar player in New York--struggling [...]
    • ISSN: 0006-7385
    • Rights: COPYRIGHT 2018 American Library Association
      Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.
    • Accession Number: edsgcl.532250885

Reviews

Booklist Reviews 2018 March #1

In Soule's latest writing adventure, Will Dando is an average guitar player in New York—struggling to get by, occasionally assisted by friends—until he wakes from a dream with 108 predictions about the future in his head. The Oracle Year begins with some initial tests to determine the predictions' accuracy, after which Will protects his anonymity by creating a website and dubbing himself the Oracle. As he reveals more predictions, he draws attention from corporations that would profit from his prophecies, the U.S. president, who will try to control him, and a televangelist determined to discredit him. With assistance from his friend Hazma, a journalist named Leigh, and internet experts nicknamed "the Florida Ladies," Will unleashes prophecies through the Site, as the public calls it, and profits handsomely by releasing some prophecies privately to his corporate audience. Will and his friends struggle to unscramble the pattern to the prophecies, including a few cryptic ones, while they attempt to evade an assassin grandmother, and the entire world panics about a warlord with a nuclear missile. Soule's background in comics shows in this dark, rollicking tale. Copyright 2018 Booklist Reviews.

LJ Reviews 2017 November #2

New York Times best-selling comic book franchise writer Soule drops the art but keeps up the energy with this story of Manhattan bassist Will Dando, who wakes up with 108 predictions floating in his head. Soon, he's sharing his visions of the future via a heavily guarded website, which brings him both lucrative offers for exclusive access and dangerous enemies. With a 60,000-copy first printing.

Copyright 2017 Library Journal.

LJ Reviews 2018 March #2

A few months ago, failing New York City musician Will Dando had a dream in which he received 108 specific predictions about the future. With the help of friend Hamza, he releases some of his visions on a secure website, soon known as the Site. After a few of the posts come true, the anonymous Oracle, as Will is branded by the world, sells other predictions for vast sums. Along the way, he attracts many enemies, including a powerful televangelist who incites his followers to find and destroy the Oracle. Likewise, the U.S. president wants to determine if the Oracle is dangerous and if he can help him win a second term in office. Meanwhile, the Oracle's revelations are causing global instability. Soon, Will, Hamza, and journalist Leigh realize the Site has its own motives for these predictions and must do their best to stop events from spiraling out of control into nuclear Armageddon. VERDICT Comic book franchise author Soule (Death of Wolverine) delivers an original and exciting spin on an old concept. Recommended for fans of Stephen King's Revival, The Stand, and "The Dark Tower" series. [Soon to be adapted into a TV series from Tomorrow Studios.—Ed.] [See Prepub Alert, 10/2/17.]—Jason L. Steagall, Gateway Technical Coll. Lib., Elkhorn, WI

Copyright 2018 Library Journal.

PW Reviews 2018 January #1

When struggling New York City bassist Will Dando, the hero of bestselling comic book writer Soule's wildly entertaining first novel, awakens with the precise knowledge of future events—some seemingly trivial and others of monumental importance—he and a longtime friend decide to slowly disclose the information online as the omniscient Oracle. As the world's population becomes obsessed with the Oracle's posts—some thinking he's a savior and others vilifying him—unmasking the Oracle's identity becomes the prime objective for government agencies, religious groups, and journalists worldwide. On the run from those seeking to kill him or exploit his knowledge, Dando realizes that all the predictions are somehow connected and that someone—or something—could be orchestrating the end of the world. Although the premise is a bit shaky, the relentless pacing, richly developed characters, and brilliant ending make this apocalyptic speculative thriller an undeniable page-turner. Agent: Seth Fishman, Gernert Company. (Apr.)

Copyright 2017 Publishers Weekly.